OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Deleted

**Android On The Dash** Is Partly Working, But We Still Need Drivers

OP BruteSource

13th October 2008, 11:47 AM   |  #1  
BruteSource's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Okay so me and a few helpful people from the #htc-linux and #linwizard channels on freenode have built a version of linwizards kernel for the wizard to run on the excalibur! At first we had no framebuffer so no screen at all but thanks to tmzt, the framebuffer is fixed. Also myself, tmzt, and ali1234 made a (semi) working keymap. All the buttons work just a few tweaks need to be made.
**UPDATE**Thanks to some brilliant work by starwarrior we now can load android and play with it, the phone functions do not currently work, more details on post 76. Have fun.

I have included all you need to run the linwizard kernel on your excalibur. It is as safe as a soft reset; nothing permanant is done to your phone. You will have to remove the battery to reboot and get back to your normal windows enviroment.

Currently there is no support for the following and are a work in progress:
X
Sd card access
GSM usage (calls, sms, gprs)

Anyone with this type of experience or anyone who wants to help at all please email me at gentoon at gmail dot com.

Thanks to everyone working on the linwizard project and everyone who has helped do far.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/gfme0e

To run all you have to do is extract run the haret executible and click run. You will see some text letting yo know its loading the kernel, then some garbae as the framebuffer adjusts... then a login screen just enter root and nothing for the password field. Then there you go a working linux enviroment!
Last edited by BruteSource; 27th October 2008 at 02:25 AM.
13th October 2008, 04:47 PM   |  #2  
gospeed.racer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
I know little to nothing about Linux but I am always up for something new. I have a "spare" Excalibur- and in another week I will have 2 spares so if you need anything specific tested let me know
13th October 2008, 05:31 PM   |  #3  
jdoggraz's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag Glendale, Arizona
Thanks Meter: 3
 
1,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Ummm so do you have the program available or no...
13th October 2008, 06:06 PM   |  #4  
gospeed.racer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Know a place for him to host it?
13th October 2008, 06:17 PM   |  #5  
stylez's Avatar
Retired Moderator & Assistant Forum Admin
Flag XDA Server Likes: The Art of War Hates: Cowards
Thanks Meter: 507
 
9,835 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gospeed.racer

Know a place for him to host it?

http://www.mediafire.com/
13th October 2008, 07:41 PM   |  #6  
jdoggraz's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag Glendale, Arizona
Thanks Meter: 3
 
1,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stylez

http://www.mediafire.com/

I was just going to say that... Mediafire is amazing...
13th October 2008, 09:24 PM   |  #7  
BruteSource's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
sorry about that forgot how long uploading over a gprs can take, im visiting family and have no pc, so i have been doing everything over my dash. I added a link to the first post.
13th October 2008, 09:38 PM   |  #8  
BruteSource's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Okay operamini doesnt want to let me edit my post so sorry about the double post, here is the link:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/gfme0e

also you wil probably have to do a soft reset right before you run haret to avoid it freezing. Have fun.
14th October 2008, 02:36 PM   |  #9  
goraps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Is it possible to see a screenshot of what it looks like on the excalibur.

Thanks
14th October 2008, 02:38 PM   |  #10  
jdoggraz's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag Glendale, Arizona
Thanks Meter: 3
 
1,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
IDK for some reason I am hesitant to try this...

Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, dash, excalibur, htc 620, linux, linwizard
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes