FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

ADB USB Driver

520 posts
Thanks Meter: 144
 
By dagentooboy, Senior Member on 22nd October 2008, 01:50 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
the USB driver for windows is available at:
http://dl.google.com/android/android_usb_windows.zip

It seems to work... I will update this thread with what I find.
Last edited by dagentooboy; 22nd October 2008 at 02:18 PM.
 
 
22nd October 2008, 05:29 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for posting the driver!

I've tried a few things with adb, and so far I can't get an install to work over usb. I tried the following command.

Quote:

C:\...\android-sdk-windows-1.0_r1\tools>adb install OperaMini.apk
579 KB/s (0 bytes in 278155.000s)
pkg: /data/local/tmp/OperaMini.apk
Failure [INSTALL_PARSE_FAILED_MANIFEST_MALFORMED]

http://www.android-freeware.org/tuto...evice-emulator Had some basic info about the emulator, not sure what would be different for the G1.

The "adb shell" option allows you to access a shell on the phone over USB, which is really great but it appears you don't have root privileges. Any ideas on how to obtain root priveleges? Also, is there a command to install from the android shell? When i cd to /sbin i get access denied. I'm trying to figure out some kind of way to invoke an install either from the device or over USB.
22nd October 2008, 05:30 PM |#3  
dagentooboy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kansas
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
I have the same problem... working on it now...
22nd October 2008, 06:37 PM |#4  
benmyers2941's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I don't know about the USB installs, but it seems to be something with the APK as well. I also have the OperaMini.apk and it does nothing. I downloaded the iTunes remote via the G1 and it installed just fine without getting a PC involved.
22nd October 2008, 09:48 PM |#5  
benmyers2941's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
It looks like you have to put the phone into a "Debug on USB" mode to use ADB. It's working for me now.

http://code.google.com/android/intro...devicehardware
22nd October 2008, 10:06 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So you were able to install the opera mini apk through adb with no trouble? I got the error listed above and did have debug mode on
22nd October 2008, 10:13 PM |#7  
Valicore's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, California
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Thank you dagentooboy!
22nd October 2008, 10:14 PM |#8  
Mikey's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,550
 
Donate to Me
More
Can someone explain this for this not so savvy person?
22nd October 2008, 10:57 PM |#9  
benmyers2941's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrimage

So you were able to install the opera mini apk through adb with no trouble? I got the error listed above and did have debug mode on

I think that is caused by an issue with the the AndroidManifest.xml file within the APK having to do with going from "beta" to "live" Android. The same reason most of the apps were pulled from the store. I don't believe it takes a major change to make it compatible, but it's fully compiled so, unless you have a decompiler, I think we may be out of luck on that particular one. I have installed other apk's successfully using the same method.
22nd October 2008, 11:02 PM |#10  
benmyers2941's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey1022

Can someone explain this for this not so savvy person?

ADB is the Android Debug Bridge that comes as a part of the SKD. I don't think it was really intended as an end user tool. It has to be called from a command line. I know people have built basic UI's for it for file manipulation when the SDK was the only thing out there. If a better solution isn't found shortly I think we'll see one be made, or else I'll make one myself. In the end it seem to make a big difference of what you're trying to install some things work and some don't, there are some differences between the beta SDK and the G1.
23rd October 2008, 02:36 AM |#11  
Valicore's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, California
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
For any developers out there, you can also access the ADB/DDMS feature through the Eclipse IDE, it provides a somewhat simpler graphic interface and is a really easy way to get screenshots. Has anyone tried just typing su through the ADB command prompt to see if it will switch you to # ?
Last edited by Valicore; 23rd October 2008 at 02:38 AM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes