Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,213 Members 40,051 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

how to connect my phone to laptop via wifi to surf internet?

Tip us?
 
neesad
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2008
Default how to connect my phone to laptop via wifi to surf internet?

hi greetings to all. I am new in this foum. I have bought a new smartphone and it brought me to this forum for support.
I have htc s710 with wm 6. Is is possible to access internet on the phone by connecting it to the laptop through wi-fi in adhoc mode? I tried connecting it, and connection was established, I was as well able to ping the phone from my laptop but i was unable to use internet. I want to use laptop as a wireless router.

in the laptop i have ethernet connection which brings internet to my home, and i have enabled ics in that. the wi-fi card has been assignd ip address 192.168.0.1, and mobile has ip assigned 192.168.0.2.

is it possible in this way?
 
fwmone
Old
#2  
fwmone's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stuttgart
If your notebook has a bluetooth module built in, establish a BT ActiveSync connection and your S710 will then use the computer's internet access automatically.
Samsung Galaxy Note II N7100
CyanogenMod 10.2 (official) 12/09/2013

Huawei Mediapad 7
CyanogenMod 10.1 (after_silence) 31.08.2013 with OC kernel (after_silence) 31.08.2013 @ 1.35 GHz, UV -75mV
 
neesad
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2008
i dont hava BT in my laptop. I just have a external orinoco gold wi-fi card.
is it possible through that.
 
fwmone
Old
#4  
fwmone's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stuttgart
I've never tested it cause I use a WAP router. ICS worked crappy when I tried it.

Did you try using DHCP instead of setting a fixed IP on your S710? ICS offers DHCP services and IIRC depends on it. Also remember that you normally can't set a DNS server on WinMo. Does ICS offer its services on all network cards or don't you have to activate the card you want ICS to serve on in its settings?
Samsung Galaxy Note II N7100
CyanogenMod 10.2 (official) 12/09/2013

Huawei Mediapad 7
CyanogenMod 10.1 (after_silence) 31.08.2013 with OC kernel (after_silence) 31.08.2013 @ 1.35 GHz, UV -75mV
 
neesad
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thanks for the response. I have not tried DHCP, let me see today if it works that way.
 
piper_indebt
Old
#6  
piper_indebt's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 53
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Singapore City
Hi, I searched this concern before cause I wanted to use wifi too in the office. I'm not sure where the thread that I read had been sucessfull but it did gave me the idea to set mine and get it working.

Basically I have LAN connection in the office, connected to my Dell Latitdue d600 and created ad hoc connection to my HTC Touch.

I opened network connections, and right click my lan connection, advance tab, and enable internet sharing using wireless connection, thats the only thing i did, after establishing the adhoc connection, IP address in Pc is the same, 192.168.0.1 and subnet mask is 255.255.255.0 hope you get it working. I dont have a smartphone to test it myself
 
neesad
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2008
Hi piper. my problem is fixed now. i connected the phone to the laptop at adhoc mode, applied static ip. then ran network setup wizard. after the setup was complete i changed the ip setings of the phone. i set the phone to acquire ip form dhcp server.
 
piper_indebt
Old
#8  
piper_indebt's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 53
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Singapore City
Quote:
Originally Posted by neesad View Post
Hi piper. my problem is fixed now. i connected the phone to the laptop at adhoc mode, applied static ip. then ran network setup wizard. after the setup was complete i changed the ip setings of the phone. i set the phone to acquire ip form dhcp server.
Oh nice to hear, I'll keep that in mind when my friend ask me how to do it with his Smartphone
 
ueghio
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by neesad View Post
i set the phone to acquire ip form dhcp server.
Can you explain how?Does it works on vista?Tanks for replying
 
neesad
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ueghio View Post
Can you explain how?Does it works on vista?Tanks for replying
Well I have tried that on my windows xp machine. However, when you enable ICS then I think it will provide ip to connected devices via DHCP. I just enabled phone to acquire ip via DCHP by going to the phones, Connection manager -- > Settings --> WLAN Settings --> Connection status ---> Menu --> IP Address --> And select Use server - assigned IP address.

Step, first enable ICS in your laptop -- > apply ip address to your phone like 192.168.0.2 255.255.255.0 and then connect your phone to your laptop in adhoc mode. Once the connection is established go to phone and change the ip address settings as given above ie. select server assigned ip address. i USED THIS MODE AS THERE WAS NO OPTION TO APPLY DNS IN THE PHONE.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more