Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,817 Members 53,886 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Emulators that can run on the Dash (working emulator compilation)

Tip us?
 
.PoNeH
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 197
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orlando, Boston
Default Emulators...

So, are there any working emulators out there for the Dash? I have been lurking on qusers.com and saw that a lot of people have been getting NES, SNES, and GB emulators to work well with their Q but I haven't been able to get it working on the Dash. Any ideas?

http://www.qusers.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=13
 
DanITman
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 111
Join Date: Feb 2006
I've tried a couple as well, the only one I can get to work is Pocket Nester. The only problem is the resolution looks like crap and I won't work well with the Dash.

I also Tried PocketNester Plus with not luck.
 
xer099
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2005
Hi PoNeH,

I also posted to your thread on MoDaCo....

I sort of have AvAlon5's version of smartsnes working on my dash. However, the image does not display properly. The screen is cutoff on the right and wraps around on the left. I've heard this works for the Q, because the Q uses a funky version of GAPI for backwards compatibility with old software.

I've posted a request to AvAlon5, asking to update with support for QVGA landscape like in the dash.
see this thread
http://www.modaco.com/index.php?show...4&#entry784084
you can also get his software close to the beginning of the thread.

Perhaps someone here on xda-developers can help with some sort of GAPI wrapper to get programs not designed for landscape displays to work on the dash. anyone???
 
.PoNeH
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 197
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orlando, Boston
Keeping my fingers crossed. Thanks for all your contribution. By the way, how did it run? Was it as responsive as you expected? How were the controls?
 
xer099
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2005
besides the display problem, it ran great. i had auto-frameskip on, and it ran at full speed with sound WITHOUT overclocking. controls are as expected for snes, keys are configurable, and multi button press is no problem.
 
cwsocha
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Emulator list and setup

There is a good step-by-step tutorial for setting up the emulators for the Dash located Here. It has a link as well to PicoDrive which is cool. I haven't tested all of them, but PocketNester seems to work well for me.
 
swivel
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 210
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsocha View Post
There is a good step-by-step tutorial for setting up the emulators for the Dash located Here. It has a link as well to PicoDrive which is cool. I haven't tested all of them, but PocketNester seems to work well for me.
PocketNester won't display in full screen. It displays "tall" and scrunched, not "wide."
 
.PoNeH
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 197
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orlando, Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsocha View Post
There is a good step-by-step tutorial for setting up the emulators for the Dash located Here. It has a link as well to PicoDrive which is cool. I haven't tested all of them, but PocketNester seems to work well for me.
This guide is as useful as a sweater in Florida. Not much help at all. Thanks for sharing the link anyways.
 
swivel
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 210
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by .PoNeH View Post
This guide is as useful as a sweater in Florida. Not much help at all. Thanks for sharing the link anyways.
Haha. Yup. That's no "guide." It's a talking fart.
 
Cable
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default Enlightenment

Quote:
Originally Posted by .PoNeH View Post
So, are there any working emulators out there for the Dash? I have been lurking on qusers.com and saw that a lot of people have been getting NES, SNES, and GB emulators to work well with their Q but I haven't been able to get it working on the Dash. Any ideas?

http://www.qusers.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=13
Here are the answers to most of the questions that are asked on this forum:

http://surrealnetworks.com/mpx/DashApps.htm

I use the Pocket NESter Plus all the time with my Dash.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more