Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,011 Members 39,049 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

w0lf's Translator - Google Translate powered app

Tip us?
 
mobilecriss
Old
(Last edited by mobilecriss; 21st April 2009 at 06:30 AM.) Reason: v1.2
#1  
mobilecriss's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bucharest
Default w0lf's Translator - Google Translate powered app

Wolf's Translator uses the Google Translate engine to provide translations.
It's a small program I wrote, because I find it useful to be able to translate From/To so many languages at any time and it's much easier to use on the mobile phone than the web-based version of Google Translate.

In order to run the program, .Net Compact Framework 3.5 has to be installed on the device. (you can download it from here)
Of course, you also need an active Internet Connection.

Currently, the following languages are supported by Google Translate:
- Arabic
- Bulgarian
- Catalan
- Chinese
- Chinese Simplified
- Chinese Traditional
- Croatian
- Czezh
- Danish
- Dutch
- English
- Finnish
- French
- German
- Greek
- Hebrew
- Hindi
- Indonesian
- Italian
- Japanese
- Korean
- Latvian
- Lithuanian
- Norwegian
- Polish
- Portuguese
- Romanian
- Russian
- Serbian
- Slovak
- Slovenian
- Spanish
- Swedish
- Tagalog
- Ukrainian
- Vietnamese

Please note that the translations are not always very accurate, but if you have a text in a different language you don't know, it gives you a good idea about what it means in most of the cases.

A nice feature of Google Translate (also present in the application) is the Language Auto Detect feature: you have a text written in I don't know what language, I tell it to translate to English, for example, and it not only translates it, but also shows the language of the source text (try this by checking the Autodetect FROM Language check box).

A feature that right now is missing, but I'm planning to include in a future version is being allowed to save the favourite language pair, so when you open the program it will automatically select your favourite languages.

This program has been tested so far on HTC Touch Diamond, HTC Touch Pro (VGA) and HTC P3600(Trinity) (QVGA).

Screenshot:


Edited: 08.12.2008:

Version 1.1 available at http://w0lfwmcoder.googlepages.com/translator

What's new in version 1.1:


- Fixed the "Autodetect" label bug

- Fixed character encoding bug (some characters caused the program to throw an exception)

- Moved the "Cancel" menu item over the "Translate" menu item when processing a request

- "Set Default Languages" - saves the current language combination and restores it when application starts

- "Configure Language Set" - if you only want to use 3 or 4 languages yo may select a subset of the languages supported by the application to be shown in the interface

- Copy/Paste feature

- CAB file for easier installation



Edited: 21.04.2009:

Version 1.2 available at http://w0lfwmcoder.googlepages.com

What's new in version 1.2:

- Added the Turkish, Thai, Hungarian, Estonian, Albanian, Maltese, and Galician languages, because they are now supported by Google Translate. (see this link). Please note that to access these languages you may have to change your current language set (menu: Options -> Configure Language Set).
 
mobilecriss
Old
#2  
mobilecriss's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bucharest
I've uploaded the attachment.

Unzip, copy file to phone and run it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Translate.zip - [Click for QR Code] (28.6 KB, 7548 views)
 
wapvirus
Old
(Last edited by wapvirus; 11th November 2008 at 10:33 AM.) Reason: full report
#3  
wapvirus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 1,716
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Thanks for this app working fine on my prophet i have only tested through wifi and active sync Chinese brought up some strange boxes (font not installed i think ) checked polish and Russian, German they seem to work fine one again thanks
HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e
Viper S 5.0.0 Sense 5 JB Pro
S-Off Super CID
Revolutionary

HBOOT-1.27.1100
Radio-11.24a 3504.31_M

Kernel: SebastianFM kernel 1.0.3
MODS: Crossbreeder MultiSwap

My Beats Inspired Wallpapers for Sensation


 
larbke666
Old
#4  
larbke666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 368
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Antwerp
Dutch??? it's supported by google translator, but not on the list?
Device: HTC Desire
ROM: MIUI 1.7.8 GB 2.3.4 -XJ-D2EXT X-Part
Radio: 32.56.00.32U_5.17.05.23
 
mobilecriss
Old
#5  
mobilecriss's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bucharest
Quote:
Originally Posted by larbke666 View Post
Dutch??? it's supported by google translator, but not on the list?
I'm sorry; I forgot to write it in the list. Of course it's supported by Google Translator, and it's supported in this program as well.
 
bluemetalaxe
Old
#6  
bluemetalaxe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 1,606
Join Date: Jan 2008
hey man what a wonderfull simple and fast application. i' very impressed! A musthave on a PPC.

just two small bugs:
-the autodetect doesen't work, i always start with english-romanian
-there is a black line missing above the From box.

and some thoughts:
Can you make it a little more Eyecandy and maybe Fingerfriendly and the default application text translatable? you know, Sex sells !

Again: Fantastic and a very fast online Translation
WATCH this Sons of the North : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKN6__eYvAo
 
princegoro
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brno
Awesome work dude,itīs simple yet genius
 
bluemetalaxe
Old
#8  
bluemetalaxe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 1,606
Join Date: Jan 2008
oh i'm sorry, i missunderstood the autodetect feature, so that's no bug sorry.
WATCH this Sons of the North : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKN6__eYvAo
 
mconigs78
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: DFW, Texas
I like it. Real easy to use. Is there any way to make it so I can select it from my programs list?
 
mconigs78
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: DFW, Texas
Im sorry I figured it out already. My active sync wasnt working correctly. Thanks for the app.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more