Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,214 Members 43,618 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

difference between[E] and [G] icon?

Tip us?
 
bochey1314
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default difference between[E] and [G] icon?

I found sthg really weird in my unlocked ATT tilt today. I m curently using T-mobile. As many of you know that, you rarely get signal/reception in basement if you are using t-mobile. but today, when i went down to the basement, reception was gone w/ the E icon, then after a while, the E icon was changed to G, then the signal was detected and I could make phone call too. and the carrier on the screen is still T-mobile. Nothing changed except the E/G Icon. I then checked w/ my friend who is also using T-mobile(nokia phone), no reception at all. Does any one know what the difference between E and G icon on top of the screen is? will I be charged for some type of service fee or something if I make calls or use the Tmobile web w/ the [G] icon? please tell me if you guys know anything about it.
thanks in advance...
 
united002
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dundee/Louth
The "E" is picking up an edge reception, i get it in the UK sometimes because i have a crappy t-mobile signal in my house. When its displayed i cant make phonecalls/txts etc so might be picking up another carriers signal because i dont think t-mob uses edge here. The "G" is gprs just the basic slow phones signal.
 
XtreMe_G
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 1,203
Join Date: Jan 2007
G is when GPRS is available, E is when EDGE is available. No extra charge. This could have been easily answered by looking in the manual.......page 29
 
Poetique
Old
#4  
Poetique's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 334
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Alabama
I guess this may be different for T-Mobile (and could possibly vary on the ROM you're using) but the E on my device is for EDGE service, and G is for 3G service. 3G, obviously, is the better of the two. But I'm on AT&T of course...
 
bochey1314
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poetique View Post
I guess this may be different for T-Mobile (and could possibly vary on the ROM you're using) but the E on my device is for EDGE service, and G is for 3G service. 3G, obviously, is the better of the two. But I'm on AT&T of course...
I don't think T-mobile has 3G here in NY.

Thanks for all the replies above
so, the signal of GPRS is stronger than the EDGE? if yes, then we are all able to get reception even if in basement. No need to get verizon anymore... lol
but why can't my friends' phones picked up any GPRS signal? is that because their phones don't support GPRS?
 
CorruptedSanity
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 912
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Abu Dhabi - United Arab Emirates
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poetique View Post
I guess this may be different for T-Mobile (and could possibly vary on the ROM you're using) but the E on my device is for EDGE service, and G is for 3G service. 3G, obviously, is the better of the two. But I'm on AT&T of course...
And then H (HSDPA) just defeats them all.
Samsung Note 3 LTE
 
s'pht
Old
#7  
s'pht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 148
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
One Icon to rule them all, One Icon to find them...
 
swiftgs
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 161
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default Nono

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poetique View Post
I guess this may be different for T-Mobile (and could possibly vary on the ROM you're using) but the E on my device is for EDGE service, and G is for 3G service. 3G, obviously, is the better of the two. But I'm on AT&T of course...
No no no, g is not 3g, G is GPRS, the slower version of EDGE, thats the reason why you can call in your basement now!

G is GPRS
E is EDGE
3G is UMTS
H is HPSDA

first is the slowest, last is the fastest, so if the fastest is not availible, it switches to a slower one, like happened in the TS situation
new htcdrivers, software or WMtools:
http://www.htcdriver.com
 
Exousia
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Washington DC
My icon used to pretty much always be on 3G, sometimes switching to E when I drove to my brothers house which is about 25 miles away. But recently I haven't been seeing 3G at all, but only H. I did see E a couple days ago, but I haven't seen 3G in more than a week now. I thought H was only supposed to show up when you were using a data network or something? At least that's what I read somewhere on here a while ago... Any explanations?
 
XtreMe_G
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 1,203
Join Date: Jan 2007
that H is wat you want to see

first H shows up when downloading data means you're using HSDPA, but is H shows up when u're not downloading data, you have HSUPA too

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more

Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more

Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more

Pushbullet Updated with SMS Send Ability

Pushbullet is one of thoseapplications that every Android lover should have installed on his or … more