T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

iGO works in realVGA 96 dpi!!!!!

OP eaglesteve

22nd January 2008, 12:35 AM   |  #1  
eaglesteve's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5
 
3,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
In the past, I was always using 128 dpi and never really gave 96dpi a chance.

This morning, I accidentally discovered that my favourite car navigation GPS actually works in 96 dpi, although I had always thought that it only works in 192dpi. The only flaw is that I must use it in portrait mode, as it still does not work in landscape mode.

Like I mentioned in several post, iGO is my most preferred GPS software primarily due to the unbeatable visual beauty, speed, ease of use, and most importantly the ability to warn me if I exceed the road's legal speed limit. That has saves me hundreds in traffic fines and risk of license suspension.

Looks like enough reason for me to move to 96dpi, despite the more challenging font size. In a way I love the amount of real estate I have on my today screen.

I'm now officially a 96dpi convert!

Sorry, I'm just so excited about this. The more I use this device, the more "novelty" I get! I'm getting more excited with Athena the more I use it. Learning new things every day! The best toy I've owned in my life, yet so essential, and I feel I can no longer live my life without it. .
Last edited by eaglesteve; 22nd January 2008 at 11:23 AM.
22nd January 2008, 11:21 AM   |  #2  
HeartOfDarkness's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marseille
Thanks Meter: 1
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
I have to test this, but it's extremely poorly distributed in France, alas. I don't even know if it IS distributed in France, actually... :-S

TomTom was my satnav solution of choice since I've been upgrading the same license for the last 5 years, but I'm getting tired of its many shortcomings... :-S

Good to know it works at this resolution, since it's the reason why the Athena rocks imho. :)
22nd January 2008, 11:32 AM   |  #3  
eaglesteve's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5
 
3,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeartOfDarkness

I have to test this, but it's extremely poorly distributed in France, alas. I don't even know if it IS distributed in France, actually... :-S

TomTom was my satnav solution of choice since I've been upgrading the same license for the last 5 years, but I'm getting tired of its many shortcomings... :-S

Good to know it works at this resolution, since it's the reason why the Athena rocks imho. :)


Is speeding fine hefty in France? Do you have some sort of demerit point system where if you exceed the quota in a given period your license is suspeded? Here in Australia, I somehow had managed to attract speeding ticket very often despite trying to be very careful. So I'm very sensitive to this issue. I just had a suspension slapped on me not so long ago. That's why iGO is my preferred GPS. I just let my Copilot's license lapse. I also have Tom Tom which I use less frequently. Tom Tom is okay, except it does not have audio warning for speeding. I understand that one of the versions (which might be on dedicated GPS device) allows users to add and delete roads as well as to enter in the missing speed limit. I don't know if it has audio warning or still only display by color if your exceed speed. Do you know anything about this?
22nd January 2008, 11:52 AM   |  #4  
HeartOfDarkness's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marseille
Thanks Meter: 1
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Yes, you can also do that on the Navigator 6 version, either paying a yearly service for radar notification, or for free by adding specifically designed "POI" (Point of interest) including radar positions, that are freely available from websites (as least here in France). But there is no real "warning", so it's not really useful.

In France, we use a separate software called "Vitesse limite" that provides iGo-style warnigs, I guess, but does not have other satnav functionnalities.

Yes, we also have a "point-driver-license", as we call it, here, and stricter and stricter legislation about speeding. And having the satnav solution on the Athena warn me about incoming "boogies" while providing regular satnav functionalities really sounds good, so I guess I'm gonna have to find a way to try it. :)
22nd January 2008, 12:05 PM   |  #5  
eaglesteve's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5
 
3,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeartOfDarkness

Yes, you can also do that on the Navigator 6 version, either paying a yearly service for radar notification, or for free by adding specifically designed "POI" (Point of interest) including radar positions, that are freely available from websites (as least here in France). But there is no real "warning", so it's not really useful.

In France, we use a separate software called "Vitesse limite" that provides iGo-style warnigs, I guess, but does not have other satnav functionnalities.

Yes, we also have a "point-driver-license", as we call it, here, and stricter and stricter legislation about speeding. And having the satnav solution on the Athena warn me about incoming "boogies" while providing regular satnav functionalities really sounds good, so I guess I'm gonna have to find a way to try it. :)


The POI fixed speed detection camera is a feature present in almost all GPS software. It is the speed on regular road which is a concern as cops here do surprise us regularly with their mobile radar, which cannot be handled by the POI method.

I think you'll like it after trying it.
22nd January 2008, 10:25 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 103
 
1,134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglesteve

In the past, I was always using 128 dpi and never really gave 96dpi a chance.

This morning, I accidentally discovered that my favourite car navigation GPS actually works in 96 dpi, although I had always thought that it only works in 192dpi. The only flaw is that I must use it in portrait mode, as it still does not work in landscape mode.

Like I mentioned in several post, iGO is my most preferred GPS software primarily due to the unbeatable visual beauty, speed, ease of use, and most importantly the ability to warn me if I exceed the road's legal speed limit. That has saves me hundreds in traffic fines and risk of license suspension.

Looks like enough reason for me to move to 96dpi, despite the more challenging font size. In a way I love the amount of real estate I have on my today screen.

I'm now officially a 96dpi convert!

Sorry, I'm just so excited about this. The more I use this device, the more "novelty" I get! I'm getting more excited with Athena the more I use it. Learning new things every day! The best toy I've owned in my life, yet so essential, and I feel I can no longer live my life without it. .

How do you get this to work. I have tried this without success. Could you possibly post a copy of your sys.txt.

By the way, as I understand it, the next Igo woll work perfectly in VGA - about time too!
23rd January 2008, 12:09 AM   |  #7  
eaglesteve's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 5
 
3,750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by apd

How do you get this to work. I have tried this without success. Could you possibly post a copy of your sys.txt.

By the way, as I understand it, the next Igo woll work perfectly in VGA - about time too!

While using the USB mass storage thingy, somehow my device triggered the autorun program in my iGO and did a reinstallation while I was in 96dpi. I think it is the reinstallation while in this mode that fixed it. It was previously installed in 192 dpi. Make sure you're in the portrait mode when you reinstall.

Let me know if this works because I would also like to know why out of a sudden it started working.

Cheers.
23rd January 2008, 08:30 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 103
 
1,134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglesteve

While using the USB mass storage thingy, somehow my device triggered the autorun program in my iGO and did a reinstallation while I was in 96dpi. I think it is the reinstallation while in this mode that fixed it. It was previously installed in 192 dpi. Make sure you're in the portrait mode when you reinstall.

Let me know if this works because I would also like to know why out of a sudden it started working.

Cheers.

Ta - I'll try that tonight.
24th January 2008, 04:39 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Surrey
Thanks Meter: 3
 
1,017 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Glad you got it working eaglesteve.
In the UK most speeding offenses are caught by cameras but the only time I have been caught (so far) was a video camera in a police car, luckily I had just slowed down so was only doing 94MPH - that was 3 years ago and on fast roads I still drive fast but usually in the UK apart fromn the cameras, they don't seem to worry to much if you're driving safely.

What's the betting I get done for speeding now I've said that!
25th January 2008, 09:36 AM   |  #10  
HeartOfDarkness's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marseille
Thanks Meter: 1
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Got it working without having to re-install !

I can provide info on how to do it, depending on the version (modifications change between iGo, iGo Plus and iGo8). :)

eaglesteve, do you alos have a kind of "flickering of the screen", also, with parts of line that flicker on the screen here and there ?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes