Post Reply

Apps on storage card

OP zeheres

17th November 2008, 02:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Hi,

since I'm running REALLY LOW at internal storage I tinker with the idea of putting some apps to storage card. Thus I'm wondering what if I reflashed my Herald someday. Will I have to reinstall those apps as well or will I be able start them right from SD? What about the app's shortcuts@ Windows folder?!

Cheers
17th November 2008, 02:18 PM   |  #2  
zerocool81's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Genova
Thanks Meter: 1
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Hello
If you decide to do a hard reset, then you must reinstall all the programs in SD ..
Whenever you change ROM or you make a hard reset, you'll need to reinstall all CAB
17th November 2008, 04:45 PM   |  #3  
joemanb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ogden,Ut
Thanks Meter: 0
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
It depends on whether the CAB installs files to different locations, and whether the CAB contains registry entries. Check your CAB file using MSCEINF to see if it copies files to the windows folder and if it has registry entries. Also check the [DefaultInstall] section of the .inf file for the entry 'SelfRegisterDll'. If your CAB file contains any of these things then you'll have to reinstall it after a hard reset.
A large percentage of CABs only contain a single file with no registry entrys and would not have to be reinstalled after a hard reset.
17th November 2008, 07:51 PM   |  #4  
BenThon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemanb

Check your CAB file using MSCEINF to see if it copies files to the windows folder and if it has registry entries.

Hi J03M4N,

With your help (Thanks) there is a new version for MSCEInf (version 2.6) :

Contributions of version 2.6

Backslash added in rebuilt Inf file, at item [SourceDisksNames], if specified folder has not one at the beginning.
Due to a bug in new version of mshtml.dll in Internet Explorer 8 Beta for drawing a background image in ListView, I have taken away the background image in the Open Cab Dialog Box.
There is now a new column in the tab "Folders", with real values written in the CAB without transformation of %CExx%.

Download links in my signature.
17th November 2008, 08:45 PM   |  #5  
nir36's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag Jerusalem
Thanks Meter: 291
 
3,845 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
not all apps have to be reinstalled. even apps which require registry keys might write them when you run the app from the SD card without installing it.

but remember that not all apps can be installed on the SD card..
17th November 2008, 09:02 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Which can't? Any specific ones?

Cheers
17th November 2008, 09:40 PM   |  #7  
nir36's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag Jerusalem
Thanks Meter: 291
 
3,845 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
i can't name you all the apps which can't
some can, some can't.
for instance, you can't install iGO8 on your storage card...
just install the app on your device and choose Storage Card... (which doesn't always appear as an option)... you can check after installing if it installed on your card or not.

max, uninstall.
19th November 2008, 03:16 AM   |  #8  
joel2009's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 2
 
1,234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
if you have installed to your storage card you can just put links to them in the windows\startmenu\ folder
8th August 2012, 02:02 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Winchester
Thanks Meter: 207
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Info 2 theres an app for that
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeheres

Hi,

since I'm running REALLY LOW at internal storage I tinker with the idea of putting some apps to storage card. Thus I'm wondering what if I reflashed my Herald someday. Will I have to reinstall those apps as well or will I be able start them right from SD? What about the app's shortcuts@ Windows folder?!

Cheers

either google force2SD.apk or search for it in blackmart alpha
8th August 2012, 03:59 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Post move to ext4
i have moved all to ext4

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank