Thread Deleted

TO: c_shekhar

OP tangwd898

4th January 2008, 05:38 AM   |  #1  
tangwd898's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:

1. You must be seeing a folder \ExtROM here which has few cabs and tsk files. Place this folder on \Storage Card of your device.

2. You can add the files which you wish to autoinstall after hard reset to this folder. But, dont forget to modify the \Storage Card\ExtROM\Config.txt accordingly.

3. Mark all cab files as read only.

You now have the Extended ROM back on your device but on the storage card this time.... Enjoy.

4. Install PPCPimbackup utility by Dotfred on your existing ROM and backup your SMS using that. And then flash the new ROM.The utility is available in this folder also.

C_shekhar

Hi C_shekhar,

I have two questions in upgrading your ROM and the ExtROM
1) How to do this step ->Mark all cab files as read only
2) Can i flash the ROM first, the copy all ExtROM files to the SD card, and then do a Hardreset -> i have done this but seems not work.

Thank you.
4th January 2008, 07:20 AM   |  #2  
xPreSiDenT's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Islamabad
Thanks Meter: 8
 
363 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
you can mark the files read only using a file explorer utility like resco explorer. and as long as u add the appropriate entries to config.txt whenever u hard reset the cabs will get installed.

n btw im sorry im not c_shekhar but i think the answers correct :P
4th January 2008, 07:38 AM   |  #3  
tangwd898's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPreSiDenT

you can mark the files read only using a file explorer utility like resco explorer. and as long as u add the appropriate entries to config.txt whenever u hard reset the cabs will get installed.

n btw im sorry im not c_shekhar but i think the answers correct :P

thank you very much for your quick reply.

now i have reflashed the ROM and the ExtROM works now.

I am wondering why we have to hide the files in the ExtROM folder, as i found all CAB files still there after the installing.

another question: can we hide teh ExtROM folder not the files inside?

Thanks.
Last edited by tangwd898; 4th January 2008 at 07:40 AM. Reason: revise
4th January 2008, 08:19 AM   |  #4  
xPreSiDenT's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Islamabad
Thanks Meter: 8
 
363 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
yeah sure again that could be done with resco file explorer or something similar... although i dont think hiding is one of the requirements. the only thing required is marking them readonly.
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes