FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Manual Rotation???

96 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By MightyMike, Member on 3rd September 2008, 03:14 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey Guys,

so while playing around with the diamond config utility, i've noticed theres a registry option to enable "manual screen rotation'

Now, since the gsen app currently doesn't work with the Telus ROM, i would imagine that this registry key would allow you to switch the screen manually.

Is there any button i have to press to manually rotate the screen?

If i am completely mistaken about this option, is there another solution besides the gsen app?

I don't mind pressing a hotkey button to manual rotate for the time being until gsen fixes the app to work with telus as well.

Any ideas? Thanks a million!!!!
 
 
3rd September 2008, 03:16 AM |#2  
seal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Canberra Australia
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I have noticed this tweak about as well and have never understood what exactly does it mean. .......
3rd September 2008, 03:20 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
yeh exactly...

i can understand gsen would allow you to rotate automaticaly, but until they fix it, i wouldn't mind doing it manually for temporary purposes.

i would really love to text in landscape mode!

There has to be a way to assign a key to rotate the screen.
3rd September 2008, 05:41 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Workaround - Quick Menu!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymike84

yeh exactly...

i can understand gsen would allow you to rotate automaticaly, but until they fix it, i wouldn't mind doing it manually for temporary purposes.

i would really love to text in landscape mode!

There has to be a way to assign a key to rotate the screen.

Install an application called "Quick Menu" -- it's a Start Menu replacement that I've used for a while. Referenced in this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=340358

You can do four things with H-V toggle:

1. Find it in the Quick Menu menu
2. Set Quick Menu so that holding the Windows icon for a second or two will do an H-V switch (great for apps that aren't fullscreen - i.e. blocking the start menu)
3. Create a shortcut to the H-V switch within Quick Menu, and assign that to the press-and-hold button. Great for fullscreen apps like TomTom!
4. If you use Voice Command software (ex. Microsoft's), you can launch the H-V shortcut that way. For example, "Open Rotate" launches the H-V icon which I've renamed "Rotate".

All these make more sense once you get to know Quick Menu.
3rd September 2008, 07:29 AM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
great.. thanks for the recommendation but now my phone is messed

first off, it wouldn't stay landscape, it would just resort back to portrait, and now when i closed the program, and rebooted, i don't have my task bar in the top right nemore. it disappeared and i cannot get it back

now what?? hard reset?
3rd September 2008, 07:31 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymike84

great.. thanks for the recommendation but now my phone is messed

first off, it wouldn't stay landscape, it would just resort back to portrait, and now when i closed the program, and rebooted, i don't have my task bar in the top right nemore. it disappeared and i cannot get it back

now what?? hard reset?

nevermind, quick fix ... phew!!!! it was in the task manager settings to turn it back on... oh man that was close!!!!
3rd September 2008, 07:47 AM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
ok this is cool... i got the manual rotation working by holding the windows key.... this is amazing Thank you sooo much!!!

although one qwerk... I find that i cannot use the menu at all. I've pretty much set it to quick turn to landscape... i click slightly to the right to use my regular start menu. reason being is because if i use it, it removes my task mgr in the top right of my screen and then i have to go and enable it manually within my settings.

So im pretty much just using it for holding the windows logo to change my orientation. other than that it's great!!!!

thanks a million man i appreciate it!
3rd September 2008, 08:31 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Alternatively if you do not want to use additional software like QuickMenu. this method works well...

1) Change your registry to enable screen rotation:
HKLM - System - GDI - Rotation - HideOrientationUI (Change from 1 to 0)

2) Then, simply map your phone button long press to the rotation tweak:
Settings -> Buttons -> Map with <Rotate Screen>

3) When you would like to rotate your screen, just hold your Phone button.
3rd September 2008, 08:56 AM |#9  
skilty's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ash-Vegas
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by logger

Alternatively if you do not want to use additional software like QuickMenu. this method works well...

1) Change your registry to enable screen rotation:
HKLM - System - GDI - Rotation - HideOrientationUI (Change from 1 to 0)

2) Then, simply map your phone button long press to the rotation tweak:
Settings -> Buttons -> Map with <Rotate Screen>

3) When you would like to rotate your screen, just hold your Phone button.

I've done a similar thing but without changing the registry. If you look under screen in advanced config there's the option to have landscape. If you then go into start - settings - system - screen the option to have portrait or landscape is there. you can then go start - personal - buttons and map your screen rotation to whatever key you want.
3rd September 2008, 09:01 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Here is a cab to enable the rotation if you are not familiar with the registry.
Attached Files
File Type: zip enableRotate.zip - [Click for QR Code] (718 Bytes, 152 views)
3rd September 2008, 09:11 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skilty

I've done a similar thing but without changing the registry. If you look under screen in advanced config there's the option to have landscape......

Your changing the registry with advanced config aren't you? Either way works no doubt. More than one way to skin a cat.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes