FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

Tethering via WiFi - Troubleshooting

9 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By divinehawk, Junior Member on 10th November 2008, 03:18 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
12th January 2009, 01:12 AM |#101  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Too bad my G1 doesn't get 3G on AT&T Although EDGE for an emergency isn't horrible. Then again most things i need to do on the move I can just do right on the G1=)
 
 
12th January 2009, 01:57 AM |#102  
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
im new to tmobile.. with att there was a tethering plan and if they found out you were tethering without the plan they would A. attatch it to your plan or B. make you pay for the data you used..

is this not the case with tmobile.. i can do this without the worry of being charged?
12th January 2009, 02:32 AM |#103  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by honestabe

im new to tmobile.. with att there was a tethering plan and if they found out you were tethering without the plan they would A. attatch it to your plan or B. make you pay for the data you used..

is this not the case with tmobile.. i can do this without the worry of being charged?

Supposedly tethering is not supported for unlimited dataplans for smartphones. They do have separate internet plans (for 3g usb dongles). The feeling is that they will throttle but not bump you up to the full internet plan.

I hope not, anyway. Used crazy amounts of data over tether during CES.
12th January 2009, 02:42 AM |#104  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
From what I've read,

tmobile doesn't have a tethering plan for the g1, and as long as you stay under the bandwidth cap of 5gigs(???) you shouldn't have any issues.

If you go over the bandwidth cap tmobile will downgrade your data speeds to edge speeds until the next month.

Not sure how tmobile would be able to tell if you're tethering or using the phone. They could see what browser type you're using but you can change that and they'd have no way of knowing, IPtables is basically doing a NAT with the phone so your tethered device is hidden..
Last edited by parrothd; 12th January 2009 at 02:45 AM.
12th January 2009, 02:45 AM |#105  
momentarylapseofreason's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
I think you should clear up where to put the files. If you put them in a new folder called C:\tether, you cannot run adb from that directory unless you copy it over as you will get an error "ADB is not recognized as an internal or external command"
12th January 2009, 02:52 AM |#106  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
is there is possible to

1. get the numbers who currently use G1 tether form log or command
2. can i add [dhcp-host=MAC,IP] dymanic , after i run [tether start]

ps. i wanna to create app for everyone, let user can easy start tether and block some connection user
12th January 2009, 03:03 AM |#107  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Done...Thanks!
12th January 2009, 03:10 AM |#108  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Guess I'm stupid with the command but every time I use the push command it says
Directory doesent exsist. Any help ?
12th January 2009, 03:23 AM |#109  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooththg69

Guess I'm stupid with the command but every time I use the push command it says
Directory doesent exsist. Any help ?

On which file?
12th January 2009, 03:28 AM |#110  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Make sure you mkdir the bin directory before adb pushing or cping.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad-hoc, tether
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes