FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Using a MAC

18 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By tgantt, Junior Member on 26th January 2008, 01:53 PM
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
How do I run OS, and rom loaders on a MAC. I would like to load a rom that fixes the wifi problem with my Verizon XV6800. Please can someone help. Thanks
 
 
26th January 2008, 04:03 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You don't.

Unless your Macintosh has an intel processor and has some sort of Windows emulation (bootcamp parallels, wine, etc.), you can't. There isn't a way to do this straight from OS X.

Syncing your PDA with Mac is easy with the help of The Missing Sync or PocketMAC but updating your firmware, you'll have to use the next best PC in your area.


Good luck
26th January 2008, 05:42 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Windows XP
Can anyone send me windows XP so I can duel boot and flash my XV6800 rom? I have parallels but no windows. Thanks
26th January 2008, 05:53 PM |#4  
blazingwolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 409
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgantt

Can anyone send me windows XP so I can duel boot and flash my XV6800 rom? I have parallels but no windows. Thanks

No. That's asking for wares which is against forum policy. You can download a trial from Microsoft and use it that way.
26th January 2008, 08:04 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Be careful when running ROM upgrade tools within a VM on a mac. I got stuck in bootloader and the VM wouldn't see my phone at all. I had to find a PC in my closet to break it out :P I can only say this is true with Parallels though - VMWare may work better in this case but I've got no way of knowing.
26th January 2008, 08:21 PM |#6  
vetvito's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 179
 
More
try flashing from your microSD card
27th January 2008, 08:56 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by allanak

Be careful when running ROM upgrade tools within a VM on a mac. I got stuck in bootloader and the VM wouldn't see my phone at all. I had to find a PC in my closet to break it out :P I can only say this is true with Parallels though - VMWare may work better in this case but I've got no way of knowing.

I had the same trouble.....funny my old treo could be flashed in a Parallels VM with no problem, and ESN repairs on sanyos also work in it.

I noticed that if you keeep the mouse moving, it will be more likely to complete the flash....however that makes no sense!
27th January 2008, 12:53 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks
Thanks for the replys. Sorry for asking for wares.
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes