Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

BackLight brightness adjust command line utility for Kaiser aka TYTN II

OP lobsterii

15th August 2008, 07:44 AM   |  #21  
Junior Member
London
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2005
Smile Thanks - can confirm also works on my TouchDual
Like many others I have been looking for something like this for ages as is impossible to see screen to adjust brightness when already outside.

I can confirm works perfectly on my TouchDual where I have used the Buttons setting to assign to my VolUp button when held.

Many thanks, lobsterii
15th August 2008, 11:15 AM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
sweet, gonna try this. will hopefully work superb with my ultimatelaunch setup.
tvos
21st August 2008, 09:28 PM   |  #23  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
someone help me here....

is this correct for creating a command line for backlight?

\Program files\bl\bl02.exe 1 3 9

created a short-cut in the start-menu, then created a folder called bl where the .exe is stored.

all i want is that that backlight to remain on forever until I turn it off.

please assist and thank you,

tvos
21st August 2008, 09:40 PM   |  #24  
holmanm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvos

someone help me here....

is this correct for creating a command line for backlight?

\Program files\bl\bl02.exe 1 3 9

created a short-cut in the start-menu, then created a folder called bl where the .exe is stored.

all i want is that that backlight to remain on forever until I turn it off.

please assist and thank you,

tvos

What you have is correct, but not to do what you want.

\Program files\bl\bl02.exe 1 3 9

will make the screen go full dim "1" on the first run of the shortcut. Then a little brighter "3" on the next run of the shortcut. Then Full brightness "9" on the next run. And the back to full dim "1" on the next run. And so on.

This is the same as going into "Settings", "Backlight", "Brightness" and sliding the sliders.

You want to go under "Settings", "Backlight", "Battery Power" and/or "External Power" and uncheck the "turn off backlight box". This program wont do this.
tvos
21st August 2008, 09:54 PM   |  #25  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
thanx for the info.

the biggest problem i have noticed is that the dim light, no matter what comes on after ten seconds. now, i did play with the registry for a bit and almost came up with a solution.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ControlPanel\Backlight\Locklevel
Set LockLevel = from 0 to 1
Then do a soft reset

also,

\HKCU\ControlPanel\Backlight\LockLevel
ACTimeout and BatteryTimeout.
change both keys to 3600

this actually does work after reboot.. as long i don't run any apps. after that, ten second dim light triggers.

i am using Rotohammer's rom and it's awesome. I was using Akadonna's but it was unstable, although didn't have problems with the backlight..

any ideas?

tvos
22nd August 2008, 09:51 PM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Thank you so much, exactly what I needed since my first windows mobile phone some years ago I have had a problem with seeing the screens in direct sunlight. I assigned this to my voice recorder button which I dont use, shame I cant use the button when the phone is locked though to see the unlock screen :(

... Thank you again anyway
24th August 2008, 01:38 AM   |  #27  
Biges's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Praha
Thanks Meter: 0
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Now my "Start Menu" key has a much better use! 0 2 4 6 9
Thanks a lot!
24th August 2008, 09:48 PM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvos

thanx for the info.

the biggest problem i have noticed is that the dim light, no matter what comes on after ten seconds. now, i did play with the registry for a bit and almost came up with a solution.

I think you can turn that off (or change the time) in the *Power* settings of your device. The screen goes dim to save power.
25th August 2008, 04:42 AM   |  #29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Is there a way to change the shortcut icon for this?
I use homescreen plus plus with the taskbar at the bottom activated. This utility is perfect as I've added the shortcut for bl02.exe 2 8 to the taskbar at the bottom of the screen. The only problem is that it's an eyesore as the icon isn't customized....just a white block that's the generic shortcut icon. Is there a way to make it look like a tiny lightbulb? Oh, I should add that I'm using the htc-herald (wing). It seems to work but not perfectly... It only works when I use just 2 arguments.. ie: bl02.exe 2 8 .... But if I use more than that it ignores the others and always just will either go from lowest brightness to highest brightness... doesn't even matter what arguments I use.. 5 7 or anything close in increment makes no difference.... So i just figured, oh well, it works nicely even if just dimmest to brightest it's basically what I want out of it. Is this a known bug or since this was created for the kaiser nobody has tried using it on the wing?
25th August 2008, 07:47 AM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mike

The only problem is that it's an eyesore as the icon isn't customized....just a white block that's the generic shortcut icon. Is there a way to make it look like a tiny lightbulb?

As far as I know there are two ways you can add a custom icon:
  1. Add an icon to the executable file. If you have an .ico file ready you can use a software such as Resource Hacker to add the icon as a resource in the executable file.
  2. Add an icon to the shortcut (.lnk) file. You can either manually edit the shortcut file or use Shortcut Creator (at least I think so, I haven't tried it myself). You probably have to convert your icon into an icon library (.dll or .icl) first.
I used the first option which worked fine. The downside is that the executable more than tripled in size, but on the other hand the icon's there for every new BackLight shortcut I make.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes