Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

PocketSpeedTest - check your cellular packet link speed or hotspot speed :)

26th May 2008, 07:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Elbląg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Here comes the second version of PocketSpeedTest. In new version you may manage your own HTTP-file based mirrors, view speed chart (alpha only; has some problems with scaling), and other details.

The system requirements are:
- a Pocket PC Phone or classic one (e.g. if you want to test hotspots) based on Windows Mobile 2003 SE or newer; a WM5+ Smartphone should work as well but was not tested.
- .NET Compact Framework 2.0 installed on device (on WM6 devices preinstalled by default)
- any Internet connection on device (if no WiFi or Cable, a packet data connection is activated automatically)

Application should also run on a desktop PC if you have .NET Framework 2.0 installed (installed by default on Vista, in case of Windows XP, 2000, ME or 98 you'll need probably to install .NET)

This time comes with a cab installer.
Screenshot contains old version.
Comments appreciated
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pspeedtest.JPG
Views:	2074
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	88273  
Attached Files
File Type: cab PocketSpeedTestInstaller.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (25.8 KB, 2676 views)
Last edited by kartam; 2nd June 2009 at 08:20 PM.
27th May 2008, 11:57 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Elbląg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
no interest?
27th May 2008, 12:17 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
nice app. how about speedtest in KB/s and not kbit/s? or maybe an option..

KB/s gives a better idea what most people see on a download prompt.

where does the program do, download a temp file from somewhere?
27th May 2008, 12:42 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Elbląg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tft

nice app. how about speedtest in KB/s and not kbit/s? or maybe an option..

KB/s gives a better idea what most people see on a download prompt.

where does the program do, download a temp file from somewhere?

It downloads the file:
http://noc.gts.pl/1mb.gts
to nowhere (all operation is done within RAM, no storage is involved). Maybe I'll add KB/s as an option, I've used kbit/s because most speed-o-meters show speed in kbit/s.
The file is a GTS Energis provider file typically used to check your connection speed via download prompt.
27th May 2008, 02:03 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
yeah, kbps is ok actually. but options are cool

what about increasing test length?

i think it can be more accurate if you give it more time, the speedtest stops like 8 seconds after and there is no way i can download a 1MB file that fast unless thats one huge burst of bandwidth.

how much is actually downloaded, you stop the test before 1MB or does it download the whole mb?
27th May 2008, 02:12 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Elbląg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tft

yeah, kbps is ok actually. but options are cool

what about increasing test length?

i think it can be more accurate if you give it more time, the speedtest stops like 8 seconds after and there is no way i can download a 1MB file that fast unless thats one huge burst of bandwidth.

how much is actually downloaded, you stop the test before 1MB or does it download the whole mb?

It gets the whole 1MB unless you stop it yourself. Yes it may be short for high speed connections but I'm going to add larger tests.
27th May 2008, 02:19 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
i've created website speedtest apps in the past, it's almost the same.

i used php to test downstream and flash to test upstream from client to server.

what about your apps capabilities for upstream? good way to test RevA
27th May 2008, 02:29 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Elbląg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tft

i've created website speedtest apps in the past, it's almost the same.

i used php to test downstream and flash to test upstream from client to server.

what about your apps capabilities for upstream? good way to test RevA

well currently it doesn't support upstream but I may add that in future
27th May 2008, 02:46 PM   |  #9  
MickyMax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
825 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Good tool, thanks kartam !
27th May 2008, 03:58 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Thumbs up
Awesome!

I've been wanting this for some time.

Would love it to record peaks, and support copy from the results window.

(pingback)http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?p=296412

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes