Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

Best way/software to disc image the Touch ?

6th February 2008, 03:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Well, my Touch's screen alignment has gotten so bad that I need warranty repair. Of course, it happened 2 months after I got it, and Sprint will only do a exchange within the first 30 days. I did not get the insurance because I am covered for "all risk" on my homeowners insurance (also, I got the stupid insurance, at $7.50 per month, with the last phone and they only gave me a "refurbished" unit).

Anyway, can the Touch be disc imaged/restored just like a PC and what is the best solution ?
6th February 2008, 04:46 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anywhereanytime

Well, my Touch's screen alignment has gotten so bad that I need warranty repair. Of course, it happened 2 months after I got it, and Sprint will only do a exchange within the first 30 days. I did not get the insurance because I am covered for "all risk" on my homeowners insurance (also, I got the stupid insurance, at $7.50 per month, with the last phone and they only gave me a "refurbished" unit).

Anyway, can the Touch be disc imaged/restored just like a PC and what is the best solution ?

Sounds like you're referring to a hard reset. This will clear everything on your windows mobile device and restore it to factory default settings.

Warning make sure to back up anything you want to save because this will clear EVERYTHING on the phone.

if you can get into the settings menu under the system tab select Clear Storage and follow the instructions there. If not then hold both the Call and End Call buttons (green and red) then hit the reset button with your stylus under the touch next to the usb port (this is kinda tricky to do). Your screen will go off for a sec then you'll see a white screen with hard reset instructions. At this time you can let go of the Call and End Call buttons and then press the Center/Action button to hard reset or the Camera button to cancel.

If your only issue is the misaligned screen then it sounds like a hardware problem and this probably won't help but it's worth a shot.

Good Luck
~Xen
6th February 2008, 05:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliteXen

Sounds like you're referring to a hard reset. This will clear everything on your windows mobile device and restore it to factory default settings.

Warning make sure to back up anything you want to save because this will clear EVERYTHING on the phone.

~Xen

You misunderstood - I know all about a "hard reset" and that is NOT what I am looking for !!

HTC tech support basically said that a hard reset will not fix this. One way or another, I will probably have to send it in to HTC for repair - I already talked to them. The HTC repair depot is in Long Island and the whole process takes 2 to 3 weeks complete turn-around.

Is there a way to disc image EVERYTHING just like cloning a PC ??
Last edited by anywhereanytime; 6th February 2008 at 05:02 PM.
6th February 2008, 05:10 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Nashville
Thanks Meter: 37
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
SPB Backup (or Sprite Backup)
6th February 2008, 05:12 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anywhereanytime

You misunderstood - I know all about a "hard reset" and that is NOT what I am looking for !!

HTC tech support basically said that a hard reset will not fix this. One way or another, I will probably have to send it in to HTC for repair - I already talked to them. The HTC repair depot is in Long Island and the whole process takes 2 to 3 weeks complete turn-around.

Is there a way to disc image EVERYTHING just like cloning a PC ??

OK i get it now. You're just looking for a backup software. There are tons out there, Spb Backup is probably one of the most popular
6th February 2008, 05:19 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Thanks guys, like most I have added software programs, have a call history, contacts, etc.

Will either of these essentially "clone" my entire Touch or are these primarily "file backup" utilities.

I will find them and read the blurbs ... but do you know from personal experience ??
6th February 2008, 05:31 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
This sure looks like what I am looking for - just I don't need 20 licenses.

http://www.spritesoftware.com/store/...oneLink-TopNav

I have learned that "backup" and "clone" are different - I need clone but maybe in the WM6 world backup will completely restore to a new device.
Last edited by anywhereanytime; 6th February 2008 at 05:46 PM.
6th February 2008, 07:08 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
SPB Backup is definitely the best. As long as you use the same ROM when you get it back (if you never flashed you'll be fine) you can just run the exe it makes and you won't even know the difference. Restores contacts, calendar, software, reg keys, the whole works. Just like a disc image.
6th February 2008, 08:54 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red49er

SPB Backup is definitely the best. As long as you use the same ROM when you get it back (if you never flashed you'll be fine) you can just run the exe it makes and you won't even know the difference. Restores contacts, calendar, software, reg keys, the whole works. Just like a disc image.

What would you use "if" you flashed the ROM - I have not yet.

Thanks for the input - I am currently leaning toward this app which makes the "cloning" software. I emailed their tech people asking about the functionality and am awaiting a reply.

Anyone with Sprite Backup experiences ?

http://www.spritesoftware.com/store/...roducts_id=191
6th February 2008, 10:38 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Nashville
Thanks Meter: 37
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anywhereanytime

What would you use "if" you flashed the ROM - I have not yet.

Thanks for the input - I am currently leaning toward this app which makes the "cloning" software. I emailed their tech people asking about the functionality and am awaiting a reply.

Anyone with Sprite Backup experiences ?

http://www.spritesoftware.com/store/...roducts_id=191

You would use either that or nothing Ive upgraded ROMs and run a restore sucessfully before, but its a your mileage may very situation

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes