5,593,793 Members 44,975 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

O2 Stellar and HTC X button

Tip us?
 
spider_j
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default O2 Stellar and HTC X button

I'd be grateful if anyone could offer any help with this issue.

I have an O2 branded version of the Kaiser. I have installed various of the cabs for HTC software available on this forum - which is excellent, by the way - and was very glad to find an "X" button solution.

Unfortunately, the device then started to crash whenever I closed a program for the first time and had to soft reset. I got a message saying that there was a problem with the shell.

As it stopped when I uninstalled HTC X Button, I am 99% certain that it was source of my problem. O2 stick a program manager in the system bar. It does not add X button functionality, but it does allow manual closure of a program. It does not appear ion any program list, and cannot be removed or closed itself, so I assume that it is part of the rom (not that I am an expert!)

Can anyone confirm this problem, and/or suggest a (preferably freely available) X button program that does not cause any issues? Alternatively, can the (fairly useless) O2 program be removed or closed without replacing the rom?
 
smittyofdhs
Old
#2  
smittyofdhs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 580
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Desert Hot Springs, CA
you are probably correct that the 2 apps are causing the issue. Have you looked in the \windows\startup folder for the O2 app? Also, there is a registry entry called INIT that does startup of services for the device. I can't remember right now where it's located in the registry. Let me know if you find anything in the startup folder and if not, I'll look up the key for you.
Phone: HTC Fuze
HardSPL: OliNex
Current ROM: 'Photon' (23504) ★ Titanium

My PDA Lineage: Handspring Visor Deluxe > Handspring Edge > Ipaq 3850 > Siemens/AT&T SX56 PPCPE > Moto MPx200 Smartphone > Audiovox 4100 PPCPE > Audiovox SMT5600 > Cingular SX66 PPCPE > RIM Blackberry 7520 > RIM Blackberry 7100i > Verizon XV6700 > Samsung BlackJack > AT&T Tilt > HTC FUZE
 
spider_j
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jan 2007
There is a file called O2 Custom in the Startup folder which has the same icon as the manager program I want rid of, but it is only 21b in size, so I assume that it is a shortcut.

Thanks for the suggestion. I would be grateful for some guidance on thew registry, since I am too inexperienced with this stuff to go poking around without very specific instructions!
 
smittyofdhs
Old
#4  
smittyofdhs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 580
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Desert Hot Springs, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider_j View Post
There is a file called O2 Custom in the Startup folder which has the same icon as the manager program I want rid of, but it is only 21b in size, so I assume that it is a shortcut.

Thanks for the suggestion. I would be grateful for some guidance on thew registry, since I am too inexperienced with this stuff to go poking around without very specific instructions!
that startup is probably it. you can try to cut&paste the shortcut to your 'my documents' folder, then reboot, then see if that o2 app is started after reboot. if not, then you found the solution.
Phone: HTC Fuze
HardSPL: OliNex
Current ROM: 'Photon' (23504) ★ Titanium

My PDA Lineage: Handspring Visor Deluxe > Handspring Edge > Ipaq 3850 > Siemens/AT&T SX56 PPCPE > Moto MPx200 Smartphone > Audiovox 4100 PPCPE > Audiovox SMT5600 > Cingular SX66 PPCPE > RIM Blackberry 7520 > RIM Blackberry 7100i > Verizon XV6700 > Samsung BlackJack > AT&T Tilt > HTC FUZE
 
cotc2001
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 122
Join Date: Nov 2004
I wonder if we are able to do a "corporate" install after hard reset like I used to be able to do with my Universal so it doesn't load all the 02 rubbish
 
spider_j
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jan 2007
Works like a charm, thanks smittyofdhs. The o2 program manager is gone, and HTC XButton 1.51 has not caused any soft resets so far.

You know, I feel really stupid not realising that removing the shortcut from startup would have done the job. I would have done the equivalent on my desktop or laptop without even thinking about it.
 
ellergek
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 42
Join Date: Dec 2007
HTC has a new version of their Task Manager (V2.0) that can be found pretty easily by searching this website. The only problem I have with HTC's Task Manager(s) is that while the "X" functionality works in every application, the Task Manager feature seems to work only on the Today screen. Therefore, I have found WkTask to be a very good free task manager which also combines a program launcher.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

How to Hack An Android App (Don’t Try This at Home) – XDA Developer TV

Listen, don’t cheat in your games. So don’t … more

Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview Now Available!

About two weeks ago at the BUILD conference in San Francisco, Microsoft unveiled Windows … more

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more