Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,901 Members 51,865 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to remove SQM (System Quality Metrics)

Tip us?
 
no2chem
Old
(Last edited by no2chem; 22nd May 2008 at 07:28 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 275
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default How to remove SQM (System Quality Metrics)

A few people have been trying to figure out how to get rid of SQM, and custsat.dll was causing most of the errors. I posted a few weeks ago in the kaiser forum the I was going to post how to do it, but forgot. Anyway, removing SQM is now simple (for ROM cooks):

1. Delete SQM package from SYS
2. Place my dummy custsat.dll (attatched).

...dummy custsat is a dummy custsat.dll that exports all correct ordinals, and simply returns zero for all functions. SQM is a reporting library that apparently sends non-personal information to microsoft about your pocketpc's performance. note this is for wm6.1, wm6 you can just delete sqm.
Attached Files
File Type: zip no2chem_dummycustsat.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.0 KB, 1208 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to no2chem For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
the-equinoxe
Old
(Last edited by the-equinoxe; 22nd May 2008 at 06:07 AM.)
#2  
the-equinoxe's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 1,959
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by no2chem View Post
A few people have been trying to figure out how to get rid of SQM, and custsat.dll was causing most of the errors. I posted a few weeks ago in the kaiser forum the I was going to post how to do it, but forgot. Anyway, removing SQM is now simple (for ROM cooks):

1. Delete SQM package from SYS
2. Place my dummy custsat.dll (attatched).

...dummy custsat is a dummy custsat.dll that exports all correct ordinals, and simply returns zero for all functions. SQM is a reporting library that apparently sends non-personal information to microsoft about your pocketpc's performance.
Wouldn't it be easier to remove the whole SQM package:
-custsat.dll
sqmce.dll
sqmconn.dll
sqmdata.dll
sqmevent.exe
sqmsvc.dll
uptime.dll
uptimesqm.exe
AND remove the RGU entries from the Hive?

Then the whole package wouldn't be called upon anymore, so no errors with custsat.dll etc.

Code:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM]

    "Enabled"=dword:1                                              ; Device-wide SQM enabled state

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\BuiltIn\SqmEngine]

    "Dll"="sqmce.dll"

    "Prefix"="SQM"

    "Index"=dword:1

    "Order"=dword:1

    "IClass"=multi_sz:"{A32942B7-920C-486b-B0E6-92A702A99B35}"

    "Flags"=dword:2

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Engine]

    "MachineId"="{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}"

    "UserId"="{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}"

    "MaximumSessionSize"=dword:FFFF                                ; Default: 64 KB

    "MaximumPacketPoolSize"=dword:FF                               ; Default: 255

    "MaximumFileQueueSize"=dword:20                                ; Default: 32

    "MaximumUploadFolderSize"=dword:40000                          ; Default: 256 KB

    "PacketProcessorThreadPriority"=dword:FB                       ; Default: THREAD_PRIORITY_NORMAL (251)

    "UploadFolderFilePattern"="_%d.dat"

    "PersistentSessionFolder"="\\Windows\\System\\SQM\\Sessions\\"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions\Global]

    "MaxSize"=dword:FA0

    "Timeout"=dword:15180   ; one day in milliseconds

    "Persistent"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions\PMWeek]

    "MaxSize"=dword:FA0

    "Timeout"=dword:93A80   ; one week in milliseconds

    "Persistent"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\UploadSettings]

    "UploadFolder"="\\Windows\\System\\SQM\\Files"

    "UploadEvent"="System/SqmUploadReady"

    "UploadRetryInterval"=dword:5265C00

    "ThrottleInterval"=dword:48190800

    "ConnectionFlags"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Services\SqmUpload]

    "Context"=dword:0

    "Dll"="sqmsvc.dll"

    "Order"=dword:99

    "Keep"=dword:1

    "Prefix"="SQM"

    "Index"=dword:0

    "DelayLoadOnEvents"="SDP_DATA_AVAILABLE"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM]

    "Enabled"=dword:0                                              ; Device-wide SQM enabled state

    "EnableUI"=dword:1                                             ; Show event-triggered prompt to join and control panel applet

    "PromptDelayMin"=dword:F                                       ; Number of minutes (in hex) to delay before displaying prompt after receiving initial event notification

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions]

    "MaxTransient"=dword:100

    "TransientSignature"="sqmdata%02d.sqm"

    "TransientDir"="\\windows\\SqmTempFiles"

    "TransientFlags"=dword:0

    "FlushInterval"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions\Global]

    "MaxSize"=dword:5000

    "Timeout"=dword:15180

    "Persistent"=dword:1

    "Flush"=dword:1

    "SessionCount"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions\BiWeekly]

    "MaxSize"=dword:FA0

    "Timeout"=dword:127500

    "Persistent"=dword:1

    "Flush"=dword:1

    "SessionCount"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\UploadSettings]

    "ConnectionDll"="sqmconn.dll"

    "ConnectionFlags"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\Uptime]

   "Interval"=dword:258

   "UserFix"=dword:B4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\init]

    "Launch100"="uptimesqm.exe"

    "Depend100"=hex:3c,00     ; services(=0x3c)

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\State\ScreenOff]

    "upt1:"=dword:1           ; D1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\State\Unattended]

    "upt1:"=dword:1           ; D1


Regards,

EqX
Current device:
HTC One M7
 
no2chem
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 275
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by the-equinoxe View Post
Wouldn't it be easier to remove the whole SQM package:
-custsat.dll
sqmce.dll
sqmconn.dll
sqmdata.dll
sqmevent.exe
sqmsvc.dll
uptime.dll
uptimesqm.exe
AND remove the RGU entries from the Hive?

Then the whole package wouldn't be called upon anymore, so no errors with custsat.dll etc.

Code:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM]

    "Enabled"=dword:1                                              ; Device-wide SQM enabled state

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\BuiltIn\SqmEngine]

    "Dll"="sqmce.dll"

    "Prefix"="SQM"

    "Index"=dword:1

    "Order"=dword:1

    "IClass"=multi_sz:"{A32942B7-920C-486b-B0E6-92A702A99B35}"

    "Flags"=dword:2

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Engine]

    "MachineId"="{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}"

    "UserId"="{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}"

    "MaximumSessionSize"=dword:FFFF                                ; Default: 64 KB

    "MaximumPacketPoolSize"=dword:FF                               ; Default: 255

    "MaximumFileQueueSize"=dword:20                                ; Default: 32

    "MaximumUploadFolderSize"=dword:40000                          ; Default: 256 KB

    "PacketProcessorThreadPriority"=dword:FB                       ; Default: THREAD_PRIORITY_NORMAL (251)

    "UploadFolderFilePattern"="_%d.dat"

    "PersistentSessionFolder"="\\Windows\\System\\SQM\\Sessions\\"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions\Global]

    "MaxSize"=dword:FA0

    "Timeout"=dword:15180   ; one day in milliseconds

    "Persistent"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions\PMWeek]

    "MaxSize"=dword:FA0

    "Timeout"=dword:93A80   ; one week in milliseconds

    "Persistent"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\UploadSettings]

    "UploadFolder"="\\Windows\\System\\SQM\\Files"

    "UploadEvent"="System/SqmUploadReady"

    "UploadRetryInterval"=dword:5265C00

    "ThrottleInterval"=dword:48190800

    "ConnectionFlags"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Services\SqmUpload]

    "Context"=dword:0

    "Dll"="sqmsvc.dll"

    "Order"=dword:99

    "Keep"=dword:1

    "Prefix"="SQM"

    "Index"=dword:0

    "DelayLoadOnEvents"="SDP_DATA_AVAILABLE"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM]

    "Enabled"=dword:0                                              ; Device-wide SQM enabled state

    "EnableUI"=dword:1                                             ; Show event-triggered prompt to join and control panel applet

    "PromptDelayMin"=dword:F                                       ; Number of minutes (in hex) to delay before displaying prompt after receiving initial event notification

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions]

    "MaxTransient"=dword:100

    "TransientSignature"="sqmdata%02d.sqm"

    "TransientDir"="\\windows\\SqmTempFiles"

    "TransientFlags"=dword:0

    "FlushInterval"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions\Global]

    "MaxSize"=dword:5000

    "Timeout"=dword:15180

    "Persistent"=dword:1

    "Flush"=dword:1

    "SessionCount"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\Sessions\BiWeekly]

    "MaxSize"=dword:FA0

    "Timeout"=dword:127500

    "Persistent"=dword:1

    "Flush"=dword:1

    "SessionCount"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\SQM\UploadSettings]

    "ConnectionDll"="sqmconn.dll"

    "ConnectionFlags"=dword:0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\Uptime]

   "Interval"=dword:258

   "UserFix"=dword:B4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\init]

    "Launch100"="uptimesqm.exe"

    "Depend100"=hex:3c,00     ; services(=0x3c)

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\State\ScreenOff]

    "upt1:"=dword:1           ; D1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\State\Unattended]

    "upt1:"=dword:1           ; D1


Regards,

EqX
if you tried that in wm6.1, you would quickly discover that unresolved imports will cause everything from tmail.exe to cprog.exe not to execute.
 
Ameet
Old
#4  
Ameet's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 1,983
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by no2chem View Post
2. Place my dummy custsat.dll (attatched)
hey no2chem.. will try this out, but where should i place this file? in windows? i mean is it ok if i just place this file of urs in oemapps (it will automatically get stored in windows, rite?)

EDIT: sorry.. posted too early b4 i saw what was nside sorry again.. please ignore my question
 
starbase64
Old
#5  
starbase64's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 528
Posts: 2,954
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lennestadt

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi,

good work, i have cooked in my new Rom.

with friendly greet

starbase64
Starbase64 YouTube Channel | Stabase64 Blog | Starbase64 Flickr Stream


Device: HTC One m8ul
ROM: InsertCoin
Kernel: Stock is the best
S-OFF: Yes
SuperCID: Yes
MID: 0P6B10000
PVS: 1

Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7''
ROM: CM 10.2
Kernel: stock
Recovery: TWRP
Baseband: stock
 
the-equinoxe
Old
#6  
the-equinoxe's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 1,959
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by no2chem View Post
if you tried that in wm6.1, you would quickly discover that unresolved imports will cause everything from tmail.exe to cprog.exe not to execute.
Ahh, I (obviously) haven't tried that in WM6.1 (haven't cooked a WM 6.1 ROM yet).

Well done, I'll going to use your dll when I decide to cook me a WM6.1 ROM.
Current device:
HTC One M7
 
papamopps
Old
#7  
papamopps's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 3,005
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cologne
ok i will try in my new rom! thanks!


 
somphon_r
Old
#8  
somphon_r's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default Very useful

I 'll use your SQM in my next ROM. Thanks.
Asus P526 WM6.1 OS 5.2.19585 Diamond Ported, Rom date: 2008/5/23 (Customized ROM)
See my P526 WM6.0 ROM thread
 
papamopps
Old
#9  
papamopps's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 3,005
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cologne
OK cooked in and NO problems at all. Thnaks for sharing!!!


 
Noonski
Old
#10  
Noonski's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 5,286
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam

 
DONATE TO ME
What i didn't post thanks for this...

Dammit, muchos gracias great job testing now.

I wnet almost insane trying to get rid of SQM in WM 6.1
Searching for Anwsers on XDA? Try The FireFox & IE Search Bar Plug In

www.noonski.nl For My Device History, BackLog, Beer Gifting, Off Topic Rants and everything else that won't fit in my Signature.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes