Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,777 Members 41,601 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP][UPDATED Oct 9 2008] XChange R8 currency convertor

Tip us?

pedmond
Old
(Last edited by pedmond; 9th October 2008 at 05:03 PM.)
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 76
Default [APP][UPDATED Oct 9 2008] XChange R8 currency convertor

Hi guys,

I must admit that I didnít write software for a few years, and this is my first attempt after a long break Ė so please be gentleÖ

Xchange R8 is a simple currency convertor. You can choose 3 currencies to be displayed and for the time being you have two WebServices available: Bank of Romania (for my Romanian friends) and Bank of England (for my other friends). Bank of England currency are accessed via the Export Technologies WebService.

You need of course an Internet connection.

For Bank of Romania you can choose to see the currencies as they were at a certain date. Before you ask, chosing a date in the future will alas not work. The Export Technologies service does not have this function though, and when working with the Bank of England this choice will be unavailable.

The program remembers the last downloaded values for each service.

Please note that the Export Technologies service (for Bank of England) is slow Ė an update can take up to a minute. Thereís nothing I can do about that.

I wrote this program initially for myself, as I often needed to know the currency rates and this is much faster than navigating from the browser. Then I saw somebody on this forum asking about such a program. While Iím sure better solutions can be found, I had a lot of fun writing this. Besides, itís free!

Iím totally willing to add other WebServices to the list if you can provide me with their address.

Please note that I can only work on this during weekends: I have a company to run and it takes almost all my time.

Another note: .NET 3.5 framework is required.

UPDATE: v 1.1: