ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] Japanese display and input addon (updated 2009.07.03)

OP flinx1

14th November 2008, 03:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
What this does is that it enables display and input of Japanese characters. It can for instance be used to read web pages, or together with a dictionary program such as EBPocket and commercial dictionaries.

USAGE NOTES: READ THIS FIRST

This .cab is designed for a CLEAN/HARD RESET device. If you have other Japanese enabling software like decuma, CE-star, letsjapan etc. installed, remove them. I have no idea how they might interact with each other without testing. This file is a single install that has everything you need and want to get JP display and input working. If it doesn't work and you had some other type of JP enabling software previously installed, try a hard reset.

After installation and soft reset you'll notice you now have several new keyboard SIPs available. HOWEVER JAPANESE INPUT WILL NOT WORK JUST BY CLICKING ON THEM. You have to activate it first.

Diamond/device with no keyboard: Bring up the regular software keyboard. Press ctrl, shift, shift, ctrl. In that order. You can now switch to any of the Japanese keyboards and JP input will work. T9 input will be disabled for that session. If this doesn't work either try using PQzII to switch keyboards (I don't know if this works) or change the registry setting mentioned below.

Raphael/device with H/W keyboard: The instructions are basically the same as for the Diamond, except that you can do the activation using the hardware keyboard, if you want. Press ctrl+shift at the same time to activate it. Do not press them in succession like on the software keyboard.

JP input will only be activated on a per program basis, so you can have EBPocket open and use Japanese, and then switch to a writing a text message and use T9 or a localized keyboard. Once JP input has been activated, you can use ctrl+shift again to switch back and forth between a regular (non-localized/non-T9) layout and Japanese. On the Diamond just switch from kana to eigo mode instead, using the soft keyboard. Restarting a program will cause the keyboard to revert back to t9/localized.

If you want to change this behavior and avoid having to activate every time you want to type in Japanese, change the following registry key:

From
Code:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\keyboard layout\Preload]
@="e0010409"
to
Code:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\keyboard layout\Preload]
@="e0010411"
Note that this will completely disable T9/localized input. You can also use this to change the default keyboard if you use a SIP other than 409. In that case you also have to change the value in Preload\1 to match.

NOTES FOR THE 6.5 EXPERIMENTAL VERSION

This is for VGA/WVGA only. If you need other resolutions, use the regular cab (it works on 6.5). Some files (most notably wince.nls) have been extracted from WM6.5, but this is by no means a complete port. The romaji SIP has been removed to reduce SIP clutter and memory footprint. Reloadnls has been removed as I found that it was no longer needed, at least on my Raphael.


COMPATIBILITY NOTES

People are reporting problems with the HD2, so until those are fixed I recommend you not use this

Some Japanese software requires that the regional settings in the Control Panel be set to Japanese, in order for them to work. If you have any problems with display of Japanese characters, try changing that first. While this add-on doesn't set that default, it does add the setting itself to the control panel applet. Note that changing this setting will also change the language for some multi-language applications, such as Google Maps Mobile.

NEW: If you're having trouble with compatibility, you can also try the ime6compat.cab file I've attached below (install after the main file). It contains registry settings with the previously mentioned settings as default instead, and should be tried before reporting any issues in the thread.

If you're having trouble with the names of the input modes not showing up, the cab failed to install properly. This can either be fixed by reinstalling (you may have to try multiple times), or you can use the ime6SIPnamefix.cab file to replace the names of the SIPs with romaji equivalents.

The main .cab file contains files for all known screen resolutions, so should work on pretty much anything out there, including the Touch HD. If you're scrapped for space, you can delete some files from the Windows folder.

For QVGA devices delete the following (4.8 MB):

mboxjpn.192.dll
mskana.192.dll
msimj.192.dll
mboxjpn.128.dll
mskana.128.dll
msimj.128.dll

For 320x320 resolution devices delete the following (3.5 MB) :

mboxjpn.96.dll
mskana.96.dll
msimj.96.dll
mboxjpn.192.dll
mskana.192.dll
msimj.192.dll

For VGA resolution and higher devices delete the following (1.77 MB) :

mboxjpn.96.dll
mskana.96.dll
msimj.96.dll
mboxjpn.128.dll
mskana.128.dll
msimj.128.dll

It has been tested as working on WM5 and newer, including 6.5. However, install at your own risk. I will not be held responsible if this does not work for some reason, or messes up your device.


Download link


Regular version
Experimental WM6.5 version

History:

2009.07.03

Added experimental WM6.5 version.

2009.05.01

Cleaned up some corrupt registry entries and updated some of the files to a newer version from the Softbank X05HT. Changes should be mostly cosmetic however, so no need to update if it's already working.

2009.01.02

Reverted to original wince.nls, removing Chinese support (it was patchy anyway - and needed a different font to work completely). Memory footprint should be a tad reduced, and may also affect (improve) stability.
Attached .cab file with registry settings for people with compatibility issues.

2008.12.05

Added support for 320x320 devices.
Added some limited support for displaying Chinese - will be switched out to a separate file later with full support.
Switched core from letsjapan to reloadnls.

2008.11.16

Removed default region setting to accommodate multi-lingual apps.

2008.11.15

Removed SystemLCID setting so that font bolding works the same way as prior to installation.

2008.11.14

Fixed "\" being shown as "".
Added Option3="D".
Initial release.

-
This software is beerware. If you like it and would like to buy me a beer (up to you of course), donate and I'll make a toast in your honor
Attached Files
File Type: cab ime6compat.cab - [Click for QR Code] (1.7 KB, 940 views)
File Type: cab ime6SIPnamefix.cab - [Click for QR Code] (2.5 KB, 593 views)
Last edited by flinx1; 1st March 2010 at 11:13 AM.
14th November 2008, 09:21 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Thanks Flinx1!! Great work!!
The only visible problem is the "Yen" instead replacing "\" issue ;o)
Reminder to fix it for those who do not know:

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\FontLink\SkipTable

The you should set the following keys:

Key: Courier New, Value: 00a5,007e,0391-03c9,2026,2116,221a,25a0-25ff
Key: Tahoma, Value: 00a5,007e,0391-03c9,2026,2116,221a,25a0-25ff

After a soft reset you should have your "\" back. The entry for changing the "\" for "" is 00a5. So maybe you want to add only this value to the key.

Great work!!!!
14th November 2008, 10:35 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
457 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
I posted this over in the Raphael forum, but I will note it again for posterity.

For Raphael users, you may want to use these reg settings:
Code:
[HKCU\Keyboard Layout\Preload]
default = "E0010411"
[HKCU\Keyboard Layout\Preload\1]
default = "E0010411"
[HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\IMEJP\3.1\MSIME]
Option3 = "D"
[HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Layouts\e0010411]
Keyboard Layout = "00000409"
First two re-enable hardware keyboard and buttons. Third option sets Romaji as default conversion. Last option keeps SIP conversion enabled (kensaku/tegaki/etc) -- otherwise JP IME is broken.

Diamond users may wish to try the last setting if they are having problems getting both English and JP SIPs working at the same time (untested since I don't have a Diamond, but worth a try).

And continuing the previous discussion about hotkey romaji/kana toggle, Raphael users may want to use PQzII. Typing "0xE6" into the IME option (see screenshot) will map the hardware "SYM" key to change romaji/kana conversion mode on-the-fly.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ime.jpg
Views:	946
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	129768

You can use PQzII_Check to confirm the 0xE6 keycode, or to find the keycode for another key.

Diamond users can also use PQzII, but without the IME hotkey option. Just enable the icon, and tap the icon to switch IME modes (notice the あ in the icon tray). "Matching" black iconset is attached below.
Click image for larger version

Name:	icon.jpg
Views:	691
Size:	39.5 KB
ID:	129769
Attached Files
File Type: zip PQzII_Diamond-icons.zip - [Click for QR Code] (699 Bytes, 243 views)
14th November 2008, 11:11 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Hey Flinx1,

After appliying the patch to get back the "\", the names of the Japanese SIP are not anymore shown or replaced by a unique "\".. Well, does not matter but it is strange )
14th November 2008, 01:19 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:

First two re-enable hardware keyboard and buttons.

You don't need to re-enable it, it works. What you suggest will also break T9/localized input as I mentioned in the top post. If you just want the JP IME as default, all you need to do is change preload, not preload\1.

I'll have a look at the other two you mentioned.

EDIT: Of the other two options you mentioned, one was already set (the 409 one) and the other does nothing that I can tell. Can you describe in more detail what exactly it's supposed to do?
Last edited by flinx1; 14th November 2008 at 03:32 PM.
14th November 2008, 01:21 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
NM. Ignore this.
Last edited by flinx1; 14th November 2008 at 02:31 PM.
14th November 2008, 01:51 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by genfersee

After a soft reset you should have your "\" back. The entry for changing the "\" for "¥" is 00a5. So maybe you want to add only this value to the key.

The code was 005c, not 00a5. Delete the courier new entry and change the Tahoma one to the one you mentioned. I'll be changing it in the .cab to match.

EDIT: Done. If you still have problems, try adding 005c back in front. Deleting it should normally change "¥" to "\" as you mention, but something sounds like it's broken on your end, maybe due to compatibility issues with some other conversion app. Only other thing I can suggest is to try a hard reset and start from scratch. It's possible to change the names of the Japanese SIPs to something that doesn't contain Japanese characters, but unless other people have the same problem, I'd rather not.
Last edited by flinx1; 14th November 2008 at 03:20 PM.
14th November 2008, 03:25 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
457 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinx1

That's not necessary and will break T9/localized input as I mentioned in the top post. If you just want the JP IME as default, all you need to do is change preload, not preload\1.

I'll have a look at the other two you mentioned.

EDIT: Of the other two options you mentioned, one was already set (the 409 one) and the other does nothing that I can tell. Can you describe in more detail what exactly it's supposed to do?

I am coming from a Raphael so the registry settings will likely be different for Diamond users.

On the Raphael, you need to set both Preload and Preload\1 to 411, otherwise the hardware qwerty keyboard will not work. Yes unfortunately it will break T9, but with the full qwerty that's not a big problem (at least if you only need 日英入力).

Setting Layouts\e0010411 to 409 addresses an older problem where WM would load IMEJP properly, but would not let you switch to any IMEJP SIPs. Specifically, everytime you try to select Kensaku/Tegaki/etc WM would always revert to the standard "Keyboard" SIP.

Option3 is purely preferential. Setting it to D tells IMEJP to use direct input [_A] by default when the phone is turned on. If you type mainly in Japanese, you may prefer to leave the original reg setting, which will tell IMEJP to use hiragana/romaji input [あ] by default.





Again, these settings are specific to the Raphael. Both Preload and Preload\1 are necessary. Whether Layouts\e0010411 matters anymore in WM6.1 isn't really known (on some devices it works, on others it doesn't, or doesn't matter). But I've gone through most (if not all) of the Japanese-input threads at most forums/sites, and the above settings have given me the most reliable SIP- and 変換-switching for the Raphael.
14th November 2008, 03:38 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhsieh

Diamond users can also use PQzII, but without the IME hotkey option. Just enable the icon, and tap the icon to switch IME modes (notice the あ in the icon tray).

Could you elaborate on the necessary settings. I can't get it to work the way it should. It just doesn't change the IME-mode by tapping on the icon (well, it changes from あ to A, but the input method remains the same). The automatic change of the SIP according to portrait or landscape mode is nice, though.

And many thanks to flinx1 for his work. This is excellent. I had to write a manual for myself how to recover my Japanese settings in case of a hard reset. I can throw that away now!
14th November 2008, 03:55 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
457 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian72

Could you elaborate on the necessary settings. I can't get it to work the way it should. It just doesn't change the IME-mode by tapping on the icon (well, it changes from あ to A, but the input method remains the same). The automatic change of the SIP according to portrait or landscape mode is nice, though.

And many thanks to flinx1 for his work. This is excellent. I had to write a manual for myself how to recover my Japanese settings in case of a hard reset. I can throw that away now!

PQzII is just a simple program to toggle IMEJP if it's present. I don't know what device you have or which specific SIP you're trying to use -- and I don't know if the registry settings flinx1's cab are causing any conflicts.

I put up a brief video showing what you should be expecting if you want to use PQzII:
http://jp.youtube.com/watch?v=c2RzpL-OCxM

From there we can start to figure out what's working and what isn't.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes