MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Thread Deleted

Using a MAC

26th January 2008, 01:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
How do I run OS, and rom loaders on a MAC. I would like to load a rom that fixes the wifi problem with my Verizon XV6800. Please can someone help. Thanks
26th January 2008, 04:03 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
You don't.

Unless your Macintosh has an intel processor and has some sort of Windows emulation (bootcamp parallels, wine, etc.), you can't. There isn't a way to do this straight from OS X.

Syncing your PDA with Mac is easy with the help of The Missing Sync or PocketMAC but updating your firmware, you'll have to use the next best PC in your area.


Good luck
26th January 2008, 05:42 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Windows XP
Can anyone send me windows XP so I can duel boot and flash my XV6800 rom? I have parallels but no windows. Thanks
26th January 2008, 05:53 PM   |  #4  
blazingwolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 401
 
2,100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgantt

Can anyone send me windows XP so I can duel boot and flash my XV6800 rom? I have parallels but no windows. Thanks

No. That's asking for wares which is against forum policy. You can download a trial from Microsoft and use it that way.
26th January 2008, 08:04 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Be careful when running ROM upgrade tools within a VM on a mac. I got stuck in bootloader and the VM wouldn't see my phone at all. I had to find a PC in my closet to break it out :P I can only say this is true with Parallels though - VMWare may work better in this case but I've got no way of knowing.
26th January 2008, 08:21 PM   |  #6  
vetvito's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 179
 
3,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
try flashing from your microSD card
27th January 2008, 08:56 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by allanak

Be careful when running ROM upgrade tools within a VM on a mac. I got stuck in bootloader and the VM wouldn't see my phone at all. I had to find a PC in my closet to break it out :P I can only say this is true with Parallels though - VMWare may work better in this case but I've got no way of knowing.

I had the same trouble.....funny my old treo could be flashed in a Parallels VM with no problem, and ESN repairs on sanyos also work in it.

I noticed that if you keeep the mouse moving, it will be more likely to complete the flash....however that makes no sense!
27th January 2008, 12:53 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Thanks
Thanks for the replys. Sorry for asking for wares.

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes