CyanogenMod 12.1 for YU Yureka

YU Yureka recently received an official Cyanogen OS 12S update. If you prefer to use a newer revision of … more

Open War for Open Android: Antitrust for Cyanogen?

Android and openness is something we talk about all the time, but the recent … more

What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

How to disable Internet

16th March 2008, 09:10 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
i just got my phone not a week ago(the Sprint HTC Touch) and just realized that my company does not allow phones with internet access, i was wondering if there was a way i could disable the internet on the phone, so that i dont accidentally fat finger it and open something up... thanks in advance
 
 
16th March 2008, 11:22 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
How about turning off "Data Connection" from the Comm Manager?
17th March 2008, 12:56 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
i havent tried it, but have you tried deleting the modem settings?
you know, the ones that dial out #777. or maybe you can just get it to dial elsewhere
17th March 2008, 02:23 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
as far as i know there is no way to do that without deleting the #777 connection in setting/connections/manage current connection.
But then you will not be able to send picture and video message. As that is the same connection it uses.
Also as soon as you soft reset the device. the connection is back again.

Really I don't understand how your company is able to put a cap on this, as most every cell phone now and day can access the internet. Even if it's not activated on the phone, you can still access for a use per minute charge.
And I'm not just talking about pda/phones.

Unless I'm wrong. But i have yet to find one that doesn't.
18th March 2008, 05:20 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Call Sprint and have them "Disable NAI Functionality" on your phone. It's a service feature that restricts your device from accessing any kind of data.
18th March 2008, 09:08 AM |#6  
Rudegar's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag DK
Thanks Meter: 44
 
12,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2003
More
settings->connections->connections->advanced->select networks

there are some texts showing "programs that automatically connect to the internet should connect using"

and a dropdownbox

select the dropdownbox item which is not called something like "my isp"
but pick the one thats called something like "my network"

then all programs trying to access the internet will be forced to use activesync as internet connection and if activesync is not connected they will fail!
18th March 2008, 05:55 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
thanks.
I have been trying to figure this out for ages. Thanks for your help.
20th March 2008, 03:18 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
thanks for all of your help, i dont agree with my company, but i really like this phone, i just need to show them that it does not work for a few months then after they stop checking i can re-enable it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes