5,595,428 Members 47,859 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stuck at align screen

Tip us?
 
hatchy
Old
#1  
hatchy's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 83
Join Date: Nov 2007
Unhappy Stuck at align screen

Hello

i've got en elf but it is stuck at the align screen.
i searched the forum for many day's and i found out that the digitizer probably is broken.
So i bought an new one an installed it with this manual

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=407323

great manual by the way

I also installed a new housing

I installed one of the new roms

But it is still stuck on the align screen$
I have a constant loop
first middle cross, then the 4 corners and then back to the middle

i installed a program to override the align screen and then the i can use the phone but when i tap the touch screen it is not the place i tapped that opens because it is not aligned

What can i do because i am all out of answers

ps there is no warrenty anymore

Greetz Hatchy
HTC Polaris + Sandisk 2GB microSD
Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional
OS: 5.2.20721 Build 20721.1.4.0
Radio: 1.58.21.23
ROM: udK Diamond R8 WWE
SPL: 2.20 by Olipro


backup
artemis
Rom:ARTEMIS TOUCH 4.02 Red and Black Glossy Edition Skin
 
farukb
Old
#2  
farukb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 1,073
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sarajevo
it could be the touchscreen

LCD and touchscreen are not the same

some models heve them separated,some not
as i could see elf has

touchscreen pic1

LCD pic2

so try replacing the touchscreen they are few dollars on ebay
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02064.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	102535   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02049-1.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	102536  
Make your life much easier by going here and changing "Number of Posts to Show Per Page" to 50!
 
kareeem
Old
#3  
kareeem's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 4,021
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California

 
DONATE TO ME
Or if you want, you can have somebody cook a ROM for you that bypasses the screen alignment part.
If I have helped you in any way, shape or form, please consider donating to the Syrian American Council (SAC) to help aid the helpless refugees.
 
farukb
Old
#4  
farukb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 1,073
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sarajevo
Quote:
Originally Posted by kareem9nba View Post
Or if you want, you can have somebody cook a ROM for you that bypasses the screen alignment part.
i doubt it's the software,because he said he tried some roms
and bypassing screen align can make phone unuseable,so....
Make your life much easier by going here and changing "Number of Posts to Show Per Page" to 50!
 
kareeem
Old
#5  
kareeem's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 4,021
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by farukb View Post
i doubt it's the software,because he said he tried some roms
and bypassing screen align can make phone unuseable,so....
Yea, but even though, he can still use the phone without the touch screen before he gets it replaced.
If I have helped you in any way, shape or form, please consider donating to the Syrian American Council (SAC) to help aid the helpless refugees.
 
farukb
Old
#6  
farukb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 1,073
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sarajevo
Quote:
Originally Posted by kareem9nba View Post
Yea, but even though, he can still use the phone without the touch screen before he gets it replaced.
well if it was artemis...he could (arte has a mouse pointer)
but elf lacks the buttons,so using it without touch will be tricky
Make your life much easier by going here and changing "Number of Posts to Show Per Page" to 50!
 
hatchy
Old
#7  
hatchy's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 83
Join Date: Nov 2007
Hello

i replaced the touch screen because the old one had the same problems

but the new has the same problem
HTC Polaris + Sandisk 2GB microSD
Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional
OS: 5.2.20721 Build 20721.1.4.0
Radio: 1.58.21.23
ROM: udK Diamond R8 WWE
SPL: 2.20 by Olipro


backup
artemis
Rom:ARTEMIS TOUCH 4.02 Red and Black Glossy Edition Skin
 
asbestos
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 151
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchy View Post
Hello

i've got en elf but it is stuck at the align screen.
i searched the forum for many day's and i found out that the digitizer probably is broken.
So i bought an new one an installed it with this manual

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=407323

great manual by the way

I also installed a new housing

I installed one of the new roms

But it is still stuck on the align screen$
I have a constant loop
first middle cross, then the 4 corners and then back to the middle

i installed a program to override the align screen and then the i can use the phone but when i tap the touch screen it is not the place i tapped that opens because it is not aligned

What can i do because i am all out of answers

ps there is no warrenty anymore

Greetz Hatchy
When your PPC is at the alignment part of the start up process simply plug it into your computer and let activesync run. You do not need to set up a partnership at this time to do this.

Explore your PPC and go to the windows folder and then to the startup folder and delete the welcome file in there.

Soft reset your PPC and you are good to go!

I had an IPAQ for years that had a bad spot in the middle of the screen and this is the only way I have found to bypass the alignment.
 
gjain13
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bombay
I am stuck on the align screen in a loop as well. What program did you write to skip the screen. I am not able to use the phone because of that. I am really terribly stuck. Please help. Thanks.
 
DaveTheTytnIIGuy
Old
#10  
DaveTheTytnIIGuy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,064
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sacramento, California
I hear placing a blank text file named "welcome" with the extension ".not" on the root of your SD card after hard resetting will bypass the Windows Mobile setup. And until you get your screen repaired (if ever) and if you have a working DPAD, then you can download a free, configurable mouse cursor here. Just go the the third post and click on the attachment I posted.

Dave
Bell Canada Desire Z (rooted!)
Gridlock's Unofficial CM7 Nightlies
CWM v3.0.0.0


My Mobile Devices:
Palm IIIc>Palm LifeDrive>HTC Kaiser>NEC MobilePro 900C>iPhone 2G>HTC Rhodium (AKA the worst phone ever)>HTC Desire Z

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more