ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] Diamond BackgroundChanger

OP kevinv2u

18th September 2008, 11:59 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
I've written a small program that allows you to automatically change the background of your home screen. It works with TF3D only.

Why?
Because it's fun to see a different WallPaper every time you turn on your device.

What?
Diamond BackgroundChanger has the following features:
  • Ability to specify WallPaper Folder
    I suggest you grab yourself a copy of this wonderful WallPaper Pack:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=420906

  • Ability to indicate whether to change the WallPaper automatically or not

  • Ability to choose the interval for changing the WallPaper
    30 seconds, 1 minute, 5 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hour, 4 hours, etc.

  • Ability to add the program to your startup folder

  • The program saves and restores your settings when restarted.
How?
Just download the attached CAB file and place it on your device.

On your device, tap the CAB file to install the program.
Note: Click YES if you get any warnings.

What Else...
You must click the "Apply" button to start the program.
You don't have to do this if you add the program to your startup folder ("Menu - Add to Startup").

You need .NET Compact Framework 2.0 to run the program.

Please, let me know what you think of it.

Version History
v0.5
-Bug Fixes (null reference, directory that doesn't exist)
-GIF/PNG files can now be indexed too
-Ability to change WallPaper manually

v0.4
-Indicator that shows when the background will be changed
-Fixes to ChangeWallPaper function (might solve null reference errors)

v0.3
-Fixed bug: 4 hours was actually 4 minutes
-Added feature: Add to Startup
-Added some extra intervals

v0.2
-Does not require the application to be running in the background

v0.1
-First Version
Attached Files
File Type: cab Diamond BackgroundChanger Installer v0.5.cab - [Click for QR Code] (170.5 KB, 15086 views)
Last edited by kevinv2u; 23rd September 2008 at 02:36 PM.
18th September 2008, 12:41 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
hehe,

I was waiting for this app

one small thing:
After changing the Wallpaper directory (and restart)
Wallpaper directory stays on \intern geheugen\....

many thanks
18th September 2008, 01:27 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by timoline

hehe,

I was waiting for this app

one small thing:
After changing the Wallpaper directory (and restart)
Wallpaper directory stays on \intern geheugen\....

many thanks

Oops, the close event was not handled properly. Has been fixed!
You can download the fixed version from the first post. Enjoy!
18th September 2008, 02:52 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
thanks a lot!!!! Nice app!!
18th September 2008, 03:00 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag somewhere in south germany
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Thumbs up
@kevinv2u

Hello!

Nice app and very nice idea from you!
Thank you very much for sharing with us and your work!
Downloaded and installed on my diamond!

But i think there is also still a little bug when the device goes to sleep mode and you wake it up with the power on button my Diamond most times do not respond to the touch screen!?? Like the touchs screen is locked?
After about 20-30 sec the touch screen then worked normaly...
I have the problem only when your program is running in the background... when not the touch screen works perfect when i wake up the device...

Maybe for your next version some comments and wishes from me :

- is it possible that the application starts automaticly when windows starts
- it would be better when it runs as an own process then as an programm in
background mode... because i think then it works also to change
backgrounds when the phone is in sleep mode?

Regards
18th September 2008, 06:37 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
I've already modified the program so that you no longer have to run it in the background. In the new version it will also work when your device is in sleep mode.

I've updated the attachment in the first post. Please, let me know what you think. I haven't had the chance to test it thoroughly yet.
Last edited by kevinv2u; 18th September 2008 at 07:22 PM.
18th September 2008, 08:57 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag somewhere in south germany
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Thumbs up
Wow very fast! Thank you!

Ive installed your new version! Looks very good!
Now it works fine on my diamond, even the bug, i experinced after wake up the device from slleep mode, with your first version is gone!! No problems till now!
Real lovely app!

One little thing, can you ad longer times for changing the wallpaper to your next version?
Maybe 7h, 12h and 24h??

Thanks
18th September 2008, 11:41 PM   |  #8  
whiskeybro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ede
Thanks Meter: 383
 
1,541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
More
Thumbs up
THANKS great app.

Now i can put some photo's from my kids in it as a photo album
Maybe for the next version you could put an extra responce time in it like in the samsung phones, 20 and 30 seconds
That would make this great app a real screensaver.

from now.. your app is running on my diamond
19th September 2008, 09:48 AM   |  #9  
johnboywilson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 11
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
It doesnt work on mine what am i doing wrong?
I got all the required programs installed and the path to my photos is correct but it never changes?
19th September 2008, 10:16 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
I've changed the program a bit. Yes, again!
Tweaked and optimized it a bit, and added a feature to add it to startup.

@johnboywilson
Please, uninstall your current version. Then install the latest version.
Also, it only works on the Diamond (TF3D). Make sure that the path you've entered is correct. E.g. "\Storage Card\Content\WallPaper". Do you get any errors?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes