Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,443 Members 49,470 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(SOLVED) Problems with Belkin N Wireless Router

Tip us?
 
Lilburd
Old
#11  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 32
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nanaimo
Customer Call Details Nov 13 2008 04:37
I have an HTC Touch that can connect to other hotspots, but not to my home Belkin router. Sometimes, if there is another connection available, it can see the router, and says that it is Available, but cannot connect; other times it won't even see it. I have checked for firmware updates, but I have the latest. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Belkin Response Nov 14 2008 22:18
Hi Lilburd,

Thank you for contacting Belkin Technical Support.

We understand that the HTC Touch does not connect to the router. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Please follow the steps given below to update the firmware and configure the router:

We recommend that you update the firmware from a computer that is connected to the router with an ethernet cable.

Please download the latest firmware on the router from the link given below. Download the file "3.01.29":

http://www.belkin.com/uk/support/art...d=10288&scid=0

and save it to the computer.

- To update the firmware, log on to the router`s web interface by typing in http://192.168.2.1 in the address bar of the browser. The computer should be
connected to the router with an ethernet cable.
Note: If you have changed your Router’s IP address, use that IP address.
- By default, the password is blank. Click the "Submit" button.
- Click on "Firmware Upgrade" under the option "Utilities".
- Click on “Browse” and select the bin file that you have downloaded.
- Click on “update” and follow the wizard.
- After updating the firmware, restore the router to factory defaults by clicking on "Restore Factory Defaults" under "Utilities".
- Reconfigure the router.

Please follow the steps given below for configuring the router:

- Connect the computer to the "LAN" port on the router and connect the modem to the Internet/"WAN" port, using Ethernet cables.
- Take a paper clip, insert the paper clip in the reset hole of the router and hold it for 15 seconds.
- The power light will flash and then come back "ON" solid, indicating that the router is being restored to factory defaults.
- The corresponding lights on the front of the router should be lit up.
- On the computer, check if you have an IP address in the range of 192.168.2.x.
- If not, specify a static IP address, gateway and "DNS" address by following the steps given in the link-
http://web.belkin.com/support/kb/kb.asp?a=2824
- Log on to the router web interface by typing in http://192.168.2.1, in the address bar of your browser.
- By default, the password is blank.
- Click on "Connection Type" in the left hand column under "Internet WAN" heading.

If the connection type is Dynamic (cable):

- Choose "Dynamic" and then click on "Next".
- Type in your “Host Name”, if your Internet Service Provider has provided it. Else, leave it blank.
- Click on "Change WAN MAC Address".
- Click on the button "Clone".
- Click on "Apply Changes".

If the connection type is PPPOE (DSL):

- Choose "PPPOE" and click on "Next".
- Enter the user name and password given by your Internet Service Provider.
- Save the settings.
- Click on the "Home" link at the top of the screen.

Internet Status should show "Connected" on the top right hand corner of the web page.

If the problem persists, please get back to us with the following information:

1. Type of connection provided by your ISP (Is it PPPOE, Dynamic or static).
2. Name of the Internet service provider (ISP).
3. Version number of the router. You would find the version number on the bottom of the device. It would be a number in a series of thousands with a prefix “ver.”.
4. If the internet connection is stable on the computers using the router?
5. If the HTC Touch detects and connects to other networks in the neighborhood?

Lilburd, if you need further assistance please feel free to write back to us and we will be happy to assist you.

Regards,

Belkin Technical Support.

This was the response I got when I e-mailed Belkin, and it worked like a charm
 
fenix_tx40
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2008
Talking You Solved This Issue

DUDE, Im using the F5D8133 4v3.. thatss the US version..

the latest firmware on the US support page was 3.01.17 if i remember right,
on the BELKIN UK Support page is 3.01.29 and guess what i updated the firmware to the one in UK site .... and....

IT DOES WORK LIKE A CHARM!

FINALLY I HAVE WIFI

bless you and the techsupport guy @ belkin uk
 
jman0
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 193
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fenix_tx40 View Post
DUDE, Im using the F5D8133 4v3.. thatss the US version..

the latest firmware on the US support page was 3.01.17 if i remember right,
on the BELKIN UK Support page is 3.01.29 and guess what i updated the firmware to the one in UK site .... and....

IT DOES WORK LIKE A CHARM!

FINALLY I HAVE WIFI

bless you and the techsupport guy @ belkin uk
The same happened to me. I also have a Belkin pre-n router and my HTC Tytn wouldn't get wifi, no matter how or what I tried. I read your comment yesterday and, although the no-so-great new firmware check utility on the web interface said there was no new firmware available, I checked the USA and UK sites, since the Spanish site doesn't even show this router anymore. I downloaded 3.01.29 from the USA site and now my HTC Tytn is getting wifi at last. Thanks a lot, you saved my day.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes