FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 30)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Automatic Screenlocker

Thanks Meter: 4
 
By emwdava, Senior Member on 22nd October 2008, 04:01 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
1 thing that bugs me about the X1 is that when I make a call or receive a call I press the display with my ear and I'm entering menues and possibly even changing settings without knowing it.

Is there a way to automatically lock the screen when making a call or receiving a call? (like it's done with the power button)

Any help is appreciated
 
 
22nd October 2008, 05:53 PM |#2  
Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It should be possible to steal the registry settings from a TyTn 2 device or Touch Pro for that setting. Anyone here know the specific registry settings?

As an alternative search the Kaiser forums, someone over there will have the details.
22nd October 2008, 06:44 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
My x1 does this anyway

After being on a call for around seven seconds, the screen locks and only activates again by pressing power, hang up or answer call (Green/pickup)

No idea if this is intended...but its certainly a good idea.
22nd October 2008, 10:35 PM |#4  
emwdava's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Alingsås
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeeves5454

It should be possible to steal the registry settings from a TyTn 2 device or Touch Pro for that setting. Anyone here know the specific registry settings?

As an alternative search the Kaiser forums, someone over there will have the details.

I found this over at the Kaiser forum: S2U2
This app has the screenlock/screenpoweroff feature among others. Check it out. It's free too!

Thank you for the replies!
22nd October 2008, 11:39 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Cali
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by emwdava

I found this over at the Kaiser forum: S2U2
This app has the screenlock/screenpoweroff feature among others. Check it out. It's free too!

Thank you for the replies!

would this work on the x1 i know it only supports qvga and vga devices i'm not sure if AC's released a version compatible with wvga phones yet if so this app is a must have
23rd October 2008, 12:23 AM |#6  
emwdava's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Alingsås
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keland44

would this work on the x1 i know it only supports qvga and vga devices i'm not sure if AC's released a version compatible with wvga phones yet if so this app is a must have

I works on the X1, but sometimes the app fails to bring itself to the front. So it appears nothing happened when in fact the display is locked. This happens alot in landscape. To set things right again just go to portrait mode and tap the iLock icon twice (if it's already running it will shutdown itself, tap again and it starts).

EDIT!!
I found a fix for the landscape bug. Change display from direct draw to Raw Buffer.
Last edited by emwdava; 23rd October 2008 at 01:24 AM.
23rd October 2008, 12:35 AM |#7  
Kevin_seymer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naffets

My x1 does this anyway

After being on a call for around seven seconds, the screen locks and only activates again by pressing power, hang up or answer call (Green/pickup)

No idea if this is intended...but its certainly a good idea.



Mine does the same, it turns off and I must press the power button to activate again..
26th October 2008, 11:56 AM |#8  
Paitor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gothenburg
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
I think that S2U2 was fun for a while but nothing more than that. What i wan't is something that uses the standard lock activated by the "No"-key and turns it on automatic. Dosen't some other WM phone have these issues?
9th November 2008, 11:19 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by emwdava

EDIT!!
I found a fix for the landscape bug. Change display from direct draw to Raw Buffer.

Thanks, got the same Problem and this solved it!
9th November 2008, 12:36 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
on my trinity it was all well and good until you need to type in an account number or credit card details while using the phone to call a bank or make a payment!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes