Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,176 Members 51,675 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

What's the status on a working WM 6.1 rom?

Tip us?
 
takeastand
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default What's the status on a working WM 6.1 rom?

I know you guys get this question daily, but I'm waiting on 6.1 to get ported to the S630 before I upgrade from my S620. Any promising progress or ETA?

Thanks!
 
alawishas
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2008
Question status updates

i think a lot of people would like to know the latest status of the cavalier WM 6.1. It might be a good idea also if some of the developers working on the project coordinated together.

Who is working on Cavalier WM 6.1 and what their status?
 
scott4
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 360
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by alawishas View Post
i think a lot of people would like to know the latest status of the cavalier WM 6.1. It might be a good idea also if some of the developers working on the project coordinated together.

Who is working on Cavalier WM 6.1 and what their status?

I want to cook WM6.1 rom for Cavalier. Anyone can give me help? Thanks
 
AskTheAdmiN
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 129
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brooklyn, New York
I would love to see a 6.1 rom as well. Even the Dash has one now!
 
innovativedishcloth
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2008
Default WM 6.1

Hey, what is the hitch in trying to develop WM 6.1 for the Cavalier? Is anyone working on this? Does anyone need help? I might have some resources to help. I have an unlocked X02ht coming in the mail for me to replace my dying Dash... I just realized I gotta jump back from 6.1 on my Dash to 6.0 on the X02ht. Seems sad. Please let me help, whoever is heading this project.
 
baralong
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Perth
This seems to have stagnated. I've never cooked a ROM but I do have a technical side.

Where do we start?

Do we just approach someone who's done a 6.1 ROM for a different device?

Most of the ROM cooking guides seem to assume a ROM of the right version to start with...

Anyone point me in the right direction?
 
ibeqa
Old
#7  
ibeqa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 349
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Prishtina
Quote:
Originally Posted by baralong View Post
This seems to have stagnated. I've never cooked a ROM but I do have a technical side.

Where do we start?

Do we just approach someone who's done a 6.1 ROM for a different device?

Most of the ROM cooking guides seem to assume a ROM of the right version to start with...

Anyone point me in the right direction?
As there's no official WM6.1 Rom for the moment for Cavalier it is hard to create a cooked WM6.1 ROM as you need to port a working 6.1 ROM from another smartphone (my best guess is Excalibur as it has the same form - more or less) and porting is very hard thing to do.

Cheers
Huawei Ascend G700 dual sim *Rooted* Stock Rom 4.2.1

Acer Iconia Tab A500 *Rooted* Stock ROM 4.0.3

HTC Sensation Z710e *Rooted* Stock ROM 4.0.3


Backup devices

Sony Ericsson x10 mini *Rooted* Stripped Stock ROM

HTC HD WM6.5.3 Orange ROM 0.77 (still working as new )


Retired with honors: Dopod C730, HTC Touch Viva, HTC TyTN, HTC Blue Angel (XDA IIs), HTC Himalaya (XDA II)
 
guyvago
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Modiin

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Now there seems to be 6.1 to s620 Excalibur

Seen elsewhere...

Maybe it will help

Quote:
hey guys this is a link to the new windows mobile 6.1 for the T-Mobile Dash (HTC Excalibur or S620)

file was 44.6 mb so was too big to upload on here but here is the torrent file and it should be pretty quick to download and just follow the on screen instructions..

please follow the onscreen instructions and BACKUP ur data!!
 
iujacobs
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Will the Dash ROM work with the Cavalier?

Will the 6.1 ROM that is posted on this thread work with the Cavalier?
 
baralong
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Perth
Quote:
Originally Posted by iujacobs View Post
Will the 6.1 ROM that is posted on this thread work with the Cavalier?
Sorry no it won't. What needs to happen is for a ROM to be ported over to the Cavalier. There are a couple of walk throughs that I'm planing on looking at. If I make any progress I'll post it here, but don't hold your breath.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes