MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

My 1st ROM-Need help

31st July 2008, 08:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
My goal is to remove all unused applications from the ROM. I use surface kitchen (couldnt find anything else). I put Rom files into the Base ROM folder in the kitchen and used option 1. All finished ok. However when i start !COOK.cmd I cant see any packages (i can see them in the OEM folder) to select. In the readme file I found this:

3. Open !COOK.cmd and Buildos will open.

-Check/Uncheck the packages you want to add in the rom(if there are no things to check, add the option.xml file to each of the oem packs)
However I couldnt find any option.xml file. I checjked Wicki but there is only Kiser kitchen. I would love to use it for Diamond but I'm not sure if I can. So I'm stuck for now. If anyone could help me it will be great.
31st July 2008, 12:35 PM   |  #2  
adwinp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag urandom
Thanks Meter: 137
 
1,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Here's my kitchen, you may find it easier to use.

http://www.mediafire.com/?rx2twayzkn1
31st July 2008, 12:51 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Just tried it. It works ok. Just a quick question. How do I remove unwanted packages. Should I just remove them from the casserole folder?
31st July 2008, 01:42 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 21
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
lolek74,

What do you mean by "My goal is to remove all unused applications from the ROM". Is that unused by yourself or do you mean to create a stripped down ROM removing as many apps as possible.

The later is what a few of us have been looking for and it would be great if you could create a ROM like that.
31st July 2008, 02:18 PM   |  #5  
adwinp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag urandom
Thanks Meter: 137
 
1,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
lolek: r u Polish?
^.^

Anyways, after the "concat" part, you will have an OEM folder and a SYS folder in casserole.

Each package (nearly) is prefixed with package_diamond_xxx
Some of them have accompanying language/mui folders

You can delete any pair you don't like.


Be careful while removing SYS packages though, or OEM_prefixed packages.
31st July 2008, 02:30 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
I'm not but my friend's wife is Polish and theirs children always watch bolek i lolek movie. Hence my nickname. I'll give a shot and report back tomorrow. Thank you.
31st July 2008, 02:55 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
i have a problem with extracting core files, file not found on the end
xip_e must be in casserole. but i can`t find it
31st July 2008, 03:01 PM   |  #8  
adwinp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag urandom
Thanks Meter: 137
 
1,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
This usually happens if you're trying to extract a "protected" ROM like bepe's, DP, Swift or Dutty's.
31st July 2008, 03:16 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
ok, i try another rom thank you

i tryed several roms but have the same problem also from htc NLD

how can i get the right rom
Last edited by skippydvd; 31st July 2008 at 03:19 PM.
1st August 2008, 03:31 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
I have managed to remove some application. However After 1st boot I get message that Opera cant be find. Also how do I:
remove empty folder (games)
Update to Framework 3.5
update to latest OS.
Help highly apreciated.
I will make short tutorial for anyone who wants to try make their own rom.
Last edited by lolek74; 1st August 2008 at 03:35 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes