Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,051 Members 53,800 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Recommended Satnav (GPS) program?

Tip us?
 
Lilinka
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisville
Default Recommended Satnav (GPS) program?

Hey, I just upgraded to the official sprint rom and hate their satellite nav program, but anyway, I wanted to know if anyone has any recommended software for use with the phone, my friend recommends Garmin XT but I can't find for sure if it even works with the Mogul. Thanks in advance.
 
RikoNaz
Old
#2  
RikoNaz's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilinka View Post
Hey, I just upgraded to the official sprint rom and hate their satellite nav program, but anyway, I wanted to know if anyone has any recommended software for use with the phone, my friend recommends Garmin XT but I can't find for sure if it even works with the Mogul. Thanks in advance.

Garmin XT works perfectly with the mogul. i have it on mines, you dont even need to use the GPS Launcher. it detects it automatically. i also have tomtom 6 navigator on mines as well. it works well too, but you have to use a gps launcher with that one.
 
Lilinka
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisville
A GPS launcher? Forgive the newbishness, but whassat?
 
RikoNaz
Old
#4  
RikoNaz's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilinka View Post
A GPS launcher? Forgive the newbishness, but whassat?
Some GPS programs dont detect the mogul's internal Gps, so the Gps launcher, activates gps as well as the program at the same time.


http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=17072

this is where i read up on it. However the Garmin XT Mobile doesnt require the launcher in order to use the mogul internal gps.
 
whatsit
Old
(Last edited by whatsit; 17th March 2008 at 04:54 AM.)
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by RikoNaz View Post
Garmin XT works perfectly with the mogul. i have it on mines, you dont even need to use the GPS Launcher. it detects it automatically. i also have tomtom 6 navigator on mines as well. it works well too, but you have to use a gps launcher with that one.
Could you comment on whether or not Garmin XT has text-to-speech for street names? During my limited experience with TomTom (on a friend's phone), I noticed that TomTom didn't have this feature (or it wasn't turned on by default). Does Garmin XT announce street names?

Thanks.
 
dbrown2
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WEST COLUMBIA

 
DONATE TO ME
NO, it does not have this feature or none that I can see. But it does work great, I think I like tom tom for some of the other features like advanced routing and I think the maps tom tom are more accurate. For example I get a lock at my house and it says that I am at 1057 and should be 1017.

But for the most part is works great.
 
Asphyx
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 1,625
Join Date: Dec 2007
Here is another vote for Garmin XT...
It does not read out the street names but I have found that I don't really need stephen hawkings telling me what the name of the street is as long as it is telling me when to make the turn! LOL

The Garmin also does a better job on streets with two names which is common in rural areas...

I live on a street that is a county road AND a state highway...
In Tom Tom I had to use the county road to enter in addresses but with Garmin it would take either street name and still find it.

There are a few nav proggies that do read names out to you but I don't think any of them have the other features and huge POI database of Garmin or Tom Tom.

I have both of those installed (8GB SD Card) and I have to say I never use the Tom Tom just the Garmin!
 
pakka008
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Quick question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx View Post
Here is another vote for Garmin XT...
It does not read out the street names but I have found that I don't really need stephen hawkings telling me what the name of the street is as long as it is telling me when to make the turn! LOL

The Garmin also does a better job on streets with two names which is common in rural areas...

I live on a street that is a county road AND a state highway...
In Tom Tom I had to use the county road to enter in addresses but with Garmin it would take either street name and still find it.

There are a few nav proggies that do read names out to you but I don't think any of them have the other features and huge POI database of Garmin or Tom Tom.

I have both of those installed (8GB SD Card) and I have to say I never use the Tom Tom just the Garmin!
Hi,

Please bare with me as I am very new to this.
I got my new Mogul last week and I do have unlimited internet and text msg on my plan. Is that sufficient to get me going with GPS? Or will I be billed for using GPS on my Mogul(Sprint)? Pls let me know as I am very much interested in using GPS.

Thx in adv.
 
dbrown2
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WEST COLUMBIA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pakka008 View Post
Is that sufficient to get me going with GPS? Or will I be billed for using GPS on my Mogul(Sprint)? Pls let me know as I am very much interested in using GPS.

You really don't need either to use GPS unless you are going to use google maps or ms live. Then you would need internet connection.

Garmin, IGO, Tom Tom and others use the gps receiver in the phone that uses the sats in the sky without the need for monthly fees. So if you only wanted to use the phone and gps (no internet or sms) then you would not need a data plan or sms plan.
 
Asphyx
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 1,625
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pakka008 View Post
Hi,

Please bare with me as I am very new to this.
I got my new Mogul last week and I do have unlimited internet and text msg on my plan. Is that sufficient to get me going with GPS? Or will I be billed for using GPS on my Mogul(Sprint)? Pls let me know as I am very much interested in using GPS.

Thx in adv.
If you have unlimited Data package then you can use pretty much any GPS program you want. No extra charges at all! They don't charge for the use of the GPS and you only need the data connection if you use a program that downloads maps on the fly. (Google or MS). I personally don't like that because if I happen to get to an area where the data service isn't available you won't get a map until you get back into a data service area.

A program like Garmin and Tom Tom will also use data connections if you have them but that is only to download updated traffic data. Both Garmin and TT store the maps on the device. If you have a large SD card (like my 8GB) you can store the entire North America map with all the POI data which takes up about 2GB (a little less) of space. IF you don't have a lot of storage space you will have to download a partial map that covers the area your going to be driving in. May seem like a pain but it makes the operation a lot better to have the maps local and always available.

IF you have good storage space and unlimited Data, then your pretty much set. Make your choice based on the features of the program.
If you want to get a feel for each go to your local electronics store and try out the standalone TomTom and Garmin units. They pretty much run the same software (similar) to what you'll get on the PPC.

Google and MS are free so you can easily try them too if you want.

I personally love my Garmin. I bought the GPS10 and it works great. But don't buy the SD card versions...Get the CD which will allow you to install on the PC any SD card instead. Then you can install to any size SD card you want with plenty of room for other things as well!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...