Post Reply

Google Android and Linux for KAISER!!

29th April 2009, 02:31 AM   |  #4981  
dzo's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland
Thanks Meter: 4,671
 
2,233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajclai08

having 3d threw hardware should lower the memory usage when running a 3d app while getting better image quality and performance.

Not to mention the fact that most OpenGL apps won't run at all using the software renderer. I expect there will be plenty of cool OpenGL apps in the future.
29th April 2009, 03:03 AM   |  #4982  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
default txt
sorry i havent been around for awhilw can someone post their default txt for att tilt
29th April 2009, 04:13 AM   |  #4983  
wornbat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 2
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Angry DNS settings in Android
I tried DZO's new version of android today and it works well.

However I still have an issue with Android detecting the DNS server.

How do you setup the DNS settings in Android if you need to set a DNS server Manually for your APN?

I am able to manually fire up Terminal and do a setprop net.dns1 61.88.xx.xx as root and Internet works but every time the connection is broken this has to be done again.

This is very Frustrating. It all worked in March using /"/" in the default.txt then something was changed in initrd and it never has worked again. Using none as user/pass does not work.

When Android is fired up the 3G icon shows but I have to connect with TOGA. Once connected with TOGA it shows the outgoing arrow on the icon but no incoming. setting the property in terminal setprop net.dns1 61.88.xx.xx then gives both arrows and internet works.

Can anyone give me any ideas on how to set the DNS Manually or to script the setprop command?

Wombat
29th April 2009, 06:36 AM   |  #4984  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
problems with new build
1) keyboard lights do not turn on with slid out 2) cannot get togga to connect...(suspecting a default txt problem?)
29th April 2009, 06:37 AM   |  #4985  
Mystrorc's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Google apps crash
Quote:
Originally Posted by tembares

I installed the latest ZIP-file, 25-04-09 1.1, from DZO.
When signed-in with my Google account, I got the following error:
The application Google Apps (process com.google.process.gapps) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.

After this error every Google-account related apps does not work, like Gmail, Agenda and Market.

Any also had this error?

I am also having this problem. This has started happening to me since the 4/22 build. I have been keeping up with the great work the devs have been doing since Feb., but this is the first time this started happening to me.

I started from a clean install, by the way.

Any ideas?
Last edited by Mystrorc; 29th April 2009 at 06:41 AM.
29th April 2009, 07:57 AM   |  #4986  
Senior Member
Flag Deventer
Thanks Meter: 0
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkadar1

1) keyboard lights do not turn on with slid out 2) cannot get togga to connect...(suspecting a default txt problem?)

Togga uses your APN information, so it's not the default.txt. That is only used for the browser and maps. On http://www.androidonhtc.com you can find your APN information (and from it you can derive your default.txt).
Last edited by aggarath; 29th April 2009 at 08:04 AM. Reason: Trying to improve my terrible english
29th April 2009, 08:39 AM   |  #4987  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystrorc

I am also having this problem. This has started happening to me since the 4/22 build. I have been keeping up with the great work the devs have been doing since Feb., but this is the first time this started happening to me.

I started from a clean install, by the way.

Any ideas?

I have this too after the clean install (following the wizard), however after a reboot those apps work well.
29th April 2009, 01:16 PM   |  #4988  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 112
 
802 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzo

Not to mention the fact that most OpenGL apps won't run at all using the software renderer. I expect there will be plenty of cool OpenGL apps in the future.

AH...now that is a benefit!
29th April 2009, 03:41 PM   |  #4989  
Junior Member
Flag Mirepoix
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
I've reinstalled android a few times with the new package that dzo's provided, but still no luck, android boots up fine but whenever i try to start some 3D app it crashes and reboot the phone.

I've tried several settings in the defaults.txt but i don't clearly understand why it doesn't work at all, am i the only one ?
29th April 2009, 04:47 PM   |  #4990  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Striped screen issue and USB internet connect
Thanks to everyone for all the hard work,

I have one issue and one question:

Issue:

Striped screen. It happens frequently when I turn of the screen (by pressing “end call”) and then wake it up by hitting “windows menu key”.

I read somewhere it should hbe solved with newer zimages, but in my experience it is not the case. I have repeatedly updated all files of the Android installation, and the striped screen issue continues to appear (not every time, but frequently).

The stripes that appears have changed colour and shape with different zimages …

Question:

With the work on the USB connection, is it possible to connect to the internet through a USB connect with a PC connected to the internet? If so how (I have not been able to do that)?

I don’t have a data plan at the moment, and android isn’t a lot of fun without internet connection…

Thanks all,

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, htc, kaiser, linux, porting
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes