FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

 View Poll Results: Keep Current GSM dialer or revert to Old CDMA

Yes, keep the GSM dialer
 
104 Vote(s)
58.43%
No, revert to old CDMA
 
74 Vote(s)
41.57%

*Updated: October 12th* NFSFAN's Custom WM6.5 ROMs

1,024 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By NFSFAN, Senior Member on 3rd October 2008, 02:28 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
9th February 2009, 04:27 AM |#1021  
derekwilkinson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 319
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by myshinynewtouch

has anyone had any problem while answering on bluetooth - i have had two problems, i have my phone to answer using my bluetooth headset
1. when i answer a incoming call, by default my bluetooth headset does not pick, even though it shows as connected, i have to turn on the use bluetooth option even i have the option to pick up after 2 rings..
2. secondly no matter how manys rings i set to pick up after, it still does not connect me to my bluetooth headset...

never had this problem with 1.08.. been using 1.09 beta 2...

can anyone confirm its working in beta 3 and i can upgrade to that... i am using a sprint ROM...
and any sprint ROM users, how is beta 3 in general ? any problems ?

Try reconfiguring the headset with the phone. (Delete and repair)
 
 
9th February 2009, 04:34 AM |#1022  
NFSFAN's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Yea, the new 6.5 build even though it isn't usable in its current situation, it has some new additions. New windows live, new outlook live, skyline marketplace a new UI, improved shell. I haven't spent too much time playing with it.
9th February 2009, 05:53 AM |#1023  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So I have a friend that has a verizon vx6900 and he wants to have GPS. I've updated it to my sprint 3.42.30 radio (didn't let the customs run). I think it actually runs a little better than the leaked verizon rom with the GPS hack reconfigured on it. Although that didn't make the GPS work. I now have put NFSFAN's 1.12 b3 rom on it and he loves it but am still trying to figure out how to get his GPS to work. I found this link http://wiki.xda-developers.com/index...VerizonAGPSFix to get it working but I can't seem to download any of the programs and none of the pictures will appear on the page. I've also heard of a cab file you can install but not sure if its the best to do. Any help would be appreciated.
9th February 2009, 06:28 AM |#1024  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Does anyone else use PCAnywhere?

it used to work just fine on bell's latest stock rom, but after flashing beta3 (first time), it wont connect.....even though it's using same settings as before... just says 'unable to connect'

Is this maybe related to the Latitude connection problem?


EDIT: Nevermind, I found the problem between the keyboard and chair.
Last edited by Ta-mater; 9th February 2009 at 12:34 PM.
9th February 2009, 03:12 PM |#1025  
jerdog's Avatar
Developer & Moderator Committees / OEM Relations - Harbinger of Doom
Flag Gallifrey
Thanks Meter: 4,926
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Csquared

Just downloaded Sprint 1.09b3. Working well so far.

1. GPS locks in Google in about 4 sec. Much better.
2. No longer overlapping appointments in Touchflo.
3. Programs seem to load quicker.

Where in this topic is the Sprint 1.09b3? I went to page 1, but it only shows 1.08. Searching the thread didn't turn anything up that I could find.

Thanks in advance.
9th February 2009, 03:30 PM |#1026  
Csquared's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerdog

Where in this topic is the Sprint 1.09b3? I went to page 1, but it only shows 1.08. Searching the thread didn't turn anything up that I could find.

Thanks in advance.

Goto Page 13
9th February 2009, 03:34 PM |#1027  
Detroit_Doug's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerdog

Where in this topic is the Sprint 1.09b3? I went to page 1, but it only shows 1.08. Searching the thread didn't turn anything up that I could find.

Thanks in advance.

Check page 13 in the topic (states it in the first post) thats where all the (b) or Beta versions are available at

Detroit Doug
9th February 2009, 04:09 PM |#1028  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Detroit_Doug

What kind of building are you in?
What kinda of signal strength does your phone have there? and is it a "bouncing" signal" (bars jump from 0 to 5 and back to 0 or you bounce from 1X to EV and back

I have a similar issue at home, upstairs next to window is hit-n-miss but downstairs not even near a window is rock solid - phone works like a champ upstairs just aGPS fluctuates

Try it outside directly and see if the aGPS works better there in an open park/parking lot or something first and try and narrow down what and where the issue is occuring at...

Detroit Doug

Hi Detroit Doug, I'm in a office building, mainly concrete I guess. I never lose signal at my desk, a constant 2 to 3 bars on EVDO. As soon as I go outside, I get a sat lock in about 20 seconds, so no complaint there.

My question is aGPS should be using data transfers and triangulation to help determine location, right? If I disable GPS on my device, will aGPS kick in? I doubt it'll work, but I'm willing to play around with it. Is there a way to know "which GPS" is trying to function and determine location?

Tell me if I'm getting this complety wrong!
Thanks.
9th February 2009, 04:17 PM |#1029  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Ever since I upgraded to the iolite ROMs, I've had problems with programs closing themselves. I even modified the registry entry to disable autokill.

I have to run the following:
ActiveSync - Exchange (as items arrive)
Dashwire - Auto sync
GPSToday - Geotagging pictures
OZ IM - Always connected
SEVEN - gmail (as items arrive)

Quite often, I find one, or even two of these programs have closed themselves... happens 5-10 times each day. This never happened to me before. Is this solely because of the iolite M2D eating up an insane amount of RAM? It's sitting at 74% right now, when previously I'd swear it was at 50%-55%.

I don't understand why programs are closing... I've never seen it go above 80%. If I open up Opera, it's almost gauranteed to kill GPSToday, or Dashwire.

Do I have any options, aside from going back to a previous non-iolite ROM?
9th February 2009, 04:21 PM |#1030  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by olografix

Hi Detroit Doug, I'm in a office building, mainly concrete I guess. I never lose signal at my desk, a constant 2 to 3 bars on EVDO. As soon as I go outside, I get a sat lock in about 20 seconds, so no complaint there.

My question is aGPS should be using data transfers and triangulation to help determine location, right? If I disable GPS on my device, will aGPS kick in? I doubt it'll work, but I'm willing to play around with it. Is there a way to know "which GPS" is trying to function and determine location?

Tell me if I'm getting this complety wrong!
Thanks.

If your carrier is doing aGPS properly, then you can get GPS, assuming you have cellular signal. If your building is blocking your cell signal, theres pretty much a 0% chance that you will get TRUE GPS either.

That being said, HTC devices don't seem to REALLY do Sprint aGPS. On my M1, which has a similar hybrid aGPS chip, I could get locks in the bottom floors of hotels, in thick concrete buildings, and other crazy places, and it never took longer than 2 seconds to get a lock.

With the Vogue, it takes anywhere from 5 seconds to 20, assuming you are outside, or in a friendly building--near a window/etc..

I miss the true aGPS I sat my phone next to my co-worker's Instinct, in one of our server rooms, and both opened up Sprint Navigation. His locked in less than one second, and mine never locked--ever.
9th February 2009, 06:11 PM |#1031  
Detroit_Doug's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by olografix

Hi Detroit Doug, I'm in a office building, mainly concrete I guess. I never lose signal at my desk, a constant 2 to 3 bars on EVDO. As soon as I go outside, I get a sat lock in about 20 seconds, so no complaint there.

My question is aGPS should be using data transfers and triangulation to help determine location, right? If I disable GPS on my device, will aGPS kick in? I doubt it'll work, but I'm willing to play around with it. Is there a way to know "which GPS" is trying to function and determine location?

Tell me if I'm getting this complety wrong!
Thanks.

Firstly you do NOT have GPS on the phone, there is no "true" GPS chip-set/antennae within the phone itself (think Garmin, TomTom, etc) to my understanding aGPS (assisted Global Positioning System) utilizes a form of triangulation from your cell tower network and positioning by a form of pinging the towers for timing then doing the math it calculates your distance from each and gets an approximate location. (this is all guesswork on my end havent spent the time to actually confirm this info)
Ive noticed in locations around here (Im in Las Vegas) if I am having issues with obtaining locks I make sure auto roam is enabled on the phone, soft reset and try again, takes a while because of the nature of the beast it will attempt a home network connection first then drop to roaming so be patient (and make sure you have a proper plan as roaming will make for a huge bill at the end of the month

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScrapMaker

If your carrier is doing aGPS properly, then you can get GPS, assuming you have cellular signal. If your building is blocking your cell signal, theres pretty much a 0% chance that you will get TRUE GPS either.

That being said, HTC devices don't seem to REALLY do Sprint aGPS. On my M1, which has a similar hybrid aGPS chip, I could get locks in the bottom floors of hotels, in thick concrete buildings, and other crazy places, and it never took longer than 2 seconds to get a lock.

With the Vogue, it takes anywhere from 5 seconds to 20, assuming you are outside, or in a friendly building--near a window/etc..

I miss the true aGPS I sat my phone next to my co-worker's Instinct, in one of our server rooms, and both opened up Sprint Navigation. His locked in less than one second, and mine never locked--ever.

Ive never had to wait to long for a signal since the 1.07 ROMs of NFSFAN (or a select very few other Chefs ROMS either) and Sprint (my carrier) used to be the big dog locally here but as since dropped by the wayside and has been difficult to utilize aGPS of late but this series of ROMs have had no issues obtaining both fast AND accurate locks (accurate per the warning on software e.g. google maps, MSN Live, etc of the accuracy being within so many meters of actual location)

Personally, Footprints and even more so Google Maps w/Latitude are geek toys for me, not saying that they are not useful for someone whom would actually utilize it fully (road warrior sales types, vendors and the like) but for the average user working in an office or tech center (as I do as I am in the IT field) but they are not of use other than a shiny coolness factor simply as I know where all my PC's, Printers, Servers and the like already are and dont need a footprint to determine a photo/location map LOL and I wont even go into the security issues of google's latitude (look it up its an interesting read) and how it was released without really thinking about or having in place a secure and safe ability to only allow certain users to know where you are or your family are...

I agree with ScrapMaker though it is NOT true aGPS nor was it intended to be moreso a new way to utilize an aGPS like service with lower cost and lower power configurations.

Detroit Doug

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
customer touch rom, fast, good job room 1.28 bell, manilla2d, nfsfan, rom, sprint touch, vogue, vouge, windows mobile 6.5, wm 6.5, xv6900
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes