FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Howto: Change keyboard layout

38 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By Zormal, Member on 16th November 2008, 02:39 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
24th October 2009, 06:31 PM |#51  
Junior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Cheers!
New to the X1-thing and testing around with flashing ROMs, tweaking and other stuff...
The keyboard change to german layout (QWERTZ) works FANTASTIC, thank you very much!!!
 
 
24th October 2009, 07:00 PM |#52  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thank you all for your help, feedback and praise
I'm always happy to see that someone benefited from the information posted here.
28th October 2009, 06:52 PM |#53  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Detailed instructions?
Could someone give a little more detailed instruction on changing keyboard? Have downloaded Total Commander, but canīt seem to find how to change the registry key. I know my language code, but canīt really understand where I can find and change "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\KEYBD\CurLa n g" on the X1.

Thx!
29th October 2009, 05:10 PM |#54  
Junior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jojjem

Could someone give a little more detailed instruction on changing keyboard? Have downloaded Total Commander, but canīt seem to find how to change the registry key. I know my language code, but canīt really understand where I can find and change "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\KEYBD\CurLa n g" on the X1.

Thx!

Hi!

Start Total Commander. In the top of the folder list you should see a folder named "\\Plugins". Open this folder and then go on and open "registry" => HKLM => HARDWARE => DEVICEMAP => KEYBD => CurLang. Now you should see the current value of "CurLan". Click the "Hex" Radio Button and then change the value so it correspond to your keyboard, in my case "41D". Finally press OK and then soft reset your phone.


Regards

Marcus
29th October 2009, 05:23 PM |#55  
Junior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks! It works for me. I have a Swedish keyboard.

Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1i
ROM: x1_firestorm_v4.5.81LEO (WM 6.5)
14th November 2009, 10:01 AM |#56  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
works great for me too thank you =)
23rd November 2009, 05:31 AM |#57  
Leddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Korean keyboard support requires a little more work.

I've cabbed it up:

Download

Several things of note:
-You need to install DioPen first, it provides some files that you need for IME support (you don't actually NEED their software IME). They have a trial, you can install it then disable everything in SKTools. (http://www.diotek.co.kr)
-Normally the Korean code page (0412) mandates the reverse solidus ("\") is displayed as a won sign. I personally don't like this (ugly file paths) and it displays as a normal \ in this pack
-Remapped all latin characters in the Korean font back to a nicer looking latin font
-Also includes Chinese and Japanese characters
-Hangeul input only, WM cannot enter Hanja without a third party IME.
-The Hangeul/Latin toggle key is the au key
Last edited by Leddy; 30th November 2009 at 04:19 AM.
3rd December 2009, 10:46 AM |#58  
Senior Member
Baghdad
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
ok this is really absurd... there has to be a way to change keyboard layouts between two languages from the keyboard... anybody know how this can done?
12th December 2009, 08:55 AM |#59  
Leddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cylent

ok this is really absurd... there has to be a way to change keyboard layouts between two languages from the keyboard... anybody know how this can done?

You can if this is a feature of the IME.

I.e. most Asian languages which don't use latin characters have a toggle between English and that language (on WWE X1s it is the au button)

There's no way to toggle between two non-English languages, though.
15th December 2009, 09:53 PM |#60  
XpErIaX1-IdOu's Avatar
Member
Flag StOcKhOlM
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up Tack så mycket :p
Works like a charm
Thanks a mil
22nd December 2009, 10:22 PM |#61  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
TACK
/x1 newbie

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes