FORUMS

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

How to disable Internet

16th March 2008, 09:10 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i just got my phone not a week ago(the Sprint HTC Touch) and just realized that my company does not allow phones with internet access, i was wondering if there was a way i could disable the internet on the phone, so that i dont accidentally fat finger it and open something up... thanks in advance
 
 
16th March 2008, 11:22 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
How about turning off "Data Connection" from the Comm Manager?
17th March 2008, 12:56 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
i havent tried it, but have you tried deleting the modem settings?
you know, the ones that dial out #777. or maybe you can just get it to dial elsewhere
17th March 2008, 02:23 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
as far as i know there is no way to do that without deleting the #777 connection in setting/connections/manage current connection.
But then you will not be able to send picture and video message. As that is the same connection it uses.
Also as soon as you soft reset the device. the connection is back again.

Really I don't understand how your company is able to put a cap on this, as most every cell phone now and day can access the internet. Even if it's not activated on the phone, you can still access for a use per minute charge.
And I'm not just talking about pda/phones.

Unless I'm wrong. But i have yet to find one that doesn't.
18th March 2008, 05:20 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Call Sprint and have them "Disable NAI Functionality" on your phone. It's a service feature that restricts your device from accessing any kind of data.
18th March 2008, 09:08 AM |#6  
Rudegar's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag DK
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
settings->connections->connections->advanced->select networks

there are some texts showing "programs that automatically connect to the internet should connect using"

and a dropdownbox

select the dropdownbox item which is not called something like "my isp"
but pick the one thats called something like "my network"

then all programs trying to access the internet will be forced to use activesync as internet connection and if activesync is not connected they will fail!
18th March 2008, 05:55 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks.
I have been trying to figure this out for ages. Thanks for your help.
20th March 2008, 03:18 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks for all of your help, i dont agree with my company, but i really like this phone, i just need to show them that it does not work for a few months then after they stop checking i can re-enable it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes