Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

Step by Step How-To get Modify RC30

9th November 2008, 01:09 PM   |  #1  
usmc2k's Avatar
OP Senior Member
I.E.
Thanks Meter: 5
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Per "JesusFreke"
"I saw someone post this over on saurik's G1-hackers mailing list, and thought it would be useful to some of you.

It gives complete step-by-step instructions (all 23 of them ) for going from RC30 to JFv1.3.

http://www.webnetta.com/2009/01/02/t...rc30-to-jfv13/
__________________
"Whether You Think You Can or Can't, You're Right"
--Henry Ford

T-Mobile G1 - modified RC30 with root access !!!
Last edited by Mikey; 3rd January 2009 at 08:54 PM.
9th November 2008, 01:09 PM   |  #2  
usmc2k's Avatar
OP Senior Member
I.E.
Thanks Meter: 5
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Post ANOTHER Step by Step How-To get Modify RC30
Per user- "brandenk"
I think you need root to make the changes which is why you need to downgrade from RC30 to RC29 to take advantage of the root bug.

To downgrade using this NBH file: http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...=Root_For_RC30
To gain root access: http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...ooting_Android
To flash the recovery and install modified rc30: http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...e=Keeping_Root
Engineering bootloader for G1: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=455860

Follow those steps, for #2 you dont need to do the beatbox mod and for step #3 use JKv1.3 instead of 1.2, then I added a step, flashing the Engineering Bootloader. Once you do those steps you will be good to go, I did this for the first time ever last night following those directions and it worked for me, and thats with my changes to the process. It took me reading through the directions like 50 times before I tried it but I went slowly and carefully and it went flawlessly.
Last edited by Mikey; 3rd January 2009 at 08:53 PM.
9th November 2008, 01:09 PM   |  #3  
usmc2k's Avatar
OP Senior Member
I.E.
Thanks Meter: 5
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Post Step by Step How-To get Modify RC30
I would like to give thanks to JesusFreke who helped me to understand this process !!!! Please show him some love and make good gestures for his work….. Also to all the other people and sites who made this possible including Koush !!! I take no credit for this just posting it to help people like me, who dont know to much about this.


First…. You need to install a google android usb driver so you can use the adb program. (It lets you push and pull files to/from the phone, and you can open up a shell with it to).

Download the driver file (http://dl.google.com/android/android_usb_windows.zip) and
unzip it to the desktop.

On ur G1… Go menu > Settings > Applications > Development then enable the
USB debugging button.

Then connect your Android device via USB. When the Found New Hardware Wizard
appears, you'll be asked if you'd like Windows Update to search for software,
select No, not this time and click Next. Select Install from a list or specified location
and click Next. Select Search for the best driver in these locations. Browse and
select the unzipped file (android usb windows.zip). Click Finish.



Second…. Setting up the SDK

Go to http://code.google.com/android/download_list.html and download the
SDK

Unzip the file to the desktop and rename the folder to sdk

Open your command prompt (Windows Key and R)

Type “cmd” (Without the quotations)

Then "cd desktop"

Then “cd sdk”

Next “cd tools”

Now type “adb devices

After that it should say some thing like… List of devices attached HT845GZ21370
Device. If u see this abd sees your device.


Third…. Writing JesusFreke’s Recovery image

Download the zip file from this thread... http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=443041)

Unzip the files to the SDK tools folder

Now, in the command window, type
"adb push recovery_testkeys.img /data/local/recovery.img"
(This will copy the recovery image files to the phone)


Fourth…. Get Root working on ur G1

Download the Android Telnet Client from the Market or get it here…
http://www.koushikdutta.com/2008/11/...et-client.html

Turn on your phone's WiFi. This gives your phone an IP you can reach it at.

Restart your phone

Once restarted type telnetd at the home screen and press enter – Yes….. it will
start up a Contact search, do not worry about this, just type “telnetd” and press
enter (the enter button on the keypad).

Now press connect to localhost……. (You now have root!)

Now put in this command….
“mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system”

Then “cd /system”

Then “cat /data/local/recovery.img > recovery.img”

Finally “flash_image recovery recovery.img” (Your Recovery Image is now writen)

*To make sure your Recovery Image was written…. Reboot your phone in Recovery
mode and press Alt+L. At the top it should say "using test keys" If so its written. Go
ahead and Reboot your phone by pressing the Home and Back buttons.*

Fifth…Apply JesusFreke’s modified RC30/RC8/ADP1

Go here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=475381 and Download the ZIP

Now once the ZIP is downloaded rename it to “UPDATE”

Put it on the storage card

Last but not least Power off your G1 and Power it on by pressing the home key and power key

Press Alt+L (to turn on text)

Press Alt+S (to update)

And Bam you have yourself a modded RC30 G1 !!!!!!!!
Last edited by Mikey; 26th January 2009 at 11:16 PM.
9th November 2008, 01:23 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Thanks for the step by step instructions. Been looking for something like this!
9th November 2008, 02:16 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
would i get brick if i unlock it with a code for ATT?
9th November 2008, 03:48 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
step three link should be the following:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=443041

thanks for the walk through
9th November 2008, 04:50 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
also the link for the modded RC30 is:

http://rapidshare.com/files/16203563...tkeys-v1.1.zip
9th November 2008, 04:51 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 4
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
I did this last night and upgraded to RC30 but the problem is right before I started the original RC30 was downloaded and it was asking me to update my phone but I declined. So now after everything is done, is there a way I could tell if I have the modded RC30 or the original RC30?
9th November 2008, 05:09 PM   |  #9  
chasmanian's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
will this work even if your phone has already been updated to the stock rc30?
9th November 2008, 05:10 PM   |  #10  
humble's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
i dont think so. because they patched it
Last edited by humble; 9th November 2008 at 05:13 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes