FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[How to] HELP for NEW GUYS

696 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By fktsndr, Senior Member on 1st April 2008, 12:46 PM
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th April 2008, 05:10 PM |#21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leondaphillips

I used the following commands to get the raw dump files:
pdocread -w -d FLASHDR -b 0x800 -p Part00 0 0x31f000 Part00.raw
pdocread -w -d FLASHDR -b 0x800 -p Part01 0 0x3c0000 Part01.raw
pdocread -w -d FLASHDR -b 0x800 -p Part02 0 0x54a0000 Part02.raw
pdocread -w -d FLASHDR -b 0x800 -p Part03 0 0x7740000 Part03.raw

First use pdocread -l to get the exact positions of the described parts (marked in bold)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jibreil

Thanks, will this backup the Radio even?

AFAIK: No

Part00: (don't know but too small for radio)
Part01: XIP (OS Kernel-like part)
Part02: customization of ROM (i.e. language files, integrated programs and components)
Part03: storage memory of the device (i.e. the part of memory where you install your programs etc.)
 
 
9th April 2008, 12:14 PM |#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by fktsndr

There are many posts, how to install rom, radio, what is hard-spl, etc...

Here is a little help:

[...]

@fktsndr: Thank you SO much! This is exactly what i'm looking for! 'cause i've entered pda world just 15 days ago.

I've just upgraded my polaris to hard spl + wm6.1 (new rom) + new radio rom and all goes well.


Is there a "reputation" mechanism on this forum?

Note: your english is better than mine

_______________
HTC Touch Cruise (aka Polaris aka P3650)
- Hard-SPL v2.20.olipro | Bepe 0.67 Premium ROM | Radio 1.64.08.21 | Voip working & tons of tweaks
--Still no accelerated video drivers (HTC & Qualcomm failure)
Last edited by nokiolino; 9th April 2008 at 04:03 PM. Reason: Signature fixed
9th April 2008, 05:13 PM |#23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I now that this is a stupid question but I have tried to find the answer but when you say 'unpack to a folder' (rom & radio), which folder should it go to . I have downloaded the .rar files but don't know where to put the so they are picked up by flashing process.
9th April 2008, 06:18 PM |#24  
fktsndr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey_Sean

I now that this is a stupid question but I have tried to find the answer but when you say 'unpack to a folder' (rom & radio), which folder should it go to . I have downloaded the .rar files but don't know where to put the so they are picked up by flashing process.

You should use for example 7-zip, It is a free and can handle rar files. Open the rar file with it, and you can set the folder to extract.
10th April 2008, 08:28 AM |#25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for your help. All working fine (so far)
10th April 2008, 02:05 PM |#26  
Pawel062's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
nice info in this thread. someone should add to the polaris wiki.
10th April 2008, 02:10 PM |#27  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawel062

nice info in this thread. someone should add to the polaris wiki.

Toxic17 already linked this thread very early in the wiki. (Post #6)
14th April 2008, 03:33 PM |#28  
Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Boot loader
I tryed to install a cooked rom on my touch cruise but the device doesn't remain on boot (with the colors on) . I don't understand how to update to a newer cooked rom from that state, i did exactly as it was posted on the thread but the setup does not start.

Can anyone please help me ?

Thanks in advance
14th April 2008, 05:16 PM |#29  
fktsndr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatguard

I tryed to install a cooked rom on my touch cruise but the device doesn't remain on boot (with the colors on) . I don't understand how to update to a newer cooked rom from that state, i did exactly as it was posted on the thread but the setup does not start.

Can anyone please help me ?

Thanks in advance

In this case, you did not exactly the posted method

So..

Press and hold camer button. Press reset with stylus for a second (but do not release camera button, until you will see the bootlader)
15th April 2008, 08:03 AM |#30  
Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I succeded installing the cooked rom, i still haven't succeded keeping the polaris into "bootloader mode", it was in "windows" when i installed the new rom, the operation was succesful, i am very happy with the new rom. Thanks for all the info.
17th April 2008, 08:31 PM |#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fktsndr

Thanks to Olipro, Cmonex, Pawel062 and Abbsta

Note: use restore spl only in warranty situation. Hard-spl is much more safe than original spl!

So:
I adwice first flash the offical rom. (step manually to bootloader, after start the RomUpdateUtiliy)

Restore original SPL:

Download the attached originalspl.zip (it is from the offical WWE HTC rom)
Unpack it to a folder.
Connect your PDA to PC, and be sure Active Sync can connect to it.
Start the RomUpdate Utility from the folder.
You will see the tricolor screen on you pda, and device will ask you to Replug USB cable. DO IT!
After a few seconds original spl is restored. (this will restore only spl, not flash the full rom)
You can check it to enter manually to bootloader.
You have to see this in tricolor:
POLA100 (or POLA200)
SPL-1.25.0000
CPLD-2

Do it to your own risk!

Hi!

First when I flashed my phone I loaded Hard SPL according with instructions and all went ok. Now something is wrong with Windows (won't start) and I'm trying to load back the original SPL but after the progress bar is 100% when I start it is still
POLA100 MFG
SPL-2.20.OliNex
CPLD-2

instead of
POLA100 (or POLA200)
SPL-1.25.0000
CPLD-2
and I can not load succesfully any ROM. Can somebody help me please ?
Even if I try to HARD SPL again, I can not see the step with "plug in usb cable" ... the progress bar goes to 100% and the result is the same.

Any ideas ?
Please help.
Thanks

Read More
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes