Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,462 Members 42,424 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Samsung Omnia i900 running iGO8 using Royaltek GPS TMC

Tip us?
 
Afsar.Imam@Gmail.com
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2008
Default Samsung Omnia i900 running iGO8 using Royaltek GPS TMC

Hi Guys,

I am facing strange problem on newly bought Samsung Omnia i900 phone while running iGO8. When I use it with internal GPS it works well but when I try to change that to use external one it just quits! Strange, isn't it?

I want to use external GPS (which is Royaltek) because it give TMC information also on it. When I click on detect TMC it discovers Royaltek and then immediately iGO quits with no warning.

Anyone seen this problem before? Please suggest something, I bought omnia mainly for IGO8 and TMC combination.

iGO Version 8.0.0.41506 Jun 3 2008.
 
raffi76
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default iGO8 and Samsung Omnia internal GPS

Hi,

I have a Samsung Omnia and I bought the iGO 8 today
I understand that the Omnia has an internal GPS that I can use?
I can't get the iGO 8 to detect the internal GPS
Anyone who can help me???

Thanks
 
ilordvader
Old
#3  
ilordvader's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dubai
I have Tilt 6.1
& have TeleNav on mt phone

if i get Omnia, will i have to install TeleNav Cab & use its servie
can i do that ?
Lord Vader
"Knowledge grows when shared"

Samsung Galaxy S5 LTE SM-G900F
Samsung Galaxy-S2 AT&T/Note N-7000/S3 i9300/Note2 GT-N7100/S4 i9505 LTE/GT-S5310B/Note3 SM-N9005 LTE
HTC HD2 Telstra T9193
AT&T-Nokia 6620/Tilt-HTC_TyTN_II/HTC Fuze
Sprint-Sanyo SCP-4500/Sanyo SCP-5500 (VM-4500)
Nokia 9210 Communicator
Ericsson(1997)-GA628/GF 788/T65

SanDisk 64GB Extreme® microSDHC™/microSDXC™ UHS-I Card
 
athosk
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 157
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by raffi76 View Post
Hi,

I have a Samsung Omnia and I bought the iGO 8 today
I understand that the Omnia has an internal GPS that I can use?
I can't get the iGO 8 to detect the internal GPS
Anyone who can help me???

Thanks
Use GPS port 2 from the settings and then in Igo8 settings ALSO choose the same port with baud rate 4800. Then it will detect it.Might take 5 minutes to lock the first satellites but after that it works like a charm
 
Justlookin
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default It's out there

Look at the expansys site under Igo8.

There is a guy on there who uses Royaltek TMC receiver (probably more now) and I think he will help you
 
Justlookin
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by raffi76 View Post
Hi,

I have a Samsung Omnia and I bought the iGO 8 today
I understand that the Omnia has an internal GPS that I can use?
I can't get the iGO 8 to detect the internal GPS
Anyone who can help me???

Thanks
see my posting above
 
GSX600FMAN
Old
(Last edited by GSX600FMAN; 14th March 2009 at 10:38 AM.)
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 65
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default Connecting external GPS/TMC receiver

I have Omnia i900 and a Royaltek GPS/TMC (RTG1001) , also GNS GPS/TMC (GNS5843) . If you want to connect external GPS/TMS device to utilise the TMC information, where it is free, you need first to add or pair it with the Omnia (or other PDA/Smartphone). With mine (as I don't know if others are different) the internal GPS is on Com Port 3. Go to start, settings, External GPS. You will then see that the GPS program port is 3, my hardware tab is set to COM9, the access tab has the manage GPS automatically box ticked. OK.
Now go to Start, Settings, connections. Pick Bluetooth, add your gps device, after turning it on (ensure FM aerial is in, put it by a window ledge or sit outside so that you get some sort of feedback that you are receiving signal). You will be presented with all BT devices in range. Your Royaltek will be seen as BlueGPS******, single tap the device and tap next. Enter passcode as 0000 (GNS is nothing/enter or 0000). On the next screen tap advance and tick the Serial port box, then save. Now, still in the Settings & Bluetooth, go to COM Ports tab, select New Outgoing Port, Select your GPS device you just paired with (BlueGPS****** or GNS for example) then tap next, choose COM2 (if available) and untick secure, then finish.
Now after you start iGO8 (NavNgo8) go to gps settings, go to GPS and untick GPS enabled, then choose Port 2 and Baud rate 57600 (or auto, the faster you can get the better), now tick GPS Enabled. You should see the top of screen display GPS driver is successfully conneted. Good! Now untick GPS Enabled again. Tap back arrow. Select TMC. Select settings, select Protocol Royaltek (or GNS if you have theirs), Port 2 & Baud rate 57600. Tick Start Autodetect. You should, after a short time, see TMC Hardware Detected. Tap okay. Now tick Use Auto-tuner. You will see it scanning like a digital radio tuner (TMC part is now working).
note that if you do not get any coloured scan bar....take out the aerial plug & 'rough it up' a bit to make better connection, even with a little abrasive material.
Now back arrow and tap GPS you will see that it has enabled itself. Back out all the way. If you are in a country that broadcasts free TMC there will be the warning triangle appear (depending on signal and events on-route or all etc). TMC doesn't work in the UK for igo8 but it does for igo8R3 (that is...the the new R3maps)
This seemed to automatically turn on the GPS section too. So the trick is to establish TMC before GPS.
If I'm wrong or made error ....Sorry! Mine working fine in landscape & portrait, with the appropriate editing of the data.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more

Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more

Android One Goes Live in India!

Android One is a Google initiative set to bring an AOSP-like experience tosome emergingmarkets like India, … more