FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Anyone else having an issue using market?

15th February 2009, 07:36 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
JF 1.43 adp 1.1_h

I can't seem to instal apps, just gets stuck on "starting download". I have tried doing it from wifi and g3/edge.
 
 
15th February 2009, 08:01 PM |#2  
mannyb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekeefe41

JF 1.43 adp 1.1_h

I can't seem to instal apps, just gets stuck on "starting download". I have tried doing it from wifi and g3/edge.

I get that when I switch SIM cards, usually a reboot sorts it out.
15th February 2009, 08:04 PM |#3  
uberingram's Avatar
Senior Member
Chandler, AZ
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekeefe41

JF 1.43 adp 1.1_h

I can't seem to instal apps, just gets stuck on "starting download". I have tried doing it from wifi and g3/edge.

I've been getting that intermittently as well. Closing Market, hit a website on the browser, go back to the market and stop then start the download usually fixes it.
16th February 2009, 12:04 AM |#4  
Mikey's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1,542
 
Donate to Me
More
A reboot solves it as well.
16th February 2009, 01:18 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
reboot fixes it... like everyone says. Should probably figure out the root cause (no pun intended) of why its doing that. But a reboot fixes it as i had this issue for 2 days straight, than rebooted and everything worked fine.
16th February 2009, 12:01 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Reboot did not fix it for me, but Disconnect on IRC gave a good hint:

- Reboot into recovery console (home+power and then Alt+x)
- mount /data
- Delete all dex files in /data/dalvik-cache
- Reboot and the issue should be fixed

The last reboot takes quite a while because it needs to recreate some of the dex files.

Do NOT try this with the phone powered up in standard mode!! You will lose space because of a bug in the filesystem module. ONLY do this in the recovery console!
16th February 2009, 05:31 PM |#7  
oDeACoNo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicer42

Reboot did not fix it for me, but Disconnect on IRC gave a good hint:

- Reboot into recovery console (home+power and then Alt+x)
- mount /data
- Delete all dex files in /data/dalvik-cache
- Reboot and the issue should be fixed

The last reboot takes quite a while because it needs to recreate some of the dex files.

Do NOT try this with the phone powered up in standard mode!! You will lose space because of a bug in the filesystem module. ONLY do this in the recovery console!

I tried this from the recovery console and now after the initial reboot the market completely crashes when opening it.

I do have my /data/app, /data/app-private, and /data/data all moved over to my SDCard not sure if that could be causing the issue.
18th February 2009, 08:09 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hmm. Haven't tested this with anything moved, but it shouldn't crash. If you deleted just the dex files, then they should be recreated automatically.

Btw: I tested this on JFv1.43_Holiday after upgrading (without wiping) through all ADP versions starting with JF1.41. Certainly helped me and fixed it for good.

May I suggest you ask Disconnect on freenode #android? He told me about this.
18th February 2009, 08:23 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I went back to
JFv1.42

I am good to go now.
Thank you all for your input
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes