Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

How to disable GPRS warning?

15th November 2008, 07:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I have the Fuze version on at&t network. I've disabled 3G on AT&T's side so there is no way to connect through there.
Nevertheless, my phone ALWAYS tries to connect to the 3G network and i've disabled 3G connections using Nodata.cab, advancedconfig, diamondtweaks.

Still, the warning signs always come up:
"there is a problem connecting to the gprs service in your registered home network warning"

and this occurs, when I turn on the phone and many other times.

Is there a way to disable this warning? I know I cant connect, its because i disabled it!!!!
16th November 2008, 09:11 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
anyone? it comes up like 50x a day andi have to click OK to make it go away every single time
16th November 2008, 10:34 AM   |  #3  
-MyHTC-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington
Thanks Meter: 5
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Have you unchecked the auto update setting for the weather program? Doing this worked for me.
16th November 2008, 07:09 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
did that, but didnt fix the problem. anything else that can be auto updating or trying to contact the 3G network?
16th November 2008, 11:34 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Go to start -- settings -- connections -- connections --advanced -- select network.

Here I think you can change the defaults so that when ever a program tries to use internet it will either use wifi (if available) or nothing....

I have blocked the wireless internet access on all my lines and this is how I solved the problem of getting gprs disconnect warnings.

Hope this helps.
17th November 2008, 11:28 AM   |  #6  
kocureq's Avatar
Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 0
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Is it possible to just disable this warning?

I'm switching between my personal and business SIM cards quite often, and I have the data connection disabled on the business card, while on personal I have a data plan, so I want to be always-online.
19th November 2008, 10:20 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I disabled aGPS and now i dont get the warning as much. (remember, i disabled GPRS from att side).

when i start my phone, i get 1 warning (i used to get 3?)

maybe i'm on the right track...
20th November 2008, 12:08 PM   |  #8  
kocureq's Avatar
Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 0
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
But the point is not to disable features so they don't auto-connect to the Internet.

The point is for the OS to try to onnect automatically, but when it failes - it doesn't have to scream that to your face every 5 minutes.
24th February 2009, 10:04 PM   |  #9  
Member
Tulsa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
I'm bumping this thread cause I did the same thing and want to know how to disable the message as well.
12th March 2009, 08:05 PM   |  #10  
Member
Tulsa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
still no answer to this

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gprs 3g disable warning
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes