Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,401 Members 38,433 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP BOT] TTN7Bot & GPSBot: Possible solution to TomTom 7 and other GPS programs lag

Tip us?
 
beemerTPPC
Old
(Last edited by beemerTPPC; 14th September 2009 at 10:38 AM.) Reason: New version added
#1  
beemerTPPC's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 330
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid
Default [APP BOT] TTN7Bot & GPSBot: Possible solution to TomTom 7 and other GPS programs lag

I've written a small application that seems to solve the problem with TomTom navigator 7 that shows a position of several meters back from the real one.

Simply copy the file to the folder where TomTom_Navigator.exe (or TomTom Navigator.exe) is and launch this application instead the real TomTom.

The idea behind this file is that the lag is caused due to the full CPU usage of TomTom navigator that leaves few or even none CPU time to the GPS drivers. This bot launches TomTom and then reduces the TomTom process priority. The bot itself unloads from memory when TomTom exits.

I have tested it and seems that works Ok, but I want your opinions before making a good icon for it (icon designers wellcomed )

EDITED:
In order to make the program more general, I've created GPSBot that works in the same way but have a GPSBot.txt file with the name of the program to be launched between colons. As an example the zip contains a file with "TomTom_Navigator.exe". This version also needs to be copied to the same folder than the executable in order to allow to have several copies for different programs.

Download it from my page: http://beemer.sesma.eu/en/gpsbot.htm
Miguel Sesma (beemer)
 
egg
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 56
Join Date: Aug 2006
Hi,

as I've seen the issue with TT7 and iGO8, i've now installed TT6 - but have not tested it yet.

Will this work with TT6? How is it operating?

Thanks!
 
beemerTPPC
Old
#3  
beemerTPPC's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 330
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid
Quote:
Originally Posted by egg View Post
Hi,

as I've seen the issue with TT7 and iGO8, i've now installed TT6 - but have not tested it yet.

Will this work with TT6? How is it operating?

Thanks!
Yes will work with any program file called "TomTom Navigator.exe" or "TomTom_Navigator.exe".
You can even rename (or make a copy) igo.exe for testing on it
Miguel Sesma (beemer)
 
darkbyte
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jun 2004
Will be posible to do the opposite and increase the cpu priority for the GPS drivers ???
I think that this will help ANY application that uses the GPS.
Only my 2 cents...
 
MiToNiOeS
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 239
Join Date: Jul 2008
thanks,

i think that you can put a config file for to specify the exe file and we could use it for all programs
 
Jin187
Old
#6  
Jin187's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 96
Join Date: Feb 2007
Tomtom 7 has Zero lag for me, its IGO8 that has the problem, Is it possible to create this file for IGO8 too?
 
private69
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 335
Join Date: Aug 2006
Hello,

I will test this afternoon and i will write feeback after.

Thanks for your job.

@+++
HTC_TyTNII_FRA_1.56.406.5_22.45.88.07_1.27.12.17_S
And
TRINITY Muns ROM.
 
tabugman
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jin187 View Post
Tomtom 7 has Zero lag for me, its IGO8 that has the problem, Is it possible to create this file for IGO8 too?
Try renaming the Igo.exe to TomTom_Navigator.exe and test the bot as he suggests. Might work... I'll try this later on
 
beemerTPPC
Old
#9  
beemerTPPC's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 330
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid
If the idea works for most people, I can create a full configurable program, no problem.

It is not possible to do the opossite because the "drivers" are a lot of different code (GPS driver itself, GPS ID, virtual ports, etc.) and have the highest user priority. I tried some time ago with a simmilar issue with TTN5 to upgrade the priority of the virtual ports, etc. to system priorities and it didn't work.
Miguel Sesma (beemer)
 
tabugman
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2008
Tried renamong Igo.exe to TomTom_Navigator.exe and start the bot (placed in my IGO folder obviously). At first I get a debug window showing the path to my TomTom_Navigator.exe (really my Igo.exe) which I have to press OK on.

After this Igo launches and seems to work fine. I haven't been able to test whether the bot helps with the lag, but I'll try on my way home from work.

Provided it works on IGO aswell, it would be really great if we could get a version in which you can edit a config-file to point at the .exe of whatever gps app you happen to use.

Tags
gps, lag, tomtom
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more