5,599,254 Members 37,411 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

how to unlock htc touch without password

Tip us?
 
seckin38
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default how to unlock htc touch without password

Friends,

I've just joined the forum. My HTC touch has just been locked itself and I can't unlock it because I didn't set a password. I still can receive calls but can't make calls, the screen is password screen, nothing else. I can't shut it down without removing the battery.

I tried PIN, PUK, IMEI, 0000, 1234, etc but didn't work. I tried soft reset but didn't help. Tried hard reset but it didn't reset. I tried the SIM card in other phones, it works, thus, the problem is the device.

Any help will be appreciated...
 
jahrami
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 275
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by seckin38 View Post
Friends,

I've just joined the forum. My HTC touch has just been locked itself and I can't unlock it because I didn't set a password. I still can receive calls but can't make calls, the screen is password screen, nothing else. I can't shut it down without removing the battery.

I tried PIN, PUK, IMEI, 0000, 1234, etc but didn't work. I tried soft reset but didn't help. Tried hard reset but it didn't reset. I tried the SIM card in other phones, it works, thus, the problem is the device.

Any help will be appreciated...
Flash new ROM
 
Elwyn M3100
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 266
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central England
You want to double check about that hard reset. I think you've probably only done a soft reset. A hard reset will reset the machine back and wipe off ALL your data and settings, including the password.

The front screen password of which you are referring to NOT any of the ones you have listed, but instead it is something you would have set when setting up the device.

Have a try with some of your usual passwords
Device History:
HTC Kaiser (KAIS130), HTC Tytn2, Motorola Defy, Samsung Galaxy Grand (suicided both sim slots within 4 months of gentle use), Motorola Defy Plus, Moto G....
The Following User Says Thank You to Elwyn M3100 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
seckin38
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2008
I have tried hard reset (pushing green and red buttons at the same time pushing the reset button with its own pen) but, didn't reset (since there appeared no message on the screen like "the data will be lost"). I think those two buttons are not functional because of password. Every time I tried hard reset it has done the soft one.

thanks anyway



Quote:
Originally Posted by Elwyn M3100 View Post
You want to double check about that hard reset. I think you've probably only done a soft reset. A hard reset will reset the machine back and wipe off ALL your data and settings, including the password.

The front screen password of which you are referring to NOT any of the ones you have listed, but instead it is something you would have set when setting up the device.

Have a try with some of your usual passwords
 
Elwyn M3100
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 266
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central England
Quote:
Originally Posted by seckin38 View Post
I have tried hard reset (pushing green and red buttons at the same time pushing the reset button with its own pen) but, didn't reset (since there appeared no message on the screen like "the data will be lost"). I think those two buttons are not functional because of password. Every time I tried hard reset it has done the soft one.

thanks anyway
I'd suggest you query this in the HTC Touch forum rather than the General Forum for everything, as they have more intimate knowledge to help you
Device History:
HTC Kaiser (KAIS130), HTC Tytn2, Motorola Defy, Samsung Galaxy Grand (suicided both sim slots within 4 months of gentle use), Motorola Defy Plus, Moto G....
 
mtx1
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2008
Hi there, my HTC touch just did the same today. I never set a password.
I contacted my IT guy and he mentioned the following:

Try number 1 once, and then tap unlock.

WORKED BRILLIANTLY!!
 
dotybizz
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Nov 2008
The HTC Touch does that all the time.
All you need to do is hold down the Send and End Call buttons down firmly and push the stylus up in the little hole near the usb port (Reset Button) and wait till the screen says that the phone is going to format and all data will be lost press the soft key to continue. Then when it says that press the center button and it will show Fat formatting and Rom formatting. This will erase all data on your touch so make sure you back up.
After turn on the phone and go through the set up and it should be perfectly ok.

You can do this for two reasons.

1. To reset the phone locks.

2. To repair the touch screen if it stops working.

Hope this helps. Enjoy
 
Elwyn M3100
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 266
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central England
Dotybizz, I guess the O/P wanted a way to recover without wiping his data. However, due to the security reasons I'm sure you know about often that isn't a suitable option.
Device History:
HTC Kaiser (KAIS130), HTC Tytn2, Motorola Defy, Samsung Galaxy Grand (suicided both sim slots within 4 months of gentle use), Motorola Defy Plus, Moto G....
 
evalone
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default Not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by dotybizz View Post
The HTC Touch does that all the time.
All you need to do is hold down the Send and End Call buttons down firmly and push the stylus up in the little hole near the usb port (Reset Button) and wait till the screen says that the phone is going to format and all data will be lost press the soft key to continue. Then when it says that press the center button and it will show Fat formatting and Rom formatting. This will erase all data on your touch so make sure you back up.
After turn on the phone and go through the set up and it should be perfectly ok.

You can do this for two reasons.

1. To reset the phone locks.

2. To repair the touch screen if it stops working.

Hope this helps. Enjoy
I tried but fails. Can you advice something more. I need it badly man.
 
bombe1
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2009
Default solve = hard reset

for hard reset press volume down button + center button + red reset button

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more