FORUMS

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

[Resources] Flashing your First GSM Raphael Rom (For Noobs)

11,350 posts
Thanks Meter: 14,262
 
By mskip, Retired Senior Moderator on 20th November 2008, 01:59 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
4th December 2008, 04:17 PM |#101  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yea great job mskip I'm reading through the tutorial once before deciding to leap I love my phone the way it is right now and the fact that it's possible to make it better is just brilliant thanks for this tut. I have another question If I flash my phone will I still be able to connect to all the same bands and networks as before? my phone was unlocked before I bought it.
Last edited by Jrvelandia; 4th December 2008 at 04:28 PM.
 
 
5th December 2008, 05:13 AM |#102  
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
In step 4, flashing the rom, you said to run "Raphael_RUU.exe". Did you mean run the customRUU? If not, then where do I find the Raphael_RUU.exe?

Thanks.
5th December 2008, 05:48 AM |#103  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by techman28

In step 4, flashing the rom, you said to run "Raphael_RUU.exe". Did you mean run the customRUU? If not, then where do I find the Raphael_RUU.exe?

Thanks.

When you unzip/unrar the ROM, there'll be 2 files in the folder. Raphael_RUU.exe is one of them. that's the one you run to do the flash. It's nothing to do with customRUU.
5th December 2008, 09:49 AM |#104  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 14,262
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrvelandia

Yea great job mskip I'm reading through the tutorial once before deciding to leap I love my phone the way it is right now and the fact that it's possible to make it better is just brilliant thanks for this tut. I have another question If I flash my phone will I still be able to connect to all the same bands and networks as before? my phone was unlocked before I bought it.

Flashing the phone wont affect any connectivity you will still be able to connect to the same bands and networks after you HardSPL and flash a new Rom
5th December 2008, 09:51 AM |#105  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 14,262
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by techman28

In step 4, flashing the rom, you said to run "Raphael_RUU.exe". Did you mean run the customRUU? If not, then where do I find the Raphael_RUU.exe?

Thanks.

After you Unzip/UnRar the downloaded Rom just run the .exe that is included with the .nbh Rom file.
5th December 2008, 03:13 PM |#106  
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskip

After you Unzip/UnRar the downloaded Rom just run the .exe that is included with the .nbh Rom file.

Do all roms come with the .exe? And what do you use customRUU for then?
5th December 2008, 03:29 PM |#107  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thank You Mskip
Thanks to your excellent guide I just flashed my FUZE to Natfs 2.2 rom. What a difference, has H and all. My first flash!!! Just one thing to the other newbies out there. When you are getting ready to flash your rom via active sync make sure that you turn off your virus protection. Once I did that everything worked flawlessly. Remember to turn it back on though when you are done. Thanks you Mskip.
5th December 2008, 03:58 PM |#108  
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DZWAY007

Thanks to your excellent guide I just flashed my FUZE to Natfs 2.2 rom. What a difference, has H and all. My first flash!!! Just one thing to the other newbies out there. When you are getting ready to flash your rom via active sync make sure that you turn off your virus protection. Once I did that everything worked flawlessly. Remember to turn it back on though when you are done. Thanks you Mskip.

Since you just flashed your first ROM, can you tell me (or can anyone) where you get Rapheal_RUU.exe??? When I download NATF's Rom it only came with CustomRUU.exe. Is custonRUU what I run in the folder with the ROM? or where do I find Rapheal_RUU?

Thanks.
5th December 2008, 04:17 PM |#109  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 14,262
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by techman28

Do all roms come with the .exe? And what do you use customRUU for then?

As stated in my guide RUU stands for Rom Update Utility and is needed to flash the Rom (.nbh) to the phone. All Roms should come with with RUU but if they dont then you can use the one thats given in my guide to flash Roms or Radios.

Quote:

Since you just flashed your first ROM, can you tell me (or can anyone) where you get Rapheal_RUU.exe??? When I download NATF's Rom it only came with CustomRUU.exe. Is custonRUU what I run in the folder with the ROM? or where do I find Rapheal_RUU?

They are the same file its just been renamed
Last edited by mskip; 5th December 2008 at 04:19 PM.
5th December 2008, 04:22 PM |#110  
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskip

As stated in my guide RUU stands for Rom Update Utility and is needed to flash the Rom (.nbh) to the phone. All Roms should come with with RUU but if they dont then you can use the one thats given in my guide to flash Roms or Radios.


They are the same file its just been renamed

So customRUU is RaphealRUU??? They are one in the same, just a different name?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes