Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP BOT] TTN7Bot & GPSBot: Possible solution to TomTom 7 and other GPS programs lag

OP beemerTPPC

25th August 2008, 02:08 PM   |  #1  
beemerTPPC's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 8
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
I've written a small application that seems to solve the problem with TomTom navigator 7 that shows a position of several meters back from the real one.

Simply copy the file to the folder where TomTom_Navigator.exe (or TomTom Navigator.exe) is and launch this application instead the real TomTom.

The idea behind this file is that the lag is caused due to the full CPU usage of TomTom navigator that leaves few or even none CPU time to the GPS drivers. This bot launches TomTom and then reduces the TomTom process priority. The bot itself unloads from memory when TomTom exits.

I have tested it and seems that works Ok, but I want your opinions before making a good icon for it (icon designers wellcomed )

EDITED:
In order to make the program more general, I've created GPSBot that works in the same way but have a GPSBot.txt file with the name of the program to be launched between colons. As an example the zip contains a file with "TomTom_Navigator.exe". This version also needs to be copied to the same folder than the executable in order to allow to have several copies for different programs.

Download it from my page: http://beemer.sesma.eu/en/gpsbot.htm
Last edited by beemerTPPC; 14th September 2009 at 11:38 AM. Reason: New version added
25th August 2008, 02:25 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Hi,

as I've seen the issue with TT7 and iGO8, i've now installed TT6 - but have not tested it yet.

Will this work with TT6? How is it operating?

Thanks!
25th August 2008, 02:28 PM   |  #3  
beemerTPPC's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 8
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by egg

Hi,

as I've seen the issue with TT7 and iGO8, i've now installed TT6 - but have not tested it yet.

Will this work with TT6? How is it operating?

Thanks!

Yes will work with any program file called "TomTom Navigator.exe" or "TomTom_Navigator.exe".
You can even rename (or make a copy) igo.exe for testing on it
25th August 2008, 03:12 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2004
Will be posible to do the opposite and increase the cpu priority for the GPS drivers ???
I think that this will help ANY application that uses the GPS.
Only my 2 cents...
25th August 2008, 03:12 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
thanks,

i think that you can put a config file for to specify the exe file and we could use it for all programs
25th August 2008, 03:26 PM   |  #6  
Jin187's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Tomtom 7 has Zero lag for me, its IGO8 that has the problem, Is it possible to create this file for IGO8 too?
25th August 2008, 03:36 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Hello,

I will test this afternoon and i will write feeback after.

Thanks for your job.

@+++
25th August 2008, 03:44 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jin187

Tomtom 7 has Zero lag for me, its IGO8 that has the problem, Is it possible to create this file for IGO8 too?

Try renaming the Igo.exe to TomTom_Navigator.exe and test the bot as he suggests. Might work... I'll try this later on
25th August 2008, 04:03 PM   |  #9  
beemerTPPC's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 8
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
If the idea works for most people, I can create a full configurable program, no problem.

It is not possible to do the opossite because the "drivers" are a lot of different code (GPS driver itself, GPS ID, virtual ports, etc.) and have the highest user priority. I tried some time ago with a simmilar issue with TTN5 to upgrade the priority of the virtual ports, etc. to system priorities and it didn't work.
25th August 2008, 04:06 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Tried renamong Igo.exe to TomTom_Navigator.exe and start the bot (placed in my IGO folder obviously). At first I get a debug window showing the path to my TomTom_Navigator.exe (really my Igo.exe) which I have to press OK on.

After this Igo launches and seems to work fine. I haven't been able to test whether the bot helps with the lag, but I'll try on my way home from work.

Provided it works on IGO aswell, it would be really great if we could get a version in which you can edit a config-file to point at the .exe of whatever gps app you happen to use.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps, lag, tomtom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes