Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,442 Members 43,679 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

PocketSpeedTest - check your cellular packet link speed or hotspot speed :)

Tip us?
 
kartam
Old
(Last edited by kartam; 2nd June 2009 at 08:20 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 202
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elbląg
Default PocketSpeedTest - check your cellular packet link speed or hotspot speed :)

Here comes the second version of PocketSpeedTest. In new version you may manage your own HTTP-file based mirrors, view speed chart (alpha only; has some problems with scaling), and other details.

The system requirements are:
- a Pocket PC Phone or classic one (e.g. if you want to test hotspots) based on Windows Mobile 2003 SE or newer; a WM5+ Smartphone should work as well but was not tested.
- .NET Compact Framework 2.0 installed on device (on WM6 devices preinstalled by default)
- any Internet connection on device (if no WiFi or Cable, a packet data connection is activated automatically)

Application should also run on a desktop PC if you have .NET Framework 2.0 installed (installed by default on Vista, in case of Windows XP, 2000, ME or 98 you'll need probably to install .NET)

This time comes with a cab installer.
Screenshot contains old version.
Comments appreciated
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pspeedtest.JPG
Views:	2073
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	88273  
Attached Files
File Type: cab PocketSpeedTestInstaller.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (25.8 KB, 2673 views)
If you like me or my work you may appreciate it here
 
kartam
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 202
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elbląg
no interest?
If you like me or my work you may appreciate it here
 
tft
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 518
Join Date: Feb 2008
nice app. how about speedtest in KB/s and not kbit/s? or maybe an option..

KB/s gives a better idea what most people see on a download prompt.

where does the program do, download a temp file from somewhere?
 
kartam
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 202
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elbląg
Quote:
Originally Posted by tft View Post
nice app. how about speedtest in KB/s and not kbit/s? or maybe an option..

KB/s gives a better idea what most people see on a download prompt.

where does the program do, download a temp file from somewhere?
It downloads the file:
http://noc.gts.pl/1mb.gts
to nowhere (all operation is done within RAM, no storage is involved). Maybe I'll add KB/s as an option, I've used kbit/s because most speed-o-meters show speed in kbit/s.
The file is a GTS Energis provider file typically used to check your connection speed via download prompt.
If you like me or my work you may appreciate it here
 
tft
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 518
Join Date: Feb 2008
yeah, kbps is ok actually. but options are cool

what about increasing test length?

i think it can be more accurate if you give it more time, the speedtest stops like 8 seconds after and there is no way i can download a 1MB file that fast unless thats one huge burst of bandwidth.

how much is actually downloaded, you stop the test before 1MB or does it download the whole mb?
 
kartam
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 202
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elbląg
Quote:
Originally Posted by tft View Post
yeah, kbps is ok actually. but options are cool

what about increasing test length?

i think it can be more accurate if you give it more time, the speedtest stops like 8 seconds after and there is no way i can download a 1MB file that fast unless thats one huge burst of bandwidth.

how much is actually downloaded, you stop the test before 1MB or does it download the whole mb?
It gets the whole 1MB unless you stop it yourself. Yes it may be short for high speed connections but I'm going to add larger tests.
If you like me or my work you may appreciate it here
 
tft
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 518
Join Date: Feb 2008
i've created website speedtest apps in the past, it's almost the same.

i used php to test downstream and flash to test upstream from client to server.

what about your apps capabilities for upstream? good way to test RevA
 
kartam
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 202
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elbląg
Quote:
Originally Posted by tft View Post
i've created website speedtest apps in the past, it's almost the same.

i used php to test downstream and flash to test upstream from client to server.

what about your apps capabilities for upstream? good way to test RevA
well currently it doesn't support upstream but I may add that in future
If you like me or my work you may appreciate it here
 
MickyMax
Old
#9  
MickyMax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 825
Join Date: Nov 2007
Good tool, thanks kartam !
Motorola Moto X Black (XT1052)
Please click "Thanks" button if my post helped you...
 
nuguy
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 63
Join Date: Jan 2006
Awesome!

I've been wanting this for some time.

Would love it to record peaks, and support copy from the results window.

(pingback)http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?p=296412
Mine is also a crime deterent device.

Go ahead, try to take my wallet...

-------------------------

Have Wifi and GPS on your phone???
Check out Navizon. It's $$$ in your pocket!
http://my.navizon.com/Webapps/UserAd..._code=5E5D5D5F
Navizon- Get paid $ to use your phones GPS & Wifi!

Navizon Threads:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=2330572
http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=21590

Coming Soon: Locate by SMS - Find your phone with Navizon!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes