Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,165 Members 38,889 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cannot update Radio from Hell 1.65.17.10 : [SOLVED] with FrankenKaiser

Tip us?
 
shutter13
Old
#101  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 186
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsnyc View Post
yes I have done that and got everything the same till when its suppose to boot into bootloader on the cego cmd just a blank screen.
I get the same thing.

Question; when running frakenkaiser in step 10 Sometimes I will get a code below the "be patient" line and sometimes I won't. Am I correct in assuming if I don't get the code, it's not going to work? At this point I am unsure what to do, I have tried both spl's via cmd prompt and it will not enter bootloader.
Phone: AT&T Tilt
ROM: HyperDragon III OPAL OS 5.2.19971 B. 19971.1.2.6
Radio Version: 1.58.25.17
 
ugoff
Old
#102  
ugoff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 470
Join Date: Nov 2007
So... If we were to copy the text from step7 including remarks and run them, making the last command before 'setinfo' not output anything, then run setinfo and powerdown, to find that the setboot command still works but nothing else will....

How would we go about fixing that?
 
austinsnyc
Old
#103  
austinsnyc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 1,285
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Quote:
Originally Posted by shutter13 View Post
I get the same thing.

Question; when running frakenkaiser in step 10 Sometimes I will get a code below the "be patient" line and sometimes I won't. Am I correct in assuming if I don't get the code, it's not going to work? At this point I am unsure what to do, I have tried both spl's via cmd prompt and it will not enter bootloader.
samething with mine sometimes i get a code that doesn't match the one in the picture and sometimes I get no code very strange. I wish Jocky was around! I am also trying to do all this on vista the mtty cmds seem to work but again can't get to bootloader

Back to XDA where it all started over 10 years ago back in the "Hermes" days on windows mobile 5 things have come a very long way in portable devices

Samsung Galaxy S5
Custom Built ROM with a little mix of all the best!
 
shutter13
Old
#104  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 186
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by shutter13 View Post
I get the same thing.

Question; when running frakenkaiser in step 10 Sometimes I will get a code below the "be patient" line and sometimes I won't. Am I correct in assuming if I don't get the code, it's not going to work? At this point I am unsure what to do, I have tried both spl's via cmd prompt and it will not enter bootloader.
Also when I used MTTY in step 11 the first couple of times I would get a response when entering the commands. Now I don't. I can start back over at step 8 and MTTY responds for that step, but after repluging the USB in step 10 I get nothing. Type "echo_on" just goes to the next line, same with "setboot 0" and "cego". This is getting really frustrating. I'm sure it's something I'm not doing right, but I'll be damned if I can figure what it is.
Phone: AT&T Tilt
ROM: HyperDragon III OPAL OS 5.2.19971 B. 19971.1.2.6
Radio Version: 1.58.25.17
 
gwhaley
Old
(Last edited by gwhaley; 20th May 2008 at 03:13 AM.)
#105  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2007
When performing step 10 I don't get a code either. Yeah this is frustrating. I've bricked it while trying to fix it. It's frustrating for me 'cause I get all the expected results except at the end.
 
ugoff
Old
#106  
ugoff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 470
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwhaley View Post
When performing step 10 I don't get a code either. Yeah this is frustrating. I've bricked it while trying to fix it.
Do any commands work?
 
gwhaley
Old
#107  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2007
After Step 10 I have to reinsert the battery before it accepts more commands from MTTY.
 
shutter13
Old
#108  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 186
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwhaley View Post
When performing step 10 I don't get a code either. Yeah this is frustrating. I've bricked it while trying to fix it.
I think I've narrowed it down...if I don't close the MTTY window, I don't get the code, if I do, I do get the code.

Step 8



Step 10



Step 11

Phone: AT&T Tilt
ROM: HyperDragon III OPAL OS 5.2.19971 B. 19971.1.2.6
Radio Version: 1.58.25.17
 
gwhaley
Old
#109  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2007
In the revised step 8 are we supposed to hold the send button for any period of time to ensure the phone enters the 'dload' state properly?
 
ugoff
Old
(Last edited by ugoff; 20th May 2008 at 04:14 AM.)
#110  
ugoff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 470
Join Date: Nov 2007
Is there anything we can do if, after step 7, step 8's 'enter 'dload'' instruction gives "invalid command : dload"?

Shutter13 made a very good point. Make sure mtty is closed when you run the FrankenKaiser program. I will answer my own question for those who believe they've messed up at step 7:

1. Remove power from your phone
2. Connect power and hold power button until the green light comes on
3. Make sure mtty is CLOSED
4. Run the "FrankenKaiser-V1.9517.exe /dev/com9 SPL1.56-KAIS-unbricker.nb" (with your own comport, etc.). It should show the 10 character code and instruct you to replug the USB.
5. REPLUG THE USB
6. Run mtty and connect to your comport.
7. 'echo_on' should now work. Do step 7 again.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more