Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Dec 29 08] CapSure - Better Screen Capture v1.11g - now with sound!

OP sahoopes

8th March 2008, 09:53 PM   |  #1  
sahoopes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wichita
Thanks Meter: 0
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Development has ended.

I've tried to address everyone's wish list for a screen capture app. I hope you enjoy.

DONATE FOR CapSure

Requirements:
PPC - WM2003, WM5, WM6+
.NET CF 2.0
Uses ~175 kb storage and ~1.2 mb memory

Features:
Supports screen captures in BMP*, GIF*, JPG, PNG formats (*not on all devices)
Add captions to screen captures
Obscure sensitive information in screen captures
Choose the saved image file name

4 capture options
  1. Screen - Capture active app
  2. From task list - Capture a specific app from task list
  3. Timed - capture screen after time interval
  4. Repeat - Repeat any of the above captures with user-selected interval and user-selected max captures
User-selected folder to store captures
Built-in thumbnail viewer
Built-in image editor
Supports Portrait and Landscape, and VGA (Still testing)

Command line options (separated by spaces)
  1. quick - take one capture
  2. shoot - run captures according to above settings
  3. silent - in combination with one of the above closes app after capture(s)
Example: Capture the screen without showing the CapSure window.
CapSure.exe silent quick

Freeware - No warranty. Use at your own risk. CapSure has been tested on Wizard (WM5), TYTN II (WM6), Touch (WM6.1)

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you XDA.

History:
v1.11g
-Added setting to play wav sound upon screen capture

v1.11f
-Fixed: Bug in Save after Edit caused by lowercase extension
v1.11e
-now create command line shortcuts right from CapSure
v1.11d
-fixes suggested in post 126 (except for shortcuts)
v1.11c
-Lower case file extensions
-Command line help
-Pre-Configured short cuts included in CAB file
v1.11b
-VGA ready - tested in emulator
-faster load time
v1.11a
-Release for VGA testing
v1.11
-Gracefully handles folder access errors
-Improved Emboss and Blur
-Command line bug fixed
v1.10
-New image editing features added: Emboss, Contrast, Resize, Rotate, Crop
v1.09
-More obscure options - Blur, Rainbow, Random
-Now supports PNG format
v1.08
-Users can now control file name with wildcards
-Examples: %h=hour, %y=year, %n=counter, etc.
-Help button next to Save As lists all supported file name wildcards
-Slightly improved obscure
v1.07b
-still working on VGA support - needs testing please
-program runs at about 1.2 mb ram but processing large images in browse and edit requires much more
v1.07
-Add captions to screen captures
-Obscure sensitive information in screen capture
-Now ready for VGA? - Need testers
-Box and shadow around preview
-Scrollable number boxes for some settings
v1.05
-Improved Folder Selection - loads faster, includes all folders
-Minor cosmetic changes
-Smaller EXE
v1.0
-Fixed: Resizes well with orientation changes
-Fixed: Help window no longer covers target settings
-CAB Installation now
v.05
-Added: Storage Card to folder browse
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	settings.png
Views:	3363
Size:	17.0 KB
ID:	86726   Click image for larger version

Name:	browser.png
Views:	2167
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	86727   Click image for larger version

Name:	edit.jpg
Views:	1869
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	86728   Click image for larger version

Name:	editsample.jpg
Views:	2908
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	86729   Click image for larger version

Name:	main.jpg
Views:	2069
Size:	51.4 KB
ID:	86730  
Attached Files
File Type: cab CapSure_PPC_v1.11g.ARM.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (274.0 KB, 11367 views)
Last edited by sahoopes; 15th November 2009 at 04:03 AM. Reason: v1.11g
8th March 2008, 10:48 PM   |  #2  
mchapman007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,830 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Very nice work! If I hadn't paid for Pocket Controller - Pro, I would give this a go.
8th March 2008, 11:34 PM   |  #3  
PhilD41's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Iowa
Thanks Meter: 6
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahoopes

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you XDA.

Works great on my P4300 (Wizard) with WM6.1 The only thing it is missing is support for storage cards. I can select where I save the files, but all options are on the device. I am a Linux user so this requires an extra step to copy them to the SD card so I can mount it and pull them off. Other than that, it is a great app!
9th March 2008, 06:03 AM   |  #4  
DJayRage's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 11
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
Looks great, but do I need to extract this zip file from a PC? When I try & unzip it from my Tilt (using Resco File Explore '07) it says "Nothing to extract. Selection does not contain any files".

Thanks.
9th March 2008, 06:55 AM   |  #5  
sahoopes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wichita
Thanks Meter: 0
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJayRage

Looks great, but do I need to extract this zip file from a PC? When I try & unzip it from my Tilt (using Resco File Explore '07) it says "Nothing to extract. Selection does not contain any files".

Thanks.

I used built-in compression in Vista to create the zip so maybe that is the problem. You can unzip on the PC and copy to your Tilt.

Thanks for trying it.
9th March 2008, 06:56 AM   |  #6  
sahoopes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wichita
Thanks Meter: 0
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilD41

Works great on my P4300 (Wizard) with WM6.1 The only thing it is missing is support for storage cards. I can select where I save the files, but all options are on the device. I am a Linux user so this requires an extra step to copy them to the SD card so I can mount it and pull them off. Other than that, it is a great app!

Thanks for giving it a try. I am working on adding the storage cards to the folder browse. Coming soon. I will update the first post when I have a new version.
9th March 2008, 08:16 AM   |  #7  
oldsap's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
anything for smartphones?
9th March 2008, 11:17 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
2,498 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Very nice - great job!
9th March 2008, 05:47 PM   |  #9  
sahoopes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wichita
Thanks Meter: 0
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
@ oldsap
I cannot use a listbox on smartphones so not sure how I would implement the task list option. However, I would be glad to do a smartphone version if there is enough people that would use it.

@ Moe5508
Thanks for the kind words.

@ All
I'll have a new version next week that includes Storage cards for the Save folder. In the meantime, note that the box that has the Save folder is open to typing also. You can type a path there without using the browse feature. That should be a temporary fix to allow you to save your captures anywhere on the device.
9th March 2008, 07:18 PM   |  #10  
sahoopes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wichita
Thanks Meter: 0
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilD41

Works great on my P4300 (Wizard) with WM6.1 The only thing it is missing is support for storage cards. I can select where I save the files, but all options are on the device. I am a Linux user so this requires an extra step to copy them to the SD card so I can mount it and pull them off. Other than that, it is a great app!

Post #1 is updated with a new version that supports Storage Cards. I had to do this by brute force. My library woudl only return network folders so to get a storage card to appear in the folder browse it must have a name that starts with Storage Card. That should be the default anyway.

Hope it works for you.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes