Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more
Post Reply

Power Management Settings - which are safe to turn off?

OP zyborg

31st July 2008, 11:49 AM   |  #1  
zyborg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 17
 
607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Hi all,

I'm using Schap's Advanced Config to tweak my TD. I've now come to the Power Management settings (or 'Power Managment', as Schap calls them...) and I was wondering what these different settings actually apply to, what the individual settings mean, and which are SAFE to turn off with normal use:

- SD Memory
- AsyncMac1
- Irsir1
- PPTP1
- L2TP1

Thx.
31st July 2008, 01:29 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
dunno wat they mean

but i turned off the first 4 and the battery life seems pretty good (together with TLR's ROM 3)
31st July 2008, 01:51 PM   |  #3  
SurfHost's Avatar
Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 1
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
I'm using this cab file i created myself with the following Power Management settings.

HKLM\Comm\AsyncMac1\Parms
HKLM\Comm\PPTP1\Parms
HKLM\Comm\L2TP1\Parms
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\MMC_Class
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\NAND_Class
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\SDMemory_C lass
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\SIM_Class

DisablePowerManagement set to 0 on all options
Attached Files
File Type: cab PowerManagement.cab - [Click for QR Code] (292 Bytes, 1071 views)
31st July 2008, 11:05 PM   |  #4  
zyborg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 17
 
607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Interesting... even through I install your cab, when I enter Schap's Advanced Config after soft resetting the device, all the power management features still appear as "Enabled". Any explanation for this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfHost

I'm using this cab file i created myself with the following Power Management settings.

HKLM\Comm\AsyncMac1\Parms
HKLM\Comm\PPTP1\Parms
HKLM\Comm\L2TP1\Parms
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\MMC_Class
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\NAND_Class
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\SDMemory_C lass
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\SIM_Class

DisablePowerManagement set to 0 on all options

31st July 2008, 11:35 PM   |  #5  
zyborg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 17
 
607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Interesting... even through I install your cab, when I enter Schap's Advanced Config after soft resetting the device, all the power management features still appear as "Enabled". Any explanation for this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfHost

I'm using this cab file i created myself with the following Power Management settings.

HKLM\Comm\AsyncMac1\Parms
HKLM\Comm\PPTP1\Parms
HKLM\Comm\L2TP1\Parms
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\MMC_Class
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\NAND_Class
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\SDMemory_C lass
HKLM\Drivers\SDCARD\ClientDrivers\Class\SIM_Class

DisablePowerManagement set to 0 on all options

1st August 2008, 08:16 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2004
okay i must admit this thread confused the heck out of me.
i thought it's advisable to turn on power management for all of the above mentioned items.

when i first checked on a stock rom, these were all disabled, so i enabled them.

are you saying now that they should be disabled for improved battery life?
1st August 2008, 10:56 AM   |  #7  
zyborg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 17
 
607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
In Schap's Advanced Config under Power Management it says that disabling these settings will improve battery life.... but I don't know which settings are SAFE to turn of with normal use. That's why I started this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiProxy

okay i must admit this thread confused the heck out of me.
i thought it's advisable to turn on power management for all of the above mentioned items.

when i first checked on a stock rom, these were all disabled, so i enabled them.

are you saying now that they should be disabled for improved battery life?

1st August 2008, 12:56 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Karlsruhe
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
No, it says enabling those settings will improve battery life.
"Enable or disable power managment for xyz. Power managment reduces power consumption when xyz is not used."

So I enabled all those settings, but I don't know if that changed anything at all.

ReLeXX
Quote:
Originally Posted by zyborg

In Schap's Advanced Config under Power Management it says that disabling these settings will improve battery life.... but I don't know which settings are SAFE to turn of with normal use. That's why I started this thread.

1st August 2008, 04:19 PM   |  #9  
SurfHost's Avatar
Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 1
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
The registry setting is: DisablePowerManagement
so if you want to enable power management (i guess you will, to extend battery life) you should set it to 0

I have no idea whether schaps advanced config sets this to 0 or 1 as i'm not using it.
Last edited by SurfHost; 1st August 2008 at 04:22 PM.
1st August 2008, 04:35 PM   |  #10  
zyborg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 17
 
607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Okay, I'll try that. Any reason why you haven't disabled "Irsir1"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfHost

The registry setting is: DisablePowerManagement
so if you want to enable power management (i guess you will, to extend battery life) you should set it to 0

I have no idea whether schaps advanced config sets this to 0 or 1 as i'm not using it.


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes