Post Reply

[Sep-14-08] HTC Weather Proxy Patch - Now support for TouchFlo 2D - Check post#50

OP phouki

22nd February 2008, 09:23 PM   |  #1  
phouki's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
TouchFlo 2D weather patch:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=50

Thanks to idsk for the great patches

================================================== ==================

A member (idsk) from the forums have created a patched HTCHome.dll that works with proxy connections. He has created 2 versions of the patched full versions of the HTC Home installer. His cab's can be found in his main post. I have created 2 cabs that would patch your already cooked or installed HTC Home. My cab install files will not change your customized Home or settings. Proxy setting is set to auto. If you want to force your proxy setting like I have, change your registry settings.

Note: When you force your proxy settings, updating through Wi-Fi or while sync'ed will not work.

Registry settings:

[HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\HTCHome\Weather\Settings]
"ProxyType"
0 = auto proxy config (system config*)
1 = direct to net (without proxy, default)
3 = via named proxy

"Proxy"
named proxy, IP:PORT (only used if "ProxyType"=3)

"User-Agent"
user-agent of the request
(the default user-agent is sent if leaved blank)

"Url"
url of the weather server (must begin with "http:" and without parameters. the parameters will be appent to it after a '?')
(the default url is used if leaved blank)


*I noticed that the autoproxy option forces the program to take pie proxy config, so pie should be at least launched once.

Forced proxy connection for T-Mobile USA using (T-Mobile Web or T-Zones)
Set the following:
[HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\HTCHome\Weather\Settings]
ProxyType: 3
Proxy: 216.155.165.50:8080


Be sure to backup your HTCHome.dll! If you already know which version you have then install the proper version you have. If not try the other patched cab. If either cab does not work, restore your HTCHome.dll

I take no credit for creating this proxy patch to work. All credits should goto idsk for his hard work.

His main thread is is here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=363417
Attached Files
File Type: cab HTC Home Proxy Patch v1.5.cab - [Click for QR Code] (114.7 KB, 1205 views)
File Type: cab HTC Home Proxy Patch v2.1.cab - [Click for QR Code] (130.9 KB, 2355 views)
Last edited by phouki; 14th September 2008 at 08:17 AM.
24th February 2008, 12:46 PM   |  #2  
hypest's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Thessaloniki
Thanks Meter: 4
 
235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
works fine
just tried the v1.5 on my kaiser and works sweetly

thanks!

UPDATE:
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but it stopped working.... it also doesn't event let me change the city...

RE-UPDATE:
Now I know what I did wrong: I had changed the database to "custom" using HTC Home Customizer... my bad

hypest
Last edited by hypest; 8th March 2008 at 12:42 AM.
24th February 2008, 05:33 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
I've been using this patch since it was released, and it's been working flawlessly. Thanks goes to idsk for the original version and phouki for enabling this feature on all HTChome versions.

The next challenge is to enable other programs to work with the WAP proxies out there, such as Live messenger, FRING, and all other programs.

After a talk with idsk himself, he said that theoretically it can be done.

For htchome, he edited the htchome.dll in a hex editor, and searched the string "wininet.dll" and replaced it with "idskpxy.dll". Then he resigned the dll, and put idskpxy.dll in the same folder.

He actually started to work on Fring, and found it needs 12 functions to be re-routed to his hacked dll, but he hasn't been visiting the forum lately.

Personally I have no experience in hex-editing, I tried checking some exe and dll files and hex editing it, but with no success.

The question is : is there any developer or programmer out there who can check some popular programs and try to re-route the files to idsk's hacked dll file?


Thanks
Last edited by KamaL; 24th February 2008 at 05:40 PM.
24th February 2008, 07:34 PM   |  #4  
killer_metallica's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Great great great
Thanks a lot
Working fine on HTC Kaiser Dutty's WM6
25th February 2008, 08:31 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Any help devs and programmers???
6th March 2008, 03:41 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by phouki

A member (idsk) from the forums have created a patched HTCHome.dll that works with proxy connections. He has created 2 versions of the patched full versions of the HTC Home installer. His cab's can be found in his main post. I have created 2 cabs that would patch your already cooked or installed HTC Home. My cab install files will not change your customized Home or settings. Proxy setting is set to auto. If you want to force your proxy setting like I have, change your registry settings.

Note: When you force your proxy settings, updating through Wi-Fi or while sync'ed will not work.

Registry settings:

[HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\HTCHome\Weather\Settings]
"ProxyType"
0 = auto proxy config (system config*)
1 = direct to net (without proxy, default)
3 = via named proxy

"Proxy"
named proxy, IP:PORT (only used if "ProxyType"=3)

"User-Agent"
user-agent of the request
(the default user-agent is sent if leaved blank)

"Url"
url of the weather server (must begin with "http:" and without parameters. the parameters will be appent to it after a '?')
(the default url is used if leaved blank)


*I noticed that the autoproxy option forces the program to take pie proxy config, so pie should be at least launched once.

Forced proxy connection for T-Mobile USA using (T-Mobile Web or T-Zones)
Set the following:
[HKLM\SOFTWARE\HTC\HTCHome\Weather\Settings]
ProxyType: 3
Proxy: 216.155.165.50:8080


Be sure to backup your HTCHome.dll! If you already know which version you have then install the proper version you have. If not try the other patched cab. If either cab does not work, restore your HTCHome.dll

I take no credit for creating this proxy patch to work. All credits should goto idsk for his hard work.

His main thread is is here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=363417

Now after installing the Cab, do I have to go into the registry and change the settings or just leave it be. Because i've installed and try downloading and it wont let me. I did open IE and minimize it but still isnt downloading. However, Accuweather does connect to The proxy internet when attempting to download. Please help and thank you.
6th March 2008, 06:37 AM   |  #7  
phouki's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creekboyz22

Now after installing the Cab, do I have to go into the registry and change the settings or just leave it be. Because i've installed and try downloading and it wont let me. I did open IE and minimize it but still isnt downloading. However, Accuweather does connect to The proxy internet when attempting to download. Please help and thank you.

Do you have proxy settings in your internet connections? You can try the forced proxy reg settings which is on the bottom of post #1.
7th March 2008, 09:16 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
HTC Weather
thanks! v2.1 worked a treat on my XDA Orbit 2
17th March 2008, 05:02 PM   |  #9  
VooDoo1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
It's not letting me install either .cabs - says install was unsucessful...did I do something wrong? Im using the OEM ROM.
17th March 2008, 05:31 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Thumbs up Thanks!
thanks, this is really great! 1.5 worked on my wizard 6.1.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes