Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

USB disk drive causes XP explorer hang

OP Davey101

30th August 2008, 02:50 PM   |  #1  
Davey101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 1
 
435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Sorry if this has been covered - I searched and googled with no success.

When I try to connect my Diamond as a USB disk drive it causes windows explorer to hang (Win XP SP2) and it only unfreezes when the USB is unplugged.

This happened with 2 different diamonds (I sent the first one back because of another problem) with both the stock Orange UK ROM and Dutty's 1.8 ROM. It seems to work fine on some other PCs. I would say it was a PC issue but it's not an isolated case - I've seen it happen with a friend's Diamond too, on his work laptop.

Edit: I should mention, it sometimes unfreezes and starts working if left connected for several minutes!

Anyone have any experience of this?

Thanks,
Dave
30th August 2008, 03:15 PM   |  #2  
ofdrive's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Roma
Thanks Meter: 1
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
My XP SP2 does NOT have this problem...
30th August 2008, 04:17 PM   |  #3  
halloj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofdrive

My XP SP2 does NOT have this problem...

Neither does mine.
30th August 2008, 07:13 PM   |  #4  
Davey101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 1
 
435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Thanks for the responses guys. I didn't think it was an issue that would affect all computers, however I have personally witnessed it with 3 different Diamonds and 2 different PCs so I'm guessing somebody else must know about it.

I don't want to reinstall XP with no idea whether it will help so I guess my next step is to see if any other USB devices could be affecting it.
30th August 2008, 07:58 PM   |  #5  
Davey101's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 1
 
435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
I think I've resolved it

I had to unplug my WD external HDD. This is a slight pain because it contains all of the media that I want to copy on to the Diamond!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes