Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

WMWifiRouter - v1.60 (build 1120) - December 17, 2009

OP Chainfire

7th January 2008, 02:14 AM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
hello chain, i like the new place you have here. feels good to get your own place eh?
7th January 2008, 02:17 AM   |  #22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Trouble still
Hi, I'm having trouble with the ipod and also an Imac can't log on. I'm using .87. I was able yesterday with version .85 to log on thru my winxp tablet but today it can't even see the network in its list of wifi's. The mac and ipod can see it but flash the dhcp settings, they are in the right numbers though. I tried going back to .85 but the xp machine still cant see the network!

Andy

ps I just did a crash cleanup and can now see and log onto the network with the xp machine, didn't need to re load .87. I also tried the ipod, it worked the first time I tried on static ip, failed again on dynamic and now d seems to like static again. Its getting closer now.

Wow battery drai is very high
7th January 2008, 02:38 AM   |  #23  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 54,205
 
9,381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyw69

Hi, I'm having trouble with the ipod and also an Imac can't log on. I'm using .87. I was able yesterday with version .85 to log on thru my winxp tablet but today it can't even see the network in its list of wifi's. The mac and ipod can see it but flash the dhcp settings, they are in the right numbers though. I tried going back to .85 but the xp machine still cant see the network!

Andy

ps I just did a crash cleanup and can now see and log onto the network with the xp machine, didn't need to re load .87. I also tried the ipod, it worked the first time I tried on static ip, failed again on dynamic and now d seems to like static again. Its getting closer now.

Wow battery drai is very high

Ok now I'm confused: which version are you running now? Does the iPod work on static?

I will add an extra option so you can turn on/off the DHCP 'enhancements' in v0.88. That might help with the iPod issue.

And yeah, WiFi is not so nice for battery. Be sure to use the powerswitch to turn off the screen and set your WiFi performance to save power instead of best performance
7th January 2008, 02:46 AM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Great Tool
Thank you for the tool. I know nothing about routing but manage to get my 8525 to talk to my nokia N800. As far as I know, this tool is cleaner to implement than going to cmdline N800 and set up a dummy connection.
7th January 2008, 02:49 AM   |  #25  
draghn's Avatar
Member
Flag Reno
Thanks Meter: 11
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

Ok now I'm confused: which version are you running now? Does the iPod work on static?

I will add an extra option so you can turn on/off the DHCP 'enhancements' in v0.88. That might help with the iPod issue.

And yeah, WiFi is not so nice for battery. Be sure to use the powerswitch to turn off the screen and set your WiFi performance to save power instead of best performance

I don't know why I didn't try it before, but my iPod Touch connects just fine when I configure it with a static IP using the settings you posted at the beginning of this thread.

Turning it back to DHCP starts causing the same problems mentioned before.

Using: v0.87
7th January 2008, 05:16 AM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Somehow now it works. Somehow I think the fact that I tried while being tethered may have interfered. Also ... I was never able to see the WMWifiRouter network in the list of available networks. Well... in any case ... great work! Is it necessary to add the adhoc network in windows before a connection is possible?

thanks for any help,
Konrad
Last edited by koerding2; 7th January 2008 at 06:30 AM. Reason: Solved problem
7th January 2008, 05:19 AM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Flag Culver City
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
I just installed this on my 8525 (at&t) and got it to work

I needed to add in the WMWifiRouter wifi hot spot in as a setting with in the phones wifi settings.


worked fine.

Very nice app.


The only problem I encountered was I was unable to get on the net on the phone itself (IE, google maps etc)
7th January 2008, 08:07 AM   |  #28  
Lowenski's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Graphic Designer
Hi I'm a graphic designer if you need Help in the developing of an interface for the software

lowenski@gmail.com
7th January 2008, 08:15 AM   |  #29  
borealcool's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Quebec
Thanks Meter: 0
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
EDIT Jan. 11: Please try this self-installing version of ICS first. If it doesn't work for you, try the manual install below.

I was able to install ICS to my Telus P4000 (Titan/Mogul) stock rom which only ships with WModem software. Both USB and WMWiFiRouter works, but I haven't tested BT. If anyone else gets it working, please report your device model for others to find.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ICS_Non_OEM.zip - [Click for QR Code] (82.9 KB, 2855 views)
Last edited by borealcool; 11th January 2008 at 03:41 PM.
7th January 2008, 08:45 AM   |  #30  
Lowenski's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Smile BUG Unistalling

I have installed for testing the new 0.87 cab file but wen I try to uninstall it get out of the "installed programs list" but still installed in the programs and all shortcuts and the working program remains I run the crash reg I don't know if that can be the one causing the problem... but just letting know about that bug...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes