Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,239 Members 49,888 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] TimeSyncTZ 0-06 - NTP Time Sychronisation Client (06-JUN-09))

Tip us?
 
thierryb
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 243
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Le Vesinet
I get this error choosing the last server in the list.
Works with the first ones.
Thanks for the tool.


TimeSyncTZ.exe
Exception
Un message d'erreur est disponible pour cette exception, mais il ne peut pas être affiché, car ces messages sont facultatifs et ils ne sont pas actuellement installés sur ce périphérique. Installez NETCFv35.Messages.FR.wm.cab pour Windows Mobile version 5.0 ou ultérieure ou NETCFv35.Messages.FR.cab pour d'autres plateformes. Redémarrez l'application pour voir le message.

à TimeSyncTZ.NTPClient.Connect(Boolean UpdateSystemTime)
à TimeSyncTZ.TimeSync.ThreadSyncTime()i
 
nikagl
Old
#12  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 390
Posts: 2,079
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nieuwegein, NL

 
DONATE TO ME
It seems you have a French ROM but the English .NET CF 3.5 installed? Or maybe you're suffering from this bug:
http://blogs.msdn.com/martijnh/archi...ework-3-5.aspx

Without the real message I wonder whether Paul can help . I will try to reproduce myself to see whether it crashes with an English ROM and .NET CF 3.5 in English too...

Regards,

Nika.
Nika Gerson Lohman (nikagl)
 
slumpz
Old
#13  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hi, it's better if you choose pool.ntp.org as the default server. It will automatically select the nearest server according to your IP address.
 
nikagl
Old
#14  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 390
Posts: 2,079
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nieuwegein, NL

 
DONATE TO ME
Yup, same issue on English ROM. Maybe Dave knows why?

Another question I have is that it constantly says it would like to correct about 1 sec (between 0.7 to 1.4 is the values I've seen) after trying to sync again. Any thoughts on why? Possibly it's the time it takes for the code to query and/or set the time?

Regards,

Nika.
Nika Gerson Lohman (nikagl)
 
thehellraiser
Old
#15  
thehellraiser's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 113
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ludhiana
thanx dude.. for sharing this useful application .. GOOB JOB !!! ..
 
nikagl
Old
#16  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 390
Posts: 2,079
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nieuwegein, NL

 
DONATE TO ME
I came across one more (minor) bug:

When the TZ is GMT+1 and you sync from some invalid time (in my case the ROMs built date/time, which was sometime in 2007!), it syncs to one hour ahead. So for instance, phone is set to 14/02/2007 08:13, the current time is 01/01/2008 20:30, it will sync to 01/01/2008 21:30 (instead of 20:30).

Setting it back to one hour before, it will sync fine the next time...

Regards,

Nika.
Nika Gerson Lohman (nikagl)
 
nikagl
Old
#17  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 390
Posts: 2,079
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nieuwegein, NL

 
DONATE TO ME
I've used the silent option btw (added a shortcut to my Sashimi Root folder that automatically adds it to the \Windows\Startup folder):

TimeSyncTZ.exe silent pool.ntp.org

Regards,

Nika.
Nika Gerson Lohman (nikagl)
 
DaveShaw
Old
#18  
DaveShaw's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator + Wiki Bureaucrat - OP
Thanks Meter 358
Posts: 8,708
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Huddersfield
Quote:
Originally Posted by thierryb View Post
I get this error choosing the last server in the list.
Works with the first ones.
Thanks for the tool.


TimeSyncTZ.exe
Exception
Un message d'erreur est disponible pour cette exception, mais il ne peut pas être affiché, car ces messages sont facultatifs et ils ne sont pas actuellement installés sur ce périphérique. Installez NETCFv35.Messages.FR.wm.cab pour Windows Mobile version 5.0 ou ultérieure ou NETCFv35.Messages.FR.cab pour d'autres plateformes. Redémarrez l'application pour voir le message.

à TimeSyncTZ.NTPClient.Connect(Boolean UpdateSystemTime)
à TimeSyncTZ.TimeSync.ThreadSyncTime()i
I get the error "No such host", which probably means I that some of the server's in the list are wrong. For the next version, I'll re-test the server list and maybe add pool.ntp.org.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl View Post
Yup, same issue on English ROM. Maybe Dave knows why?

Another question I have is that it constantly says it would like to correct about 1 sec (between 0.7 to 1.4 is the values I've seen) after trying to sync again. Any thoughts on why? Possibly it's the time it takes for the code to query and/or set the time?

Regards,

Nika.
Hi Nika,
I think it's the delay between the request and reply, I got the same with SynchroTime. Most of the NTP code isn't mine .

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl View Post
I came across one more (minor) bug:

When the TZ is GMT+1 and you sync from some invalid time (in my case the ROMs built date/time, which was sometime in 2007!), it syncs to one hour ahead. So for instance, phone is set to 14/02/2007 08:13, the current time is 01/01/2008 20:30, it will sync to 01/01/2008 21:30 (instead of 20:30).

Setting it back to one hour before, it will sync fine the next time...

Regards,

Nika.
This I am unsure of, I'll try and re-test this when I next re-open the code . Was it a Kaiser ROM, if so let me know which and I'll flash it to be sure. Do you flash and change the time zone as part of the "Tap screen to Setup" or change it in Windows afterwards?

Ta
Dave
--Retired.
 
nikagl
Old
#19  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 390
Posts: 2,079
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nieuwegein, NL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveShaw View Post
This I am unsure of, I'll try and re-test this when I next re-open the code . Was it a Kaiser ROM, if so let me know which and I'll flash it to be sure. Do you flash and change the time zone as part of the "Tap screen to Setup" or change it in Windows afterwards
Hi Dave,

I've had this with all ROMs (yes it's Kaiser, current is a WM6.0 ROM, see my sig) as far as I remember. Possibly you could even try to set your time back, set it to GMT+1 and sync, which will set the time to a GMT+2 time. I'll check when my phone is done syncing

Regards,

Nika.
Nika Gerson Lohman (nikagl)
 
nikagl
Old
#20  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 390
Posts: 2,079
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nieuwegein, NL

 
DONATE TO ME
Shorcut in my startup turned out not to be so successful as it fails to connect every time I soft-reset. I guess the HSDPA connection has not yet correctly initialised when the startup folder is executed. Maybe you can add a command-line like "delay XX" where it delays doing the sync?

Regards,

Nika.
Nika Gerson Lohman (nikagl)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Easily Combine Text and Manage Your Android Clipboard with StuffMerge

Android clipboard management has always been impractical without the … more

Pale Moon Browser Ported to Android

Having a wide choice of third party applications is one of the most beautiful things that Android has to … more

Partial Android Wear Source Uploaded to AOSP

2014 is certainly shaping up to be theyear of the wearables. And thanks to its innovative … more

Street Panorama Combines Google Maps and Street View into One App

Google Maps is a must have application forevery amateur world explorer. … more