T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

Howto: Change keyboard layout

OP Zormal

16th November 2008, 02:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
This is how you change your hardware keyboard layout, if for example you've flashed your X1 with another language, and your keyboard layout is messed up. I flashed my Swedish X1 with a UK rom, and I'm now using the Swedish keyboard with this registry change.

Change the registry key
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\KEYBD\CurLan g
to whatever you want your layout to be. The default is CurLang=409 (hex).

English - 409 (tested - works)
Finnish - 40b (tested - works)
Swedish - 41d (tested - works)
German - 407 (tested - works)
Italian - 410 (tested - works)
French - 40c (tested - works)
full list of codes

Make sure to edit the value in hex!

Program to edit the registry in Windows via ActiveSync: CeRegEditor
Program to edit the registry with the phone: Total Commander


Note: This doesn't change the on-screen keyboard

Instructions for French layout later in the thread.
Last edited by Zormal; 25th March 2009 at 05:35 PM.
16th November 2008, 03:05 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Thanks for this
30th November 2008, 12:34 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zormal

This is how you change your hardware keyboard layout, if for example you've flashed your X1 with another language, and your keyboard layout is messed up. I flashed my Swedish X1 with a UK rom, and I'm now using the Swedish keyboard with this registry change.

Change the registry key
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\KEYBD\CurLan g
to whatever you want your layout to be. The default is CurLang=409 (hex).

English - 409 (tested - works)
Swedish - 41d (tested - works)
German - 407 (tested - works)
full list of codes

Make sure to edit the value in hex!

Program to edit the registry in Windows via ActiveSync: CeRegEditor
Program to edit the registry with the phone: Total Commander


Note: This doesn't change the on-screen keyboard

I got the same problem but any ideea why the Registry Editor says Write Error? Access is denied?
Thanks
30th November 2008, 01:11 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragos.stroescu

I got the same problem but any ideea why the Registry Editor says Write Error? Access is denied?
Thanks

Unlock the registry.
30th November 2008, 02:50 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Zoldo Alto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Will it Work with the .cab of TOUCH HD keyboard?... When we install that .cab we can`t write üöä è on the fisical keyboard



NOPE is the answer...
Last edited by BrigateGB; 30th November 2008 at 04:06 PM.
5th December 2008, 10:20 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
ok thx it worked...
Last edited by mobilelord; 5th December 2008 at 10:33 AM.
5th December 2008, 07:06 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Hannover
Thanks Meter: 14
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Is there a way to add new commands?
I'd like to have "FN+C"=copy, "FN+p"=paste, "FN+x"=cut, "FN+A"= mark all, "FN+Sym"=Bluetooth on/off, "FN+àü"=wifi on/off.

Any chance to get this?
5th December 2008, 07:25 PM   |  #8  
norti's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 151
 
605 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Thank you for this, I included it in my tweaks topic I found this setting two days ago in the Raphael topic too and am now very happy to use the german keyboard of my X1 with the UK rom
6th December 2008, 02:48 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Don't know why my computer posted my reply to another thread in this one...

Sorry guys.
Last edited by Turboguard; 6th December 2008 at 02:50 AM. Reason: Wrong thread-
6th December 2008, 01:56 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
And how can i change the keyboard layout for Bluetooth keyboards?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes