FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Compass Mode ??

162 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By theonlynickleft, Senior Member on 22nd October 2008, 08:31 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Where is or how do you access what they were calling "compass mode" in the videos ?
 
 
22nd October 2008, 08:40 PM |#2  
Mikey's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,551
 
Donate to Me
More
Should be in maps.
Under settings or menu, it should be one of the options.
22nd October 2008, 08:46 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
open maps.

click menu>>Map Mode>>Street View. It will need to process for a sec or two. You'll see the streets start lighting up with a light blue border. I think this indicates they have a street view picture for that street at that location.

Click somewhere on the map to get a Street View. Click on the street view balloon. Street View will load.

When it is done loading, hit menu>>Compass mode.

You can now move your phone around and the accelerometer will adjust the phone's view as if you were actually there.
22nd October 2008, 09:00 PM |#4  
Master Loon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norwalk, CT
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Cool BEans!
22nd October 2008, 09:31 PM |#5  
Ryanmo5's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Goodyear
Thanks Meter: 354
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkzanyj

open maps.

click menu>>Map Mode>>Street View. It will need to process for a sec or two. You'll see the streets start lighting up with a light blue border. I think this indicates they have a street view picture for that street at that location.

Click somewhere on the map to get a Street View. Click on the street view balloon. Street View will load.

When it is done loading, hit menu>>Compass mode.

You can now move your phone around and the accelerometer will adjust the phone's view as if you were actually there.

Thank you for this much appreciated!
22nd October 2008, 09:36 PM |#6  
dagentooboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
Compass mode would be cool... how is it on 3G? I don't have 3G here and it works great at home (WiFi) but on EDGE it seems to slow to be usable.
22nd October 2008, 09:55 PM |#7  
benmyers2941's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagentooboy

Compass mode would be cool... how is it on 3G? I don't have 3G here and it works great at home (WiFi) but on EDGE it seems to slow to be usable.

It's as smooth as WiFi on 3G, at least it was when I tried it.
22nd October 2008, 09:58 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
I have it a spin on 3G and edge over lunch today. 3G is really fast, takes a second or two to load the iamges. Edge takes about 10 seconds to load the images, but once loaded the spin around just fine when you move your phone.
22nd October 2008, 11:48 PM |#9  
theonlynickleft's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Deltona, FL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Never mind .. I found it. It is not called compass mode .. it is street view . . Great .. nice.
23rd October 2008, 03:24 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theonlynickleft

Never mind .. I found it. It is not called compass mode .. it is street view . . Great .. nice.

There is a compass mode, you just have to be in street view first to have it work.

With just plain street view you have to use the touch screen or the trackball to move the view around.

But with compass mode....you just have to move the phone and the accelerometer knows which way you're facing, and adjusts the picture to match. Tilt the phone up, and you see the sky and tops of buildings, tilt it down, and you see the road.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes