Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,637 Members 39,242 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS always trying to connect via MY ISP GPRS with WM6.1

Tip us?
 
dtmcnamara
Old
(Last edited by dtmcnamara; 9th February 2008 at 02:57 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 238
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default GPS always trying to connect via MY ISP GPRS with WM6.1

Ok so every time I try to connect to my GPS via Google Maps and Live Search my phone trys to connect to "MY ISP GPRS" and I get:

Dialed isp.cingular

cannot connect

error. I do not know why it does this. I have tried to remove hidden proxy still does it. tried restoring hidden proxy still the same. manually connected to COM4 still the same thing.

I have no GPS, is there a fix to this?

Also I am using ALEX's WM 6.1
 
_RMB_
Old
#2  
_RMB_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 330
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: miami
first off what operating sys are you on att..vodafone..etc??

it looks to me that you have att...well you would first need to get the cab that you can find around here just search that would set all of your internet configuration....also with all these 6.1 roms there has been a problem with gps that has not been solved yet.....but fyi google will use your gps plus your operators internet to get access....it used both so if you dont have internet google is no good.....after that you just need to sit tight until one of these great chefs find the gps prob on 6.1...if you cant wait revert back to 6.0 for now....also check your radio version i think that has to do with a lot with gps also!!!

search search search...thats the way of the gods!!!!

good luck!!
LG Thrill 3D
AT&T
Network: DEATH STAR
OS: I Don't Even Know Anymore
ROM date: EVERYDAY
Radio version: FM/AM
previous phones...to many to mention
 
dtmcnamara
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 238
Join Date: Oct 2007
thanks i have been looking for a while I may go back to 6.0 for a minute until everything is fixed.
 
packetmangler
Old
(Last edited by packetmangler; 9th February 2008 at 03:27 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Nov 2006
I had this problem too. I performed a hard reset and didn't allow the connection setup to run. I entered the data conection info by hand. I also only have the single my isp created. it just points to wap.cingular

I also haven't turned on a-gps in schaps adv config.

so far no issues with the dial error cropping up.

pm
 
~~Tito~~
Old
#5  
~~Tito~~'s Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 2,959
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Settings in my sig. If you didn't find it already.
My Device(s):
Phone: T-Mobile HTC One HBOOT Status: S-Off ROM: InsertCoin Accesories: Bear Motion Premium Slim Back Cover

This phone is amazing. Bravo HTC, bravo .

My Twitter My Google+
 
_RMB_
Old
#6  
_RMB_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 330
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: miami
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~~Tito~~ View Post
Settings in my sig. If you didn't find it already.
lol good job tito....i need to take some time and put links up in my sig for these types of situations.....just a little busy or lazy...which ever one you preffer....hehe
LG Thrill 3D
AT&T
Network: DEATH STAR
OS: I Don't Even Know Anymore
ROM date: EVERYDAY
Radio version: FM/AM
previous phones...to many to mention
 
~~Tito~~
Old
#7  
~~Tito~~'s Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 2,959
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Las Vegas
I am both. What ever mood I feel like XD.
My Device(s):
Phone: T-Mobile HTC One HBOOT Status: S-Off ROM: InsertCoin Accesories: Bear Motion Premium Slim Back Cover

This phone is amazing. Bravo HTC, bravo .

My Twitter My Google+

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more

LifeStats Automatic Journal Keeps Tabs of Your Day

Most of us live very active lives. This is after all why we’re fans of mobile … more

Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more

BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more