Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,526 Members 50,031 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

USB disk drive causes XP explorer hang

Tip us?
 
Davey101
Old
#1  
Davey101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 435
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham
Default USB disk drive causes XP explorer hang

Sorry if this has been covered - I searched and googled with no success.

When I try to connect my Diamond as a USB disk drive it causes windows explorer to hang (Win XP SP2) and it only unfreezes when the USB is unplugged.

This happened with 2 different diamonds (I sent the first one back because of another problem) with both the stock Orange UK ROM and Dutty's 1.8 ROM. It seems to work fine on some other PCs. I would say it was a PC issue but it's not an isolated case - I've seen it happen with a friend's Diamond too, on his work laptop.

Edit: I should mention, it sometimes unfreezes and starts working if left connected for several minutes!

Anyone have any experience of this?

Thanks,
Dave
 
ofdrive
Old
#2  
ofdrive's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 122
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Roma
My XP SP2 does NOT have this problem...
HTC Diamond, ROM 1.93.408.3, Radio ROM 1.05.25.BS14, TT 7

*Una vita senza un Sogno non merita di essere vissuta!
 
halloj
Old
#3  
halloj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 338
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofdrive View Post
My XP SP2 does NOT have this problem...
Neither does mine.
 
Davey101
Old
#4  
Davey101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 435
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham
Thanks for the responses guys. I didn't think it was an issue that would affect all computers, however I have personally witnessed it with 3 different Diamonds and 2 different PCs so I'm guessing somebody else must know about it.

I don't want to reinstall XP with no idea whether it will help so I guess my next step is to see if any other USB devices could be affecting it.
 
Davey101
Old
#5  
Davey101's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 435
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham
I think I've resolved it

I had to unplug my WD external HDD. This is a slight pain because it contains all of the media that I want to copy on to the Diamond!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes