Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How do I make a shortcut to the Youtube app (Fuze)

OP johndango

11th November 2008, 12:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
I found the program but I can figure out how to make it go somewhere more accessible. Any help would be great. Thanks.
11th November 2008, 01:36 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
i would like
to know this too
11th November 2008, 01:39 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Kirkland, WA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
I think they pulled this off the Fuze. They want you to use AT&T video stuff.
11th November 2008, 01:41 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevierg

I think they pulled this off the Fuze. They want you to use AT&T video stuff.

no the app is sitting is the windows folder...

and works fine
11th November 2008, 01:42 AM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Alabama
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevierg

I think they pulled this off the Fuze. They want you to use AT&T video stuff.

The youtube player is definitely on the FUZE its just not on the programs menu or the tf3d internet tab. Its hidden in the windows directory. You will have to go searching for it.
11th November 2008, 01:51 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Kirkland, WA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
In that case use file explorer on the device and copy the youtube.exe file.

Go to the windows\startmenu\programs folder and then paste a shortcut.

Just tried it out and it works fine.
11th November 2008, 02:00 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
the app shows for me but does not play when copied anyone else having this issue?
11th November 2008, 02:46 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Thumbs up
I added it to the Internet tab on my Fuze, just under the homepage button and above my favorites. (Where it is on all the European versions of the Touch Pro!)

The process isn't too difficult but you'll need a good file explorer like Total Commander and if you're not comfortable editing Read-Only TF3D files, then DON'T TRY THIS!!

You'll need to edit the InternetPortal-en-US.xml file located in the \Application Data\Manila\ folder, so it's probably a good idea to make a backup of the file before you start messing with it.

Find the <OperatorLinks> section in the file.

Between <OperatorLinks> and </OperatorLinks> add this text:

<Link
Text="YouTube"
Executable="\windows\youtube.exe"
ImagePath="\Windows\HTC\Assets\Images\InternetPort al\youtube.qtc"
/>

Save the file and make it Read-Only again and you should have a YouTube icon on your Internet tab.
11th November 2008, 02:49 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
2,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITNV

I added it to the Internet tab on my Fuze, just under the homepage button and above my favorites. (Where it is on all the European versions of the Touch Pro!)

The process isn't too difficult but you'll need a good file explorer like Total Commander and if you're not comfortable editing Read-Only TF3D files, then DON'T TRY THIS!!

You'll need to edit the InternetPortal-en-US.xml file located in the \Application Data\Manila\ folder, so it's probably a good idea to make a backup of the file before you start messing with it.

Find the <OperatorLinks> section in the file.

Between <OperatorLinks> and </OperatorLinks> add this text:

<Link
Text="YouTube"
Executable="\windows\youtube.exe"
ImagePath="\Windows\HTC\Assets\Images\InternetPort al\youtube.qtc"
/>

Save the file and make it Read-Only again and you should have a YouTube icon on your Internet tab.

il be giving this a shot
does it get rid of the stupid media net link or is there a way?
11th November 2008, 03:00 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbhocky19

il be giving this a shot
does it get rid of the stupid media net link or is there a way?

Yeah, you can change the default launch page in that file, too.

In the <Banner> section, edit the NavigateURL to whatever page you want it to open by default and change the Text to match.

e.g.

NavigateUrl="http://www.google.com/"
Text="Google"

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes