Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Deleted

Newbie Questions

OP termnalvee

14th February 2008, 10:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
1) I installed SMS chat thread v 1.0 which did not work. i think it is designed for touch screens and I have an HTC s730. I used the WM remove programs tool but it left behind several folders which can be seen only on the folders screen for messaging. I lso have no confirmation after send feature. The company, vito technology has not responded. Any ideas?

2)can anyone recommend a GOOD sms app for the HTC S730?

thanks!
16th February 2008, 01:03 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
How can I make absolutely sure my phone doesn't connect to 3G/EDGE unintentionally? I don't want it to default to this when it can't connect to a specific WiFi-signal, since my calling plan has terrible rates for data transfers.
16th February 2008, 06:03 AM   |  #3  
umchriswho's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by strid

How can I make absolutely sure my phone doesn't connect to 3G/EDGE unintentionally? I don't want it to default to this when it can't connect to a specific WiFi-signal, since my calling plan has terrible rates for data transfers.

i may have the perfect solution for this....(especially if you're operator is Tmobile)
go to start>settings>connections>connections.
manage existing modem connections.
tap and hold that connection located there and delete it.

now without connecting to a wifi signal, open your browser and type a site (ex. google.com) and if that edge/3g doesn't pop up, SUCCESS!!!

hope it works and good luck.
16th February 2008, 08:21 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Is there registry hack to force phone to ask user confirmation before connecting using GPRS/EDGE/3G. All normal phones has that...
17th February 2008, 10:10 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by umchriswho

i may have the perfect solution for this....(especially if you're operator is Tmobile)
go to start>settings>connections>connections.
manage existing modem connections.
tap and hold that connection located there and delete it.

now without connecting to a wifi signal, open your browser and type a site (ex. google.com) and if that edge/3g doesn't pop up, SUCCESS!!!

hope it works and good luck.

I'm not recognizing the menu choices there, is this for a s730? I did try to change user name and password in GRPS settings under Start>settings>connections>GPRS, but that didn't seem to help either.

What omadon99 suggested about a registry hack would be perfect, since I don't want to permanently disable 3G/EDGE, I just don't want the phone to connect to it and cost me money without confirmation when WiFi doesn't work.
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes