5,596,128 Members 33,574 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Best way/software to disc image the Touch ?

Tip us?
 
anywhereanytime
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 82
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default Best way/software to disc image the Touch ?

Well, my Touch's screen alignment has gotten so bad that I need warranty repair. Of course, it happened 2 months after I got it, and Sprint will only do a exchange within the first 30 days. I did not get the insurance because I am covered for "all risk" on my homeowners insurance (also, I got the stupid insurance, at $7.50 per month, with the last phone and they only gave me a "refurbished" unit).

Anyway, can the Touch be disc imaged/restored just like a PC and what is the best solution ?
 
EliteXen
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 88
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by anywhereanytime View Post
Well, my Touch's screen alignment has gotten so bad that I need warranty repair. Of course, it happened 2 months after I got it, and Sprint will only do a exchange within the first 30 days. I did not get the insurance because I am covered for "all risk" on my homeowners insurance (also, I got the stupid insurance, at $7.50 per month, with the last phone and they only gave me a "refurbished" unit).

Anyway, can the Touch be disc imaged/restored just like a PC and what is the best solution ?
Sounds like you're referring to a hard reset. This will clear everything on your windows mobile device and restore it to factory default settings.

Warning make sure to back up anything you want to save because this will clear EVERYTHING on the phone.

if you can get into the settings menu under the system tab select Clear Storage and follow the instructions there. If not then hold both the Call and End Call buttons (green and red) then hit the reset button with your stylus under the touch next to the usb port (this is kinda tricky to do). Your screen will go off for a sec then you'll see a white screen with hard reset instructions. At this time you can let go of the Call and End Call buttons and then press the Center/Action button to hard reset or the Camera button to cancel.

If your only issue is the misaligned screen then it sounds like a hardware problem and this probably won't help but it's worth a shot.

Good Luck
~Xen
 
anywhereanytime
Old
(Last edited by anywhereanytime; 6th February 2008 at 05:02 PM.)
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 82
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliteXen View Post
Sounds like you're referring to a hard reset. This will clear everything on your windows mobile device and restore it to factory default settings.

Warning make sure to back up anything you want to save because this will clear EVERYTHING on the phone.

~Xen
You misunderstood - I know all about a "hard reset" and that is NOT what I am looking for !!

HTC tech support basically said that a hard reset will not fix this. One way or another, I will probably have to send it in to HTC for repair - I already talked to them. The HTC repair depot is in Long Island and the whole process takes 2 to 3 weeks complete turn-around.

Is there a way to disc image EVERYTHING just like cloning a PC ??
 
volwrath
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 261
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nashville
SPB Backup (or Sprite Backup)
 
EliteXen
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 88
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by anywhereanytime View Post
You misunderstood - I know all about a "hard reset" and that is NOT what I am looking for !!

HTC tech support basically said that a hard reset will not fix this. One way or another, I will probably have to send it in to HTC for repair - I already talked to them. The HTC repair depot is in Long Island and the whole process takes 2 to 3 weeks complete turn-around.

Is there a way to disc image EVERYTHING just like cloning a PC ??
OK i get it now. You're just looking for a backup software. There are tons out there, Spb Backup is probably one of the most popular
 
anywhereanytime
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 82
Join Date: Nov 2007
Thanks guys, like most I have added software programs, have a call history, contacts, etc.

Will either of these essentially "clone" my entire Touch or are these primarily "file backup" utilities.

I will find them and read the blurbs ... but do you know from personal experience ??
 
anywhereanytime
Old
(Last edited by anywhereanytime; 6th February 2008 at 05:46 PM.)
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 82
Join Date: Nov 2007
This sure looks like what I am looking for - just I don't need 20 licenses.

http://www.spritesoftware.com/store/...oneLink-TopNav

I have learned that "backup" and "clone" are different - I need clone but maybe in the WM6 world backup will completely restore to a new device.
 
Red49er
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 79
Join Date: Feb 2008
SPB Backup is definitely the best. As long as you use the same ROM when you get it back (if you never flashed you'll be fine) you can just run the exe it makes and you won't even know the difference. Restores contacts, calendar, software, reg keys, the whole works. Just like a disc image.
 
anywhereanytime
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 82
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red49er View Post
SPB Backup is definitely the best. As long as you use the same ROM when you get it back (if you never flashed you'll be fine) you can just run the exe it makes and you won't even know the difference. Restores contacts, calendar, software, reg keys, the whole works. Just like a disc image.
What would you use "if" you flashed the ROM - I have not yet.

Thanks for the input - I am currently leaning toward this app which makes the "cloning" software. I emailed their tech people asking about the functionality and am awaiting a reply.

Anyone with Sprite Backup experiences ?

http://www.spritesoftware.com/store/...roducts_id=191
 
volwrath
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 261
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nashville
Quote:
Originally Posted by anywhereanytime View Post
What would you use "if" you flashed the ROM - I have not yet.

Thanks for the input - I am currently leaning toward this app which makes the "cloning" software. I emailed their tech people asking about the functionality and am awaiting a reply.

Anyone with Sprite Backup experiences ?

http://www.spritesoftware.com/store/...roducts_id=191
You would use either that or nothing Ive upgraded ROMs and run a restore sucessfully before, but its a your mileage may very situation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...