Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,052 Members 45,264 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Tethering via WiFi - Troubleshooting

Tip us?
 
efenili
Old
#101  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 89
Join Date: Nov 2008
Too bad my G1 doesn't get 3G on AT&T Although EDGE for an emergency isn't horrible. Then again most things i need to do on the move I can just do right on the G1=)
 
honestabe
Old
#102  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 104
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York
im new to tmobile.. with att there was a tethering plan and if they found out you were tethering without the plan they would A. attatch it to your plan or B. make you pay for the data you used..

is this not the case with tmobile.. i can do this without the worry of being charged?
 
jashsu
Old
#103  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,852
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by honestabe View Post
im new to tmobile.. with att there was a tethering plan and if they found out you were tethering without the plan they would A. attatch it to your plan or B. make you pay for the data you used..

is this not the case with tmobile.. i can do this without the worry of being charged?
Supposedly tethering is not supported for unlimited dataplans for smartphones. They do have separate internet plans (for 3g usb dongles). The feeling is that they will throttle but not bump you up to the full internet plan.

I hope not, anyway. Used crazy amounts of data over tether during CES.
 
parrothd
Old
(Last edited by parrothd; 12th January 2009 at 02:45 AM.)
#104  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 184
Join Date: Nov 2008
From what I've read,

tmobile doesn't have a tethering plan for the g1, and as long as you stay under the bandwidth cap of 5gigs(???) you shouldn't have any issues.

If you go over the bandwidth cap tmobile will downgrade your data speeds to edge speeds until the next month.

Not sure how tmobile would be able to tell if you're tethering or using the phone. They could see what browser type you're using but you can change that and they'd have no way of knowing, IPtables is basically doing a NAT with the phone so your tethered device is hidden..
 
momentarylapseofreason
Old
#105  
momentarylapseofreason's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 1,064
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago
I think you should clear up where to put the files. If you put them in a new folder called C:\tether, you cannot run adb from that directory unless you copy it over as you will get an error "ADB is not recognized as an internal or external command"
 
jasoncheng
Old
#106  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Nov 2008
is there is possible to

1. get the numbers who currently use G1 tether form log or command
2. can i add [dhcp-host=MAC,IP] dymanic , after i run [tether start]

ps. i wanna to create app for everyone, let user can easy start tether and block some connection user
 
parrothd
Old
#107  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 184
Join Date: Nov 2008
Done...Thanks!
 
smooththg69
Old
#108  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2007
Guess I'm stupid with the command but every time I use the push command it says
Directory doesent exsist. Any help ?
 
parrothd
Old
#109  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 184
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooththg69 View Post
Guess I'm stupid with the command but every time I use the push command it says
Directory doesent exsist. Any help ?
On which file?
 
jashsu
Old
#110  
jashsu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,852
Join Date: Nov 2008
Make sure you mkdir the bin directory before adb pushing or cping.

Tags
ad-hoc, tether
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more

New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more

Prevent Apps from Locking Screen Orientation with HaveOwnOrientation

Most applications on Android play nicely with both landscape and … more